We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy customer” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Austin South

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Austin South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Austin South
4220 S Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78745   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 182 hotels in Austin
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    16
    26
    28
See reviews for
24
19
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Rooms were average, clean. Beds comfortable. Location was easy to access. I would have given a 3-star rating were it not for the discourteous first impression from the motel manager. I had to phone Days Inn corporate office to receive the rate I was quoted when I made the phone reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

And because we stayed on a Friday the price was $103.00. The carpet is tattered & stained. The bed linens yellowed. The staff uncaring. The location difficult to find. Day's Inn really let us down this time. Shame on them for charging the prices they do.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were supposed to stay three nights but only stayed one. Fortunately, the La Quinta next door had a room available for the remainder of our stay, and the AARP rate at both hotels were just a few dollars apart. The Days Inn is in terrible shape. No place to hang clothes in our room, strange smell, black around the shower faucets, hair in the shower drain, dirty window, AC hardly kept the room cool. It is obvious the owner has put little into the upkeep, nor does he care about the guests. The La Quinta was terrific, and so glad we switched. No way would I recommend the Days Inn Austin South to anyone. I hope Days Inn corporate makes a visit--it gives the whole chain a bad name. I certainly won't stay at a Days Inn until I know the company raises its standards for franchises.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Horrible. No ice machine, no vending machines, air didn't work properly, room stifling hot all night. Keys didn't work in door, etc..... Very old and run down. Save your money and go somewhere else. There are too many "customer oriented" hotels in Austin to waste money on this one. "4220 South IH-35,78745 US " Days Inn in Austin, TX, off exit 231.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We went to Austin on a busy weekend and none of our favorite hotels were available, so we stayed here as a last resort. It was old and cheap, with stained furniture and carpet. The electric plug was coming out of the wall at the sink, as was the faucet in the shower. I have to stay in a lot of cheaper hotels with my work, because I go to a lot of small towns, and this wasn't the worse hotel I have stayed at, but it is the worse Days Inn I have stayed at. I paid $90 plus tax. Not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Austin South

Address: 4220 S Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78745
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 182 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Austin South Hotel Austin
Austin Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Austin South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.