We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, central location, top-notch staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9409 Stonelake Boulevard, Austin, TX 78759 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #84 of 183 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Clean rooms, central location, top-notch staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

When you go to a hotel, the only thing you care about is that the rooms are clean, it's located somewhere convenient, and if there is a problem, the staff will work to resolve the issue quickly. That's exactly how I describe this Courtyard.

We stayed here before over the past year and we had some issues with a HomeAway property so we stayed there longer than we originally intended. We also went cross country from NYC to Austin, and stayed only at Courtyard hotels.

So we got to see what was the same and what was different about each Courtyard across several states. Hands down, this one was the best out of the four hotels we stayed.

The staff were responsive and helpful. Whenever we brought something up, they resolved it. The rooms were clean and pleasant. The lobby area was also very nice but sometimes a little crowded. I don't think it's a secret this hotel is a good one. Lots of business travellers and they have a conference center, so there people sitting through presentations.

I highly recommend it for people who visit Austin. It's not that far away from downtown Austin and really close to Google, National Instruments, and other companies.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cynw1105, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at our Courtyard during your trip to Austin and for taking the time to leave us a comment on Trip Advisor! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon-
Crystal & Team CY NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    50
    23
    13
    4
See reviews for
46
26
12
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Had a great time, clean and easy. Breakfast was missing green salads but very welcoming. Too bad it was not included in the room price. Did not visit the pool or gym for lack of time :(
Will definitely return if going to the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cynw1105, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us a comment on TripAdvisor. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon-
Crystal & Team CY NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great location with amazing staff. I was in Austin for a one week business trip. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are big. Very good costxbenefit. I bought a lot of stuff from Amazon and asked to delivery to the hotel and the staff was very friendly and helped me a lot with this. Everything I asked to the staff I got, early free check-in, info about near places, etc. The hotel has no room service but you have a mini-maket at main desk and a starbucks cafeteria plus meals. The employee Kirstie was outstanding and I would definitely stay again at this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony if you like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cynw1105, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us during your visit to Austin and for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. Its great comments like yours about our staff that make our Courtyard a special place to visit and work,
Crystal, Kirstie, & Team CY NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I arrived late Monday evening and was greeted by the front desk employee who was very nice and friendly. I decided to grab a bite to eat at the bistro before they closed. Kirstie at the bistro provided great service. She took the time to go over some of the food items with me and made some suggestions. Went with the turkey reuben which was very good. Overall positive stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cynw1105, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to rate our hotel on Trip Advisor! I will surely share your great comments about our staff and we hope to see you back again soon,
Crystal, Kirstie, and Team Courtyard Austin NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

It truly has a lot to do with the staff, coupled with a new renovation and you have a Fantastic hotel. The hotel staff was amazing accommodating and quick service. Our room was great. We wanted a lower floor and opted for early arrival and took the 2 double beds w/ disability features. We had no problem with this as it gave us more space to be honest. Room decor was fresh and new. The air climate was perfect. It had all the accommodations we were looking for. We were especially thrilled to see the lobby's new concept in decor and service items (a Starbucks, a small grocery refrigerated section, and homemake food service with waiters, in a walk up service counter. My husband and I travel a lot throughout the US and abroad. We felt like this was a little boutique hotel in NYC. Loved it so much with its rich orange POP decor and sleek furnishings. Loved the banquette seating I believe there were 2 w/ their own TV to watch... giving a little privacy when you sit there. The rest of the lobby has a large screen TV, comfy chairs, computers, a bar seating for Ipods and phones. The Starbucks coffee station and attendents were great. We had only breakfast here with a small amt charge. DELICIOUS and lots of it. The pool was enough to relax not a big deal within the interior of the hotel. A small workout room but enough. Our purpose was to be able to get to the neighborhood hospital quickly and also to Congress street. All within hwy or neighborhood driving of 15 mins taking the longer inside roads route. 7 mins to the hospital. 10 mins to Congress via highway. I don't usually stay in the Arboretum area but around the corner from the hotel is a wonderful string of strip malls: including your Target and Walmart close by. 5 stars for a small version of the Marriott and that got this one RIGHT. If the staff continues to be accommodating, I'd say forget downtown high dollar hotels w/ parking fees and crowded streets. Go for a little more relaxing traffic area and go to check out this wonderful surprise we found online. LOVED IT truly did. I do not work for the hotel nor know anyone who does. I really think this is a diamond hotel. Check it out.

Room Tip: Don't forget that the disability rooms are really a mere No Bathtub on the one we chose. We didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cynw1105, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your gracious comments on Trip Advisor about our staff and hotel! It's guests like you that make the hospitality such a wonderful place - it was truly our pleasure to take great care of you and your husband during your trip to Austin.
See you next time,
Crystal & Team CY NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Upon arrival the front desk employee was very friendly and welcoming. She gave us plenty of advice on our restaurants that we mentioned to her. The location is very good to head to 6th street. I felt the hotel was overall old and starting to show it's wear. One of the windows had window tint on it and the other was peeled off but you could not see out the window due to interior moisture in the window. Usually my choice of hotels will be Marriott but I will not be returning to the Courtyard. It is hugely overpriced for location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cynw1105, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for styaing with us and taking the time to leave us a comment on TripAdvisor! I am sorry to hear that our hotel did not exceed your expectations. Please contact me personally at the hotel as it would be our pleasure to do whatever it takes to remedy the situation and your opinion of our hotel!
Crystal and Team CY NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Traveling can be a little stressful when you have two small children, aged three and five. With my two kids, we have a hard time staying in hotels because they require a few things. One, they need their own television to watch cartoons. Which can sometimes be a challenge since cable doesn't always show age appropriate cartoons for kids late in the day/evening. Two, they truly do need their own space to not only sleep, but to play. We bring toys along and some hotel rooms don't have enough room to even put a suitcase, much less any toys. We need a hotel room that has good soundproofing so that we don't hear our neighbors and vice versa. And it always makes us feel better when the space is obviously clean and well kept. At the Marriott Couryard, which we booked through a bidding process on Priceline, was absolutely wonderful. We stayed Labor Day weekend, and it did have a good occupancy. We were so so lucky to have a King Suite. The bedroom area was separated by a perfect privacy wall, two a/c units helped us control our temperature and the kids separately to make everyone comfortable. I've stayed in suites that had one a/c unit and it was not easy to regulate the temperature. The room had a huge bay of windows and we were on the 8th floor, which provided a great view of Austin. The kids also loved the fact that they had a desk to play with the laptop, a tv with a cartoon package we could order, for a pretty reasonable $9.99. The PBS package was PERFECT for them. The free wi-fi connected easily to the laptop, iPad, iPod and iPhones, making everyone happy. Everyone at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful at all hours of the day. We were within walking/driving distance to several restaurants, Target, etc. And because of where we stayed, we were not more than a 10-15 minute drive to everything we were in Austin to do. Our room was right next to the elevators and we never heard any noise from the hall. Not even a ding from the elevator arriving/departing. We have stayed in hotels where every step in the hallway was heard in our room. The bed was extremely comfortable with the bathroom being perfect for us. Especially with a separate vanity area outside of the bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was well worth the cost and was delicious. The waitstaff in the restaurant were extremely polite and sweet and attentive. With my two little monsters, they never once got annoyed and were wonderful to all of us. The parking situation was perfect with a nice sized parking lot and it was off of the feeder so it was semi-private which made us feel like our car was that much safer. It was also really great that the housekeeping came in and restocked everything but were nice enough to not move any of our belongings. I know that housekeeping is just trying to do their job when they move your stuff to make beds, organize a vanity, etc. But it's nice to know that where I left my stuff is exactly where it'll be when I arrive back that evening. I don't need them to clean my mess while I'm still staying there, and they didn't try. Granted, I did make sure to clear the bed off so that they didn't have to deal with it. The kids pull out couch was comfortable and they slept very well and shared easily. They had plenty of space to move around and never touch each other. Even with cushions off of the couch and the small coffee table moved, there was still plenty of room to walk around and play. All of the furniture fit well inside of the space.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cynw1105, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your comment! Although I woud love to take credit for 8th floor bay windows and a view of the city skyline I believe the property you are referring to is Courtyard Downtown! I have forwarded your info to their Mgmt team and thank you for choosing Courtyard Marriott for your family's trip to Austin, HOOK 'EM!
Crystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum

Address: 9409 Stonelake Boulevard, Austin, TX 78759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s a New Stay! The Courtyard Austin Northwest Arboretum has just been renovated! This Austin Arboretum hotel is minutes from downtown and surrounded by many trendy restaurants and nightspots. Just a short drive to the Arboretum and The Domain, guests at the Courtyard Austin Northwest will find top retail names as well as top high-tech companies such as IBM, Dell and Oracle. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility with media pod work spaces, free WiFi, media library and easy access to news and weather via our touch-screen GoBoard® The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect® which provides guests with healthy food & beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. All guestrooms at our Austin Arboretum hotel now feature modern designs complete with flat screen TVs, luxury bedding and free WiFi. For business functions and social events we offer meeting space, an outdoor patio and lobby lounge perfect for entertaining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum Hotel Austin
Austin Courtyard
Austin Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Austin Northwest/Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.