We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expectations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9409 Stonelake Boulevard, Austin, TX 78759 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night's a Charm
Ranked #87 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

In my opinion, this Courtyard hotel is not at par with most other Courtyards I have visited. The property is clearly worn out, although the lobby seems to have been renewed fairly recently. Room interiors are basically slightly upgraded motel room standard rooms, with an in-room air conditioning unit. There was a strong smell of some kind of air freshener in the carpets in the corridors. Breakfast was not complimentary as in many other Courtyard properties. I decided to check out after the first night and move to another hotel in the neighbourhood.
A plus for courteous service goes for the front desk agent who checked me in.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalee U, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the overall appearance of your guest room. Thank you for the feedback of our staff, I will share your response with our team. We would love to see you again, and hope next time you are in Austin you will give us another opportunity!

Thanks,
Natalee-Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    53
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
47
30
12
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

First of all the staff here was very helpful and understanding, but this place has repair issues. Low water pressure, lack of hot water in a shower, running toilet...I will have to really think about wanting to go back here. The pool and porch area near the pool were nice to use, though.

Room Tip: pick a view that lets you see more than the walls and roof of other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalee U, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you DomoArrigato for taking the time to review our property. Our apologies that you did not have a great stay, we strive to provide every guest with a positive experience. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to show you this high level of service when you are in Austin next.
Thanks,
Natalee -Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We arrived quite late and appreciated the quick (less than 30 secs!) check-in. The room was on the non-highway side and it was still a bit noisy due to the nearby roads. We had a really cold night (30Fs, about 0C) and there was quite a "windchill" next to the window. So the A/C had to be on the whole night but that meant no issues for us.

The bed was heavenly! Huge and with a lot of different pillows, we hadn't slept this great in a long while.

The cafe area downstairs was ok, serves Starbucks stuff. There is a Target and H-E-B nearby if you are out of something. Plenty of good restaurants nearby.

Laundry was quite useful for a few bucks.

Internet was quick and worked well throughout our stay.

Overall we really enjoyed this property and will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalee U, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for leaving a great review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed our beds and they made for a great night’s sleep! I am also glad you found our location to be a fit for your needs here in Austin. We hope to welcome you back with us soon!
Thanks,
Natalee-Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

A great NW Austin location, near many great attractions and restaurants. The bed was comfortable, and all of the fixtures and furnishings were up to date and in good working order. They had a little cafe type area in the lobby which looked good, but I didn't go there. Indoor pool and hot tub were great. The front desk gent was very charming, and the service was great here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalee U, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review for us here on Trip Advisor. Our team is always anxious to hear what our guests have to say regarding their stay! We are glad your enjoyed your time in Austin and that the facilities here on property were all that you expected! We look forward to welcoming you back again with us soon!

Thanks,
Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I recently stayed at the Courtyard Arboretum for four nights. The hotel itself isn't fancy, but it's nicely updated. I thought the bed was quite comfortable for a hotel. Staff was extremely helpful and attentive. A good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalee U, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! I am glad you’re found your stay to be enjoyable; I will pass your positive review on to our entire staff, thanks for sharing! We can’t wait to welcome you back for your next stay here in Austin.
Thanks,
Natalee -Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have stayed at this property, as a matter of business convenience only, approximately five time...I've had enough. The property is very run down and is definitely showing its age. During my last stay my room was on an upper floor, I literally waited 4-5 minutes for the hot water to arrive in the shower!

I've never had a problem with the staff, they have always been very friendly, accommodating, and helpful. Also, in today's age of hotel enticements to earn your business, I have gotten use to my having a free continental breakfast...not at this location, you'll pay big bucks for a simple meal.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalee U, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback, I apologize you did not have an enjoyable stay, and we hope that you will give us another try during your next trip to Austin. This is not the experience we strive to provide for every guest whom stays with us, and would love the opportunity to show that to you!

Best Regards,
Natalee-Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a run of the mill Courtyard. Lobby is updated but the rooms are a bit dated. Ask for a room on the non-freeway side. I stayed in room 312 on the freeway side and the windows in the rooms are very thin and the noise from the freeway is very loud.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNWatx, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review for us here on Trip Advisor. Our team is always anxious to hear what our guests have to say regarding their stay. I also wanted to apologize for the noise that you experienced during your stay. I hope that when you find yourself in Austin we get another chance to give you a better experience then you had this past time.

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum

Address: 9409 Stonelake Boulevard, Austin, TX 78759
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 15 minutes from downtown Austin, the renovated Courtyard Austin Northwest hotel is located in the heart of the Arboretum area at the corner of Mopac and Highway 183. A short drive to The Domain, guests of our Austin Arboretum hotel can visit top retailers and high-tech companies such as IBM, Dell and Oracle. The new state-of-the-art lobby offers greater flexibility with media pod work spaces, free WiFi, media library and access to news and weather via our touch-screen GoBoard(R). The Bistro features Starbucks coffee and provides guests with healthy food & beverage options in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our hotel rooms with flat-screen TVs, Marriott bedding and free WiFi are enjoyed by business travelers and families alike. Stay active with our indoor pool and gym or relax on our outdoor patio. With rates typically lower than downtown options and our convenient location to top Austin sites, Courtyard Austin Northwest hotel is the ideal choice for your next trip to Austin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum Hotel Austin
Austin Courtyard
Austin Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.