We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for tourists and travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 South I-35, Austin, TX 78704 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #36 of 183 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“ideal for tourists and travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The motel is very nice. It's clean with nice rooms and a pool as well as a bar and restaurant. We were very happy to stay here as it is about 2km out if town and was easy to access from the highway and park. The rooms are very nice, especially the ones that face the pool (although may be some noise in summer). Staff are friendly and there is a free breakfast although I hate the polystyrene plates and plastic cutlery; what a terrible environmental impact.
Next to the motel is a petrol station and Starbucks and Denny's.The location is good for access the city and sights also. It's an easy drive into town from here. If you take Oltorf St to Lamar Blvd then head into the city you will cross the river and soon arrive at the corner with West 6th St. Just after the corner turn right into the free car park and you will find a great, huge bookshop with good coffee, also a huge outdoor gear shop and across the road is Waterloo records.
we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 150 - 164 (250 -, 350- etc ( and 147,148, 247, 248, 347, 348) face the freeway.
See more room tips
Green Features: dreadful use of plastic plates and plastic cutlery, just imagine how much is used everyday by motel chains. Why can't proper plates and steel cutlery be used and re-used. It can all be washed hygienically in a dishwasher.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    90
    12
    11
    8
See reviews for
73
68
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived at approximately 2:55 pm and was told our reserved rooms were not available. There was a lobby full of hotel guests waiting to check in. I personally waited until 3:35 until both of our rooms were available. The staff were very apologetic and friendly. Other than that the hotel was great. The rooms were renovated nicely and it was very clean. The location was great and easy access to downtown. The bar and grill attached was also a great convience. The food was great! Other than the wait at check in, I would say it was a great stay.

Room Tip: They have both inside and outside rooms. The outside rooms are smoking rooms. We had one of each. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed on this location for a concert in downtown Austin. Staff was friendly and helpful at check-in. The room was perfectly clean. What better way of welcoming a guest than with a fresh, clean and colorful renovated room.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Austin for 1 night or a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were traveling with another large family, and reserved and paid for two king suites with pull out sofa beds. When we arrived at hotel, they only had 2 rooms with one bed. I have 3 children and the other family did too! Needless to say we are trying to get a refund as we did not sleep at all. They had no roll away beds either, and I did call the day before to confirm that there were queen size sofa beds in the king suites.

Room Tip: Be careful booking through expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
So sorry there were issues in booking your third party reservation; last minute bookings on-line when inventory is almost gone can be tricky if two people are booking that last room at the same time. Booking directly with the hotel is always preferable when special requests are involved, and the cost to the guest is the same. For future reference our two room king suites have a double-size sleeper sofa. I hope you come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went to the Austin Reggae festival, and stayed at this hotel. It was 2 miles from the location with no traffic to and from the site. Easy to park, hotel had a bar and grill. Clean rooms and updated decor. The setup to go to the rooms was a little strange, go down these stairs and then take a left And then go outside thru the doors to the elevator then exit the elevator to enter the building again. We went to some local restaurants thanks to my Yelp! Habernero was a awesome place to eat authentic Mexican cuisine.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 358 there was a little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I love visiting Austin, but finding affordable accommodations in a convenient location is challenging. When I ran across the newly re-branded Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel, I was excited to see what it would be like.

We lucked into a special "grand re-opening" rate that was a great deal, especially with the free parking, wi-fi and breakfast!

It's very easy to find and in a great location, just a short and easy drive to South Congress and downtown. When we arrived a little before 3 on a Saturday, we were disappointed our room was not yet available, but we had time to wait, and it only took about 20 minutes. I knew before we left that they were sold out the night we were there, so tried to be understanding.

Admittedly, it's a confusing building to find your way in, but signage is adequate. Our room was of a decent size, clean, and the beds were very comfortable. Traffic noise from I-35 might be an issue for light sleepers, but we were tired, and it didn't bother us a great deal, even though we were located on the northeast corner of the property, closest to the highway. Parking was not a problem--we just had to remember where! We did not eat the breakfast as we had already made plans for brunch so I won't comment on that.

Bathroom was nothing fancy but it was clean and the towels were thick and fluffy--something I value. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel

Address: 2200 South I-35, Austin, TX 78704 (Formerly Clarion Inn and Suites Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#25 Family Hotel in Austin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#35 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Hotel Austin
Clarion Hotel Austin
Clarion Austin
Austin Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.