We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 South I-35, Austin, TX 78704 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #36 of 187 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Willis, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Needed a place for a night or two. Referral through AAA. It's just off I-35 so it's an easy in and out of Austin. Room was comfortable. The free breakfast was served in what is now a bar and grill. (Really not sure if this is a great idea for someplace that might have children along with the guests.) Standard breakfast fare, but the one meal I had there was strictly bar and grill quality which means if you're not drinking, you're not going to enjoy it that much. Couldn't believe that they didn't serve lunch, so I found it a bit annoying. All in all, if you needed a short stay, it's ok.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in a room facing outside. Rain made it uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit overall. I apologize that you did not enjoy your meal at the Blue Moon. I have passed your comments onto the Blue Moon owners and they have assured me that they are updating their menus with some mouth watering options in the near future. Unfortunately, due to space confines and the way the hotel was built, we do not have other options of where to place our daily hot breakfast buffet. Most parents do not mind that alcohol is served in the restaurant at night, but I take it to heart that you wish we had other space. While our restaurant is not busy enough to keep open for lunch, we are within walking distance of the Starbucks, Denny's, and Luby's. Perhaps if lunch trends change in the future, we will be able to stay open for lunch as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    112
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
99
81
24
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend. The hotel had a very modern, clean look, the lobby was colorful and looked well kept and appealing. Check-in was fast and problem-free, and the room (3rd floor pool view) was great with a red/white theme, and no problems with any facilities, everything was there and worked fine - air conditioner, flatscreen, fridge, microwave, wifi etc.
The hotel is very secure, we actually had to swipe the keycard three times each time we returned to out room - an outside door, then an inner door by the elevator, then the room itself.
Only tried the breakfast once, the usual bacon, eggs, toast, cereals, muffins etc. The breakfast is in the bar & grill area and has a pleasant atmosphere. The food was fine - wanted to try other local places on the other days though!
Location wise, if you don't have a car you will probably need to get a cab or bus to get downtown as it is a few miles outside of the main hot spots. Overall this was a good experience and I'd stay again and would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard/pool view room if you don't want to face the highway or a car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the detailed review! I am glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to 'wowing' you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The whole hotel appeared to have been recently remodeled. The lobby was very large and comfortable. There is a Bar and Grill on site and, true to the Austin music culture, they had a very good blues band playing on Saturday night. The food was not unique but it was good. There is no food room service but the food is available "to go" and it was a good after the football game meal. My only recommendation would be that they up-size their beds from double to queen size.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review! The Blue Moon Bar & Grill is actually operated separately from the hotel but I will pass your suggestion on to the management. I will also pass on your suggestion about bed types to our ownership. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I saw this spot on Groupon a couple months ago and really loved what I saw. I don't usually like to get things like hotel rooms on Groupon but this little gem caught my eyes instantly. So I decided to plan a surprise weekend getaway for my fiance and I during his birthday weekend. I did not tell him where we were staying so he did not see it until we arrived. The place looks exactly how it looks on photos and probably even better. We only stayed one night but we did not want to leave. This place is absolutely awesome! Very modern chic and not that expensive even without the Groupon. Everything was perfect..... The breakfast, the live music they played one night. Just beautiful. This will continue to be our place to stay when we take little trips to Austin. Thank you guys for a comfortable stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We look forward to welcoming you back to Austin each time you can sneak away for a fun weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We enjoyed our 3-day stay here very much. It was recently renovated and it is very convenient and close to I-35 and to downtown Austin without being right in the city. Don't miss the Nestle coffee machine in the lounge area. It was the best with many delicious options for everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for letting folks know how much you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. Shhh! I too sneak an espresso from the Lobby Coffee Service area on Mondays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Remodeled cute hotel, updated rooms and amenities, lounge/bar on property nice bonus, relaxing pool/hot tub and courtyard. Enjoyed our stay, but wouldn't pay extra for a pool view again. Very convenient to downtown without the hustle and bustle and overpriced parking, etc. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Everything about this freshly renovated hotel was a pleasant surprise and a cut above the usual chain hotel experience. I enjoyed the view of the lush courtyard/pool/spa area from the balcony of my quiet, comfortable guest room, and I appreciated the attention to design details evident throughout the property. Its contemporary elegance and soothing color scheme featured a few retro details that added to the delight of my stay. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel

Address: 2200 South I-35, Austin, TX 78704 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Austin
#16 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#23 Family Hotel in Austin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#39 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Hotel Austin
Clarion Hotel Austin
Clarion Austin
Austin Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.