We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 South I-35, Austin, TX 78704 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #36 of 183 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great, modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were really impressed with the modern, clean rooms and loved the room decor. They even had 'clean remotes' which I'd never really thought about. Basically, its a tv remote that's easy to disinfect. Nice bonus! Good free breakfast and easy on/off interstate. Was further from downtown than I initially thought, but wasn't really a major problem as long as you have your own transportation. Would have been inconvenient if on foot. Not really walking distance to anything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I am so glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    90
    12
    12
    8
See reviews for
73
68
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I came to Austin for a getaway with my boyfriend. This hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was professional and helpfully. I was very much impressed with the breakfast and room service. I would defintly stay here again on my next trip to Austin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We love to hear good things! I am so glad your stay was great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nice hotel for "south Austin. Older property renovated. Great Bar/restaurant with entertainment. Appears to be "local" hang out.. Good Breakfast served each morning. Pool closed a bit early and locked up tight by 930. Staff very polite and helpful during a few gliches.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Our renovation took over a year-but as you can see it was well worth it!
Our restaurant, the Blue Moon Bar & Grill, hosts some of the most popular bands in the region. Sometimes, it does bring in a few locals, but we get plenty of out of towners too! You can check out which live band is playing on the restaurant FB page at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Blue-Moon-Rock-N-Blues/123013554411190 .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakemont, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Room needed a lot of maintenance. There were problems with the bathroom sink leaking all over. The shower grab bar was coming off of the wall and the shower curtain rod was heavily sagging. Hotel staff was not very helpful. Was there for a convention and had to beg for support throughout the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We take any problems guests experience during their visit to our hotel very seriously. I spoke with this guest offline and thanked him for alerting us to the issues affecting his stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel was very clean. The staff was very professional. No problems at all. The room seemed to be newly remodeled. The swimming pool was very clean. The location to the downtown area was very close.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks so much! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here because we wanted to be near the SoCo District. It was within walking distance, but it was a pretty long walk and the directly surrounding area was just residential. On the other hand, it was way cheaper than the hipster motels that were actually in the SoCo neighborhood, so if you have a car to get around it's a good deal.
Our room was clean and relatively spacious and the staff were exceptionally welcoming and helpful. I really liked the breakfast spread in the morning. It was served in the restaurant next door, which had a slightly corny but kind of cute barn/rock vibe going on. The only disappointment was that the pool was really dirty and full of leaves. I'm not sure if this was because it was only May, but still, it was hot enough to swim during the day and the pool was one of the main draws for me, so that part was disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for letting us know about the pool issue. It is important to hear from guests about any good or bad they experience when they visit. We have spent some time with the maintenance department to make sure that the pool always looks tip top from now on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great hotel! Very close to downtown. We were only a few blocks down from Congress street which leads you straight to the Capital. We took a cab to Antones and it was only $10! We stayed on the third floor so we didn't have any problems with noise. Rooms are very clean and stylish. A very good location. The hotel staff was excellent. The breakfast was very good. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to the next one! Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed the visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Quiet, Pool, Fr...
Show More
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Cedar Park - Lakeline
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Omni Austin at South Park
#21 of 183 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin @ The University/Capitol
Pool, Mid-range...
Show More
Habitat Suites Hotel
Habitat Suites Hotel
#63 of 183 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Free Parking, P...
Show More
Wyndham Garden Austin
Wyndham Garden Austin
#76 of 183 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel

Address: 2200 South I-35, Austin, TX 78704 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#8 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#25 Family Hotel in Austin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#35 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Hotel Austin
Clarion Hotel Austin
Clarion Austin
Austin Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.