We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take the tour - only 15 minutes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
Congress Ave, between 11th & 14th Sts, Austin, TX 78701 (Downtown)
512-463-0063
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #8 of 182 Attractions in Austin
Type: Government Buildings, Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If it's in Texas, it must be bigger and better. That is the motto that architects followed with the Capitol Building in Austin. At one time, it was the tallest capitol building in the nation. Others might be taller now, but this is still a beautiful building that shows off many of the natural resources which are so prevalent in Texas, such as limestone and the landscapes.
central pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“take the tour - only 15 minutes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

very interesting information from the 15 minute narrated tour. look inside the senate rooms - architecture explained...well worth your time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    463
    75
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saco, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The State Capitol was a fun visit. So much to learn and look at. I enjoyed learning of all the important people who have passed through this building. Fascinating!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extra time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was impressed with the State Capitol....never been inside before and was awe-struck! The grounds were immaculate.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globeseeker007
Top Contributor
864 reviews 864 reviews
474 attraction reviews
Reviews in 298 cities Reviews in 298 cities
961 helpful votes 961 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a very impressive place to visit. The building looks somewhat like the capitol in Washington DC. On the day that we visited, a mariachi band was playing on the first floor and one could hear the music reverberate throughout the building. The band was playing a lively tune. In fact, I thought to myself that if someone jumped from the top floor and landed in front of them, they would not skip a beat and would change to some somber funeral tune. Having said all of that, I would like to add that the place is beautiful inside. The more ornate the building, the better laws that can be enacted inside of it. And the grounds outside are very attractive. There are cannon and monuments throughout. One is to firemen and another is to Mexican-Americans. There are a couple dedicated to the Confederacy and those who fought and died for states rights. It was a gorgeous day when we visited and we enjoyed our visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Iconic Austin landmark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Must see for out of towners. Helpful to get a tour if you've never been. I'm a lobbyist, so I spend a lot of time there. It's one of the better places in Austin to take visitors. It's a beautiful, historic building and free to all. Be prepared to go through metal detectors, and feel free to ask for directions inside the building. People are friendly in general.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.