We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9701 Stonelake Blvd., Austin, TX 78759 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #92 of 191 Hotels in Austin
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“austin trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

great place, going through a renovation, but candlewoods are typically good places to stay

Room Tip: this hotel isnt sandwiched between bars or restaurants, its generally a quiet place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Warren,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write about us and even more for bearing with us during our renovation. We hope it wasn't too uncomfortable and that our new suites and style are warmly welcomed by loyal guests like you. We look forward to your return to Austin!

Sincerely,
Candlewood Suites Mgmt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    5
    5
    9
See reviews for
7
4
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corinth, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My family and I stayed in the hotel the weekend of April 13-15 2012. The hotel 1st floor was under construction but we stayed on the 2nd floor which was great.You couldn't hear any construction going on. The location was awesome! Lots of things within walking distance - movies, grocery store, resturants, etc... which we loved! The room was nice - we liked having a kitchen, separate bedroom and 2 TV's.

The best part was that we left a bag of laundry full of our stuff, including my priceless running gear. I didn't notice it for a few weeks but once I did I called the hotel and the manager Jessica was awesome - she located the bag in their lost and found and shipped it to me!!! I am so happy and so thrilled. I will forever be a loyal fan to stay there whenever we are in Austin!!!

Thank you Candlewood!!!! :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Rebekah,
Thank you so much for your feedback and compliments! What an honor it is for our staff to hear that our guests loved their stay so much they plan to return! I am so proud of all of our employees and am especially happy we were able to get your belongings back to you. We look forward to seeing you at our hotel again!

Very best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset, wi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband & I just spent 5 weeks here, and would definitely go back. We had tried to find an apt or condo to rent, but couldn't find one in this area, and now we're glad we didn't! Having the exercise room & laundry down the hall was a real plus. They are now in the process of updating the whole place - it needs it- so will be nicer next year. The TV's were old, but new flat-screens are coming. It's quiet - and having a separate bedroom was a must for us ( different sleeping habits) We cooked in a fair amt - good pots & pans provided. There are grills & tables for cooking/eating outdoors also.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Niner,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so pleased we were able to meet your needs and be a comfortable home away from home in Austin. It sounds like our location was perfect for you. We're very excited about our renovation and can't wait for you to see our new suites - we know you will be delighted!
We're looking forward to seeing you soon and want to thank you for being our guest with so many other lodging choices out there.

Sincerely,
Candlewood Suites Mgmt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

My wife and I spent anywhere from 2-3 weeks at this hotel each winter from late Jan to Feb 2007 - 2011. We had a positive experience each time, apparently there was a change of management some time in 2010 but it did not impact our experience while there. We got to know the place well enough that this past year we asked for a room by number - backside away from the parking lot on 1st floor for ease of unloading/loading the car (we drove 3 of 4 years from MN to TX so brought a fair amount of stuff ... I worked part of the time while my wife did things around the area or visited friends when I was out). Also the laundry and small exercise room are all free, so the wife got in the habit of washing a load of clothes while doing a workout in the neighboring room most mornings while I was at work. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful - it used to be -not- staffed overnight but new owners appeared to have changed that this past year. They have a ton of DVDs to check out and the room we had Feb 2011 did have 2 40" flat screen TVs (but NOT hooked up to HDTV, a problem in many hotels still stuck on old satellite receivers). This is an excellent location right across from a multi-screen movie theatre , a Whole Foods market, and a lot of other shops and restaurants w/i walking distance. The NXNW brew pub and restaurant is only a block away too. However we frequently cooked in the room and the kitchen facilities are very good w/full size fridge and dishwasher (noisy but it worked). I am a platinum card member so we always got upgraded to the 1 BR suite for free, a nice touch if you stay at this chain more than a few days just to have a little more room and especially nice for two people if one wakes up at 5am and wants to start some coffee. The hotel is generally pretty quiet at night, they seem to cater to construction workers and some military (Nat'l Guard?) with a few snow birds and others in the mix.

Unfortunately work travel has changed so we won't be back this year but if we ever do travel back to the area we'll plan to try the place out again.

Room Tip: First floor if you have a lot of luggage or plan to use the free laundry down the hall. On that or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S, Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your candid and thorough review. Our staff works hard to provide around-the-clock care for our guests and values your feedback! We are so delighted to here you consider us home for a couple weeks each year and are excited to have you as a returning guest. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the meantime!

Very best and happy traveling,
Jessica Swarts
jessica.swarts@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

new management at this suites and it shows. really clean and comfortable - good tv and wifi reception. nothing too much trouble for staff and anything we ran out of was happily supplied (coffee/shampoo etc) maids only come in once per week but you can exchange linen or towels at reception if you need to. the free washers and dryers are a great idea. as we left the gym equipment was all being replaced. supershuttle to the airport was $34 for two. you can walk across the road to a wholefoods grocery market/cinema and other stores.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I was afraid after reading the terrible reviews, but a friend booked the hotel for a quick getaway so figure it couldn't be too bad for one night. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very clean and quiet, and check-in was quick and smooth. I don't know what everyone is complaining about. It was about $30 cab ride to downtown/6th st area, but we knew that ahead of time, and still cheaper than staying downtown. Nice amount of space, very clean, and no problems with anything. I recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, New Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

It's certainly not the Embassy Suites or a Crowne Plaza, but it's not a bad place. The rooms are nicely sized and appear to be recently updated. Hotel was clean and had some nice touches like free laundry, outdoor area with grills, and huge parking lot. Location is convenient with good places to eat within easy walking distance. Well suited for several nights stay and familiar feel to the place. I agree the lobby and reception areas are ghetto but after a quick check in you won't need to go there again. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest

Address: 9701 Stonelake Blvd., Austin, TX 78759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites is not your traditional hotel, and that is the best part! At the Candlewood Suites Austin Arboretum NW we put the amenities where they really count; in the rooms! That means a suite with a full kitchen and plenty of space to stretch out! Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave, full sized refrigerator and all your utensils and pans to cook with. Work efficiently at your executive desk with two separate phone lines, free hi speed internet, check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy a DVD borrowed from the hotel in your DVD player. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. In the Candlewood Cupboard you can purchase meals, snacks, and sundry items at value prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest Hotel Austin
Candlewood Austin
Austin Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.