We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Austin Motel
Save
You added Austin Motel to your Saves list
1220 S. Congress St., Austin, TX 78704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Everything was very good. Room not clean enough to eat off the floor but good enough. The floor in fact sloped but it's not a pool table and it's old.
Staff was super friendly and helpful.
Location is great with bars and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    116
    44
    17
    13
See reviews for
32
107
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We got what we expected out of this place - it is NOT the place for you if you want a fancy-schmancy corporate hotel...which is fine by us! My wife and I stayed 2 nights here and were very happy with the experience. It is close to great restaurants, bars, and shops, and the staff is friendly. It's definitely a good spot for younger folks and couples who want to be close to the nightlife - but I'd think twice about bringing small kids here since it is definitely more of a kitchy hipster joint. It was great for us though!

My only two complaints: 1) the WiFi was spotty and pretty slow - they should beef up their network a bit; and 2) the queen bed mattress in our room should be replaced...it definitely had a crevasse in the middle that my wife and I kept rolling into. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Austin Motel is a really cool hotel in a great location. Don't expect a luxury experience but if your looking for a fun old school trendy hotel in a great location it doesn't get any better. This hotel is in the heart of trendy SoCo with plenty of restaurants and cool shops within walking distance. We walked to the bridge to see the bats at dusk and walking into downtown isn't that far especially considering we stayed here two nights for LESS than what you would pay for one night downtown. Our seven year old daughter loved the deep water pool, we spent hours there relaxing. We have found our hotel of choice in Austin and are planing a trip back. I would recommend this place to anyone, just make sure you book early it fills up fast!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My daughters and I stayed here on August 23rd. What a great little place. The staff are friendly, our room was spotless, and the pool area and landscaping is so nice. Wonderful location too, with so many shops and restaurants within walking distance.

We'll diffinately stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room if it's available. Such a quaint little place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Island
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I did enjoy my stay here, the pool was great, bus stop across the road straight into town, and the room was fine. The only complaint I had was that when the air con kicked in it would wake me up! I was there for 4 nights and had to sleep with ear plugs. I had it on the lowest speed etc...
I couldn't hear other peoples air con nor did I hear any racket from the other rooms, but there were definitely people in there. So it's a great quiet place.
I would stay there again too!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Motel is in a great place
Average price for a spaces room
Good place to stay in Austin at a low prIce. Walking distance to several restaurants and food trucks.
Jo coffe house next door has excellent fresh pastries

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Meade, FL
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Austin Motel is a small motel with swimming pool, parking at the door, funky decor, and it's located right in the heart of the South Congress District. Only a short walk to the famous food wagons, restaurants, bars, and shops. Also within walking distance of the nightly bat-watching on the S Congress bridge. Want a juicy burger, order it at the "Snack Bar" adjacent to the motel lobby. Staff was friendly and welcoming. A gentleman working in the Snack Bar happily helped me with ticket printing and hotel guests are welcome to use the PC in the restaurant. Free coffee was offered in the lobby.

There are not a lot of amenities with the room. It's good for a sleeping place, but not much for staying in, eating in, or getting work done. No microwave, no coffemaker, no mini fridge, desk, table, blowdryer, or iron. Considering that, I felt the rate was a little high, but compared to the rates at Hyatt, Marriott, etc., it's REAL reasonable. I'm not complaining about the room at all, but you should know what to expect.

It's all about location here. You are in the prime location for eating, shopping, walking and gauking. It's funky and the staff was pretty great. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: You can see the rooms online. You can decide which room, but then you must call or email to make th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Motel

Address: 1220 S. Congress St., Austin, TX 78704
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Austin Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.