We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Name says it all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   909 E Koenig Lane, Austin, TX 78751-1504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 184 hotels in Austin
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Name says it all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I went on a weekend trip to Austin with a friend. We didn't plan on staying too much in the hotel, so this was the best cheap option for us. We got a twin room with queen size beds. Our first impression was not so good, as from the outside it looked like a lousy motel and there was a strong damp smell in the room. Once you turn off the A/C in the bathroom, it will smell better.

The furniture is kinda old, but the beds are really comfortable, that's what was the most important thing for us.
The bathroom is really small, but it serves the purpose. I liked that we had a refrigerator and a hair dryer. Breakfast is limited, but it was ok for us, especially because it was included in the price. Parking and wi-fi are also free. Internet was not too fast, but it didn't drop, so that was fine for 2-3 hours of usage.

We also chose this for the location, just outside of I-35, so 3-4 miles away from Downtown.
As a conclusion, good value for the price paid, I just wouldn't stay here more than 2 nights.

Room Tip: Do not get a smoking room, as they are pretty smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    17
    13
    14
See reviews for
18
17
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

First, I booked this room because of the price. I didnt pay for a Hyatt or Embassy Suites so I didnt expect one. I was hoping for a clean, comfortable, bug free room & thats what I got. Room is a bit small but was ok for my family of 3. Breakfast was decent although there isnt a lot to chose from. Staff was pleasant also. Originally booked 2 nights but decided to stay for 3. Dont let the outside of the place make your decision. Rooms r good 4 the price, especially if u want to spend your $ on stuff to do. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We found this hotel to be clean and a nice place to stay. The beds are comfortable, contrary to another review I had read. The only thing that could be better is the continental breadfast. It was a little hard for us to find it, but the GPS got us there. Theie price was good also. I would reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here a few times more since my last review.I appreciate the service and the rooms are ALWAYS clean and of course you cant beat the price.I have recommended this hotel to several friends and family and they have all thanked me later.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you are looking to save money but don't want to stay somewhere sketchy then this is the right hotel for you! My husband and I stayed here because we preferred to spend our money actually seeing Austin and sampling all their great food instead of paying for a room we only planned on sleeping in. This was a great fit for our budget and needs. Basic, a bit old and dated but clean, a comfy bed and everything worked fine. The hotel is right off 1-75 so it was a great location for getting into downtown quickly. The only real issue was that the walls between rooms were quite thin. I wouldn't say that I would stay here all the time, it was just the right fit for this particular visit which is why I rated it average. For $50 a night, you can't expect more but it wasn't an unpleasant experience at all.

Room Tip: Seeing as the walls are so thin, I suggest asking for a room on the second floor so you wont have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had to move out of my apt in March of 2013 and have been living at this hotel since. The manager, owner and staff at the hotel went out their way to make me and my family feel at home. I have never been in this situation before and it has really been hard for me and my family financially and emotionally. The staff have made me feel at home.They are super nice. They are so courteous and nice and a few of them even listened to my story and see me shed a few tears. The rooms are so clean and they provide so many amenities such as iron, ironing board, blow dryer, refrigerator, microwave, laundry facility and much more. Oh yes the breakfast was great. My children love eating before they went to school. These amenities are in every room. If anyone would like to spend their vacation here I recommend you stay here. To the staff, manager and owner of this hotel I will agree you are Five Star!!!! I will return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The room was very clean, which makes me a happy camper. Staff was friendly too. If you're not a smoker, don't opt for a smoking room (the room felt like it was converted from a garage or something. Also wallpaper is eh and you will be unhappy...). For the price I got a desk, big bed and easy chair. Only a handful of TV channels, which might bother some, but internet ran well. It was a quick, straightforward drive from here into downtown Austin.

Room Tip: (I assume) non-smoking rooms might be a bit nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 909 E Koenig Lane, Austin, TX 78751-1504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Spa Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Austin, located in the state capitol of Texas and the live music capitol of the world. Visit the historic Governor's Mansion, which has been the official home of every Texas governor since 1856. Our hotel has two floors & 88 comfortable guest rooms. Each room is well appointed with free wifi, free local calls, microwaves & refrigerators, hair dryers, coffee makers and 25" TV with cable channels including HBO. Our property amenities include: Free Wifi, outdoor pool, exercise room & guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Austin
Americas Best Value Inn Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.