We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Motel & Room...Service not so okay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Austin South

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Austin South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Austin South
4220 S Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78745   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 184 hotels in Austin
A TripAdvisor Member
“Okay Motel & Room...Service not so okay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Rooms were average, clean. Beds comfortable. Location was easy to access. I would have given a 3-star rating were it not for the discourteous first impression from the motel manager. I had to phone Days Inn corporate office to receive the rate I was quoted when I made the phone reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    15
    27
    28
See reviews for
24
20
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

And because we stayed on a Friday the price was $103.00. The carpet is tattered & stained. The bed linens yellowed. The staff uncaring. The location difficult to find. Day's Inn really let us down this time. Shame on them for charging the prices they do.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were supposed to stay three nights but only stayed one. Fortunately, the La Quinta next door had a room available for the remainder of our stay, and the AARP rate at both hotels were just a few dollars apart. The Days Inn is in terrible shape. No place to hang clothes in our room, strange smell, black around the shower faucets, hair in the shower drain, dirty window, AC hardly kept the room cool. It is obvious the owner has put little into the upkeep, nor does he care about the guests. The La Quinta was terrific, and so glad we switched. No way would I recommend the Days Inn Austin South to anyone. I hope Days Inn corporate makes a visit--it gives the whole chain a bad name. I certainly won't stay at a Days Inn until I know the company raises its standards for franchises.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Horrible. No ice machine, no vending machines, air didn't work properly, room stifling hot all night. Keys didn't work in door, etc..... Very old and run down. Save your money and go somewhere else. There are too many "customer oriented" hotels in Austin to waste money on this one. "4220 South IH-35,78745 US " Days Inn in Austin, TX, off exit 231.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We went to Austin on a busy weekend and none of our favorite hotels were available, so we stayed here as a last resort. It was old and cheap, with stained furniture and carpet. The electric plug was coming out of the wall at the sink, as was the faucet in the shower. I have to stay in a lot of cheaper hotels with my work, because I go to a lot of small towns, and this wasn't the worse hotel I have stayed at, but it is the worse Days Inn I have stayed at. I paid $90 plus tax. Not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Pro:
Cleaness of room is fine in my standard, especially the bathroom. Air conditioning works (see my standard for a motel? :p). There are a couple of restaurants nearby: IHOP, Furr's, Burger King, etc and it's convenient if you just want rest from highway and don't plan to visit downtown area.

Con:
It's near the highway so at night it might be a little bit noisy. My room's door is shabby. There are some suspicious guys walking around is the parking area at night. Wireless Internet is not stable. Coffee maker is quite dirty. Also they put lots of cheap air freshener which makes me doubt the actuall cleaness from what I can see.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Days Inn South Austin for 8 nights. The location was handy with IHOP next door to the north and Furrs to the south. We had no problems with the internet or TV reception, the bed was comfortable, the room and bathroom clean. We had a spacious room, with a table and chairs, love seat sofa bed, and a good sized TV.A decent continental breakfast in the mornings and housekeeping was offered daily. The maintenance and housekeeping crew were quite pleasant, as were the office staff. We travel all the time and cannot afford the plush rooms offered at other motels/hotels. Days Inn are usually within our budget. We definitely got our money's worth and would return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Austin South

Address: 4220 S Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78745
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 184 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Austin South Hotel Austin
Austin Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Austin South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.