We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   959 Reinli Street, Austin, TX 78751 (Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #82 of 182 hotels in Austin
Longview, Texas
1 review
“Great Location and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

On a recent visit to Austin I chose this hotel mainly because of how close it was to the downtown area and the affordability factor. I had never stayed there before but will certainly make a point to stay again when in the Austin area. The room was spotless, the staff incredibly approachable , helpful and friendly. I actually felt like they were glad I was there- gave a genuine greeting each time I came in or left the lobby. It is obvious they have been well trained in the area of customer service.... what a novel idea these days!
The beds and linens were comfy and in good shape. Breakfast was more than I expected- good variety/ something for most anyone wanting to grab a quick bite and get out the door. I would wholeheartedly say give this hotel location a try- you won't regret it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us of our location. We truly value feedback and I can guarantee our team will be pleased that we exceeded your expectations of being ‘Clean and Friendly’ which is something we pride ourselves on as a team. We truly aim to ensure we greet every guest upon Arrival and Departure as we always want to make you feel welcomed and we glad we achieved this for you too. Our breakfast was recently upgraded to the Fairfield Inn hot breakfast program which now includes sausage and eggs at our location. In addition to a sit down experience we also offer a ‘To go’ option which is a popular choice during weekends. In regards to our location a lot guests come back time and time again due to our convenience to accessing downtown Austin while still being accessible to North Austin and Lake Travis too.
Please let us know whenever you are next coming to visit!
Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    7
    9
    1
See reviews for
13
12
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We got a nice clean room and comfortable beds. Breakfast was great and the service was great. It was right off expressway. Made it easy to get on expressway when we left to go home. Staff was so friendly. Always greeting you when you come and go. Very Friendly feeling.

Room Tip: Room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Greetings,

I am so glad to hear you were impressed with our staff, the breakfast, and the cleanliness of the hotel. We try to provide a clean and friendly environment to each and every guest. Our location is convenient is all major areas of Austin as we are located 2.5 miles from UT, 4 miles from downtown, and 8 miles from the Domain.

Once again, you kind words are definitely appreciated!

Sincerely,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The staff at this hotel goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We really appreciated the more than adequate lighting in the room. Most hotel rooms do not have enough lights or plugs, but this one does.

The complimentary hot and cold breakfast was appreciated!

The location is very easy to get to and just minutes from UT and downtown.

You can tell management really cares by their presence here at trip advisor and the kind followup email we received to make sure everything was more than good.

Would stay here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Greetings,

I appreciate your kind message regarding the exemplary service you received while staying at the Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin University Area and the time you set aside to share your experience.

“Clean and Friendly” is our motto and it is very important to us that our associates make you feel welcome and assist you in being as comfortable as possible during your stay.

I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast. I know how important it is to start the day with a good meal. In April we rolled out our new hot breakfast which now includes scrambled eggs, sausage, Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches, fresh cut fruits, and other Fairfield favorites.

We are centrally located at the corner of IH-35 and 290 which makes for easy access to UT, (approx 2.5 miles) or the downtown area (approx 4 miles).

Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit to Austin. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you memorable service in the future.

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Out here on Business and the hotel was perfectly located to major freeways and food. Hotel room was clean and staff friendly. Also a good breakfast for this level of hotel (not a dig, typically what you would see at a Residence). Plus I received an email from management after my stay making sure I didn't have any issues. I will stay here again and next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Greetings,

Next to our great staff service I feel our main selling point is our location. As you mentioned we are centrally located off of 290 and IH-35 with easy access off of IH-35 via exit 238A. We have quite a few restaurants across IH 35 from us, (Pappadeauxs, Pappacitos, Amayas, and Texas Land and Cattle to name a few) or we are just a few minutes from downtown where our guests can find plenty of restaurants to indulge in. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast experience. We recently rolled out a couple new hot items to compliment the usual Fairfield breakfast our regulars have been accustomed to.

Once again, thank you for the feedback!

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I love this Hotel it is close to all the action in Austin and at a great Price.
They have 2 rooms with In room Jacuzzi , Such a nice way to take a break from
The kids , work ect.. The staff are nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for your kind words in regards to your recent stay with us. We are in central proximity to both Downtown and for those wishing to visit the North part of Austin too (Arboretum, Lake Travis). We do currently have two Jacuzzi rooms that are very popular. For those wishing to book one please ensure your reservation and room type is confirmed prior to arrival by booking online at www.marriott.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wonderful! Friendly staff, clean, comfortable rooms. I think it is outstanding that the GM, Chris, pays so much attention to the comments and responds. It surely is his leadership that inspires the staff to be outstanding. It is wonderful that he is so responsive and proactive! Looking forward to returning after the Paul McCartney concert!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you so much for your kind and positive words about the hotel staff. I am very lucky to have such a great team at the Fairfield Inn that cares about our guests as much as I do. This team truly makes my job easier. Once again, thank you for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you during your stay for the concert!

Sincerely,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The staff at this hotel is excellent. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was above average for comparable hotels. The location was convenient to downtown and not too far from COTA

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for your kind words in regards to your recent stay with us. We will share your comments in regards to our very popular staff service with the team! We have recently rolled out our Fairfield breakfast program and so far the feedback has been great. We are in a good location for those visiting the COTA yet still looking to avoid the downtown price hikes. For those attending an event at the COTA please ensure your reservation is booked in plenty of advance time as our rooms become very popular at this time.

Regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area

Address: 959 Reinli Street, Austin, TX 78751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Spa Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin-University Area, less than ten minutes from downtown, is a great alternative to downtown hotels with less expensive rates, free breakfast and Wi-Fi! Located at Exit 238A of Interstate 35, our hotel sits three miles from University of Texas, offering convenience unmatched by other University of Texas Austin hotels. Start your day right with a hearty free deluxe breakfast and kick back at our indoor pool or fitness center. Spend the day getting work done at nearby offices like Dell, Applied Materials and IBM or staying productive onsite with free Wi-Fi access. Find a little Austin adventure at any of the area attractions nearby, including Zilker Park, and the lively nightlife of 6th Street and downtown. In each of our 45 rooms, discover unparalleled relaxation: brand new LCD TVs, the Marriott Bedding Package and creative layouts ideal for group travel. Feel at home at the best of University of Texas-Austin hotels, Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin-University Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Fairfield Austin
Fairfield Inn Austin
Austin Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.