We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you would like to bike on an easy trail in a nice surroundings go to McKinney Falls Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McKinney Falls State Park

McKinney Falls State Park
5808 McKinney Falls Parkway, Austin, TX 78744
512-243-1643
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 396 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Mountain biking, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tranquil, 641-acre park offers a wide variety of outdoor recreation including fishing, mountain biking and hiking.
Austin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“If you would like to bike on an easy trail in a nice surroundings go to McKinney Falls Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Yes, I have pretty much given my verdict of the park in the title of this posting. The McKinney Falls State Park is located in South East Austin near by the city's airport. It is almost amazing that such a nice park exists in the less fancy part of the city -- but it does. The park provides for excellent picnic, hiking and mountain biking conditions. Plan to spend at least 3-4 hours overall to be able to absorb more from the park and get to see more aspects of the park itself.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    57
    35
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A quiet oasis close to the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

On vacation in Austin for a few days, we paid a visit to McKinney Falls park. It was a great day for a hike - partly cloudy and in the high 70s - and after stopping off at the Visitors Center and the Upper Falls, we headed off to the Lower Falls and hike the Homestead Trail. The guide at the entry to the park told us that this was a rugged trail, but it was a very easy hike for us. We live in the Portland, OR area, where a rugged hike is an elevation gain of over 1000 feet, so the flat, twisty route on this hike was not a problem. We did get to check out the wildlife - birds, butterflies, lizards, and lots of crickets! Given a little more time, we would have done a couple of the other hikes in the park. The great thing about this park is that it is only 12 miles from downtown Austin, and parts of it are adjacent to industrial areas, but it is quiet and peaceful - a real oasis of peace and quiet.

Make sure you bring food/snacks with you. The entry port sells very basic camping supplies and ice, but there are no places selling food or drinks within the park or near to it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Stunning! Pack a picnic and spend the day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's hard to believe that this stunning state park is just a couple exits away from the buzzing South Congress district. Once you pull into the park, you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere. Start at the Upper Falls, which has a beautiful picnic area with plenty of tables and even some grills. Visit the Nature Center to learn what sort of wildlife lives in the park (including rattlesnakes!) and take the 2.8-mile hike. There are plenty of bathroom facilities (with running water and flush toilets); the ranger station at the entrance sells ice, limited snacks and drinks, and coffee. Kiddos will want to splash in the water (when we were there, during drought conditions, the falls were more of a trickle, so you end up with something like tide pools, which was great fun for the kids), so bring towels and dry clothes or you'll end up sorry - and I speak from personal experience here!

The Upper Falls are surrounded by beautiful trees that were changing color when we visited in November. It reminded me of parks in my home state of New York. The Lower Falls, however, feels like being out in the desert southwest. There are stands of prickly pear cactus everywhere, and in drought conditions, you can hop across exposed rocks right across to the other side. It was VERY slippery so I'd recommend hiking shoes with good tread.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land,TX
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice quick get away....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I headed to Mckinney Falls on a Sunday. It is two hours away and I packed to spend the day there hiking. It was easy to find off of the freeway and once there the rangers are helpful in directing you to parking and the different walking/biking paths. I started on the lower falls path which is nice. You can even go swimming if you like. Scenic bridges, trees, and bird calls all around. As with most of Texas the drought was visible. The falls were not overflowing at all but still pretty. Only "bad" thing would be the trails not being very well marked.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We took the family and had a great time!
The water is tested frequently for microorganisms and is declared safe to swim in.
We saw many people jumping in to enjoy the falls.
The scenery was beautiful and the park is very well taken care of. The trails vary from easy to challengeing. We saw several people rock climbing.
There is an area with a paved trail if a member of your party is in a wheelchair or stroller.
The camp ground filled up quickly with troops of young kids; call ahead to avoid crowds of lil campers.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKinney Falls State Park also viewed

 

Been to McKinney Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKinney Falls State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.