We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austin flashback” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Motel

Save Saved
You added Austin Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Austin Motel
1220 S. Congress St., Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 183 hotels in Austin
prettybird1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Austin flashback”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It's not the Ritz...nor do you want it to be. Themed rooms reminiscent of the 60's. Clean sheets, great towels...tiny showers, and a loveable cat in the lobby sets the tone.

Prices are EXTREMELY reasonable and the location is in the middle of all the SoCo action.

It just does not get any better than this for value, staff, and location.

Room Tip: There is a "no party" policy for anthing after 10:00 p.m. All rooms are quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    94
    39
    17
    13
See reviews for
25
94
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My friend booked this stay for a girls weekend before Christmas. Based on the pictures on the web I was skeptical. However, upon checking in I was enamored by the charm and kitsch of the place. The room was clean. The bathroom was functional but nothing more. The rooms had small refrigerators which were useful for storing wine and snacks. We stayed on the upper level overlooking the pool (I believe we had rooms 139 and 141). I absolutely loved the patio space right in front of our rooms (public), which was where we spent the majority of our time while at the motel. Everything we wanted to see and do in the South Congress area was within walking distance. Great value for the $$ as the San Jose Motel a block away was $100+ more per night.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 3 rooms that overlook the pool. They include a covered parking spot in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our room was clean and very comfortable. Not a fancy place, but a good place to rest and wash up. Stayed on upper floor in back - away from traffic was nice. The two front desk people we came into contact with were rude. Not a smile, not a please, not a thank you-just smart alec putdowns. Did not like the fact we had to leave a $100 deposit on our room since we were paying cash. They acted like they were afraid these two 55 year old grandmothers were going to party down and tear up their room. Hopefully their attitude will improve because I would like to stay here again (and try out the pool). Great location and price!

Room Tip: Away from Congress street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Staff was pretty ignorant. I did not have a car. Turns out public transportation is terrific in Austin.
Flipping M and L1 bus goes up and down Congress St VERY often, passed the window of the lobby of hotel. Yet, when I asked, there was little transportation advice offered.
I had a heavy suitcase. I was told to go up two separate skinny flights of stairs to get to my room. Oh, they said, I suppose you could walk to the corner and haul yourself up the slope.
Now - my room -
No clock, no radio, not nice. Everything is done up in black - black couch, chair, bedspread.
This was 50's motel land in comfort mixed with an attempt to achieve NYC chic.
The bathroom was out of the 50's.
Lobby staff acting like a high school clique with each other but off putting to anyone on the other side of their counter.
Did not care for the vibes.
One week night, round midnight, while I was sound asleep I was awakened by a phone call for the room next door to me.
I would have preferred the Hotel San Jose next door. Looks a whole lot mellower and classier.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The title says it all. Great staff,clean rooms and the best price in town. I guess trip wants more words,how about theis is is the place to stay if your on a budget and want the best location for live music and food. Stay here if you want that. Byeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level have some good views of Congress Street. my fav is 123.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

So freaking cute. Cute little pool, clean rooms (it's a MOTEL, people, this is not the Four Seasons) with A/C that really kicks, the nicest front desk folks, and most importantly, right on the BEST, HIPPEST shopping & dining area in Austin called South Congress. Did I mention it's mad affordable?

You can go online to pick your "theme" room. I stayed in the safari room and it was really fun. The room was exactly as pictured.

There are a few random cats that roam the property so don't be concerned if they are lounging around.

Room Tip: Loved the safari room, but any theme would be fun - browse them all on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We started staying here in 1997. Twice a year. We always sent full payment for our upcoming stay. After the owner Dot passed away this nice little friendly motel started its rapid decline. One example, After having sent full pmnt. for our 2 week stay 3 months earlier. Two nights before our check-out date we were moved to another room because a wedding party wanted that room we were in. Well this was the room we always stayed in because it was the ONE we wanted. We were not given a choice either. After Dot passed the Asst. Mgr. Michelle became Attila the Hun. She always appears irratated and the LAST time we stayed there I bought a real nice appropriate little heart with wings and gave it to the clerk so she could okay with Michele.Well she gave it back and said very rudely it wasnt going in any room. So from now on we stay at Homestead Suites right behind on 1st. St for half the price. A full kitchen and its a lot like home. MICHELE CHANGED OUR MINDS NOW INSTEAD OF PAYING 1200 weekly for just a room we pay 480.00 and get an entire kitchen. DO THE MATH.

Room Tip: .Do not choose a room in the back. You will think you are sleeping in motor room. You will awaken ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Austin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Motel

Address: 1220 S. Congress St., Austin, TX 78704
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Austin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.