We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Crown Jewel of Austin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zilker Metropolitan Park

Zilker Metropolitan Park
2100 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78746 (South Austin)
512-472-4914
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 143 Attractions in Austin
Type: Gardens, Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming, Biking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to Barton Springs, the Zilker Eagle, a large playscape, and four hundred acres of sports fields and woodlands, Zilker Park is a popular weekend destination.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Crown Jewel of Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I have lived in Austin for 28 years and without a doubt Zilker Park is my favorite thing about this city. Some weeks you can find concerts such as Blues on the Green, ACL, Reggae Fest, etc (the list goes on). On weekends it's a great place to go for a hike or ride a bicycle. You can play sand beach volleyball or take your dog out to the open greens and throw a ball around.

Be forewarned, the weekends can get very busy, so it is helpful to get there early if you want to find parking. By about 1:00 P.M. you can expect issues with traffic and parking.

You cannot visit the ATX without going to Zilker Park and just hanging out. It is the Austin experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    94
    23
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Japanese Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Loved that it was easy to find and in the city. My senior dog was welcomed in the park. Japanese Gardens were very beautiful. Had a delightful afternoon in this part with my husband and dog.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Texas Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

It's not as much the "Park" as it is the lake and surrounding running trails that make this place so special. You can jog around the Lake in the middle of the City, crossing pretty bridges with many gorgeous viewpoints along the way.

Their are sculptures, statues and gazebos all around to take advantage of some down time.

Barton Springs is also part of the park system. What is not to love? After jogging around the lake, walk two blocks over to Downtown Austin - a clean, safe, vibrant City with many places for excellent food and drinks and shopping. I recommend 2nd Street for all 3.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Park to Visit in Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

If you have only one day to tour Austin, Zilker Metropolitan Park is a must. If the weather is nice, take time to get out on Town Lake. Yes, it may look like a river (that's what I thought), but it's a lake. Enjoy.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Part of what makes Austin comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

What a beautiful Texas park, right next to town. Wide open, grassy fields and lots of biking.running/walking trails that lead along the river. This was one of the highlights of my trip to Austin. I dig open space wherever I go and this park just blended in nicely with the city. I could imagine living in Austin and coming here in the evening to play catch in the field or watch a baseball game or go running. Pastoral, tree-lined, and very very clean!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zilker Metropolitan Park also viewed

 

Been to Zilker Metropolitan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zilker Metropolitan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.