We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshingly nice, at a great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 South I-35, Austin, TX 78704 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #36 of 187 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Carrollton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Refreshingly nice, at a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here for an IT convention, got a great group rate with some friends. Very clean, very pretty pool area, little weird walking up stairs to get to my room, but overall, extremely quiet, very helpful staff, sweet little bar/restaurant right onsite. Only complaint I had was the AC unit was a bit noisy on startup, but once it got going it was acceptable. Overall, had a great stay here, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. While it's true that our property has some quirks to it inherent to its age, the multi-million dollar renovation we went through last winter makes the visit worth the trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    112
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
98
81
24
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked this hotel for a family reunion in Austin, TX. The location, price and staff exceeded our expectations. Great value to be minutes from downtown Austin. Lounge/Bar on premises for all of us to meet late at night without having to worry about driving.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We are glad you had a chance to stay with us and 'drive the elevator home'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

If you are looking for a nice place to refresh that isn't too far from downtown and is not super pricey, this hotel will fit the bill. With easy access to the highway, discounts for gov't employees and AAA members, and super friendly staff, this Best Western was a great find!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great place to stop in Austin. good surroundings and close to down town. I met family and friends there. Their are good places to eat near by in good clean part of town. With the 35 right there it was easy to get around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is easy to get to and is at the perfect location for getting around downtown Austin. The free breakfast was wonderful and I loved the Texas shaped waffles! Frig and microwave in the room, great landscaping and free parking. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review! Was that you I spotted taking pics of our Giant Agaves by the restaurant? I look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I only spent about 10 hours here, but was really pleased with my stay. Cute, funky lobby, great staff, and comfortable, quiet room. Breakfast was the usual continental, but also had a nice selection of hot items (egg and sausage biscuit, breakfast burrito, scrambled eggs and bacon). It's in the bar adjacent to the hotel, which meant there was plenty of comfortable seating. It's across the lake from downtown, but is still very central to both downtown and South Congress. Had a good nights sleep and the towels were bright white and fluffy.

My only beefs are minor. Shower curtain was a tad too short and the bathroom floor got very wet. I arrived after dark, and after checking in, and had to go back outside from the lobby to reach the interior corridor to my room. Was looking forward to trying the lobby coffee machine, but it wasn't operational the one time I tried to use it.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay. The room was very comfortable and a good value for the money. Staff at check in, check out and breakfast were all very friendly. I would gladly stay here again and would also recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for the great review! I have alerted the team to the few hiccups you had during your stay and we will make sure everything is perfect next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilot Point, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great hotel for the price. I travel 100+ days a year for business. I look for price, amenities, and location. I prefer full service hotels, I would recommend this one. Location is good, price was great .. Restaurant is not the owned by the hotel, so room service could not deliver beer to the room. The staff as a whole were great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! Next time you are in town, ask for Kathleen Howell, our Director of Sales, she can put together a special corporate rate for you since you come to town so often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel

Address: 2200 South I-35, Austin, TX 78704 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Austin
#16 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#23 Family Hotel in Austin
#43 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Hotel Austin
Clarion Hotel Austin
Clarion Austin
Austin Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.