We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance on a Budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 IH 35 N, Austin, TX 78753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #106 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Yorktown, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romance on a Budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We got the king size bed room and let me tell you it was fantastic! It was beautifully decorated with little beaded details. The room was pristine in cleanliness. The Bath & Body Works bath goodies were a treat. The free breakfast was a nice perk, granted it was merely adequate as I've had better hotel breakfasts, but it was pretty good. Mostly, I was thrilled with the how romantic the room was. Also, better perk were the free cookies and fresh popcorn available in the lobby in the evening. Yum!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    32
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
19
21
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Were there for a quick stay where we didn't have to drive back to San Antonio. The staff was reasonably friendly but the man was a little unnerved when we chcked in early and we asked for room higher than first floor. Avoid 115 since it is the first room, next to the ice machine, the staff office, the elevators, the fitness room, and the lobby. It would be better served if they used it for storage.

The pillows being labeled firm or soft was nice. The bed, however, was a cement block with a mattress pad on it. I was tired enough to sleep, but otherwise it would have been painful.

The bathroom was nothing spectacular, but the towels were nice. I would have used the pool but it was situated between the parking lot and windows right in front of the breakfast area.

The free wireless internet was wonderful as well as the full breakfast. The biscuits that morning were exceptional and I have never seen pinwheel bacon before. All in all, I would come back for a night but definitely not any longer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

My husband and I checked in late and was given cookies and offered fruit.
Everyone at check in was friendly. The rooms were nice, and clean. A flat screen TV, comfortable firm bed, a large lounging chair, microwave and refrigerator. A small restroom, but very clean. Thick plush towels were nice. Hot and cold breakfast was excellent. Next to a freeway, but you never heard it. Small pool but nice and clean. Close to downtown and many restaurants. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. If you have a car, you can go anywhere in Austin from here. It was easy to find, well lit, secure, clean and comfortable. The photos displayed are true to form, and the entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Complimentary fresh baked cookies in the late afternoon, a manager's light supper on Tue. & Wed. evenings (unfortunately we missed this), and a full hot breakfast (served buffet style) were a great perk. Don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Liked — well lit parking, friendly staff, clean rooms
  • Disliked — slight noise from freeway traffic
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

I am in the midst of a two week business stay, and chose this hotel because of its proximity to where I would be working. Overall, the hotel is excellent. It's very clean, the rooms are spacious, there's a fridge and microwave in the room, staff is pleasant, and the amenties are fine. As a Priority member, I received a very nice bag with bottled water, peanuts and chocolate on checking in, a plus in their favor. There is a free breakfast every morning that is more than satisfactory and the fitness room is quite nice. I like the towels, they are nice and thick, and the bed is comfortable. The only downsides are the traffic noise from I-35 and the fact that there is no restaurant on the premises. You have to have a car and go somewhere at night if you want to eat after you get back to the hotel from a day at work. I would stay at another Holiday Inn Express after this experience, If I was visiting Austin as a tourist, I'd probably want to be in the downtown area. But this is a good place for a business traveler.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, nice rooms, good staff, free breakfast
  • Disliked — Noise from the freeway, no restaraunt on premises
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mereandjd
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

Great hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms, A/C that actually worked, great breakfast. Will stay there again

  • Liked — Great Breakfast, clean rooms, A/C that works!!
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Our stay at this Holiday Inn Express in Austin was such a pleasant surprise. We booked our room directly through the website for about $116 (King, No Smoking) so we were expecting bare bones. The room and bathroom were very clean and we made use of the mini-fridge, but not the microwave. The bed and bedding were clean, crisp, and comfortable. I really appreciated having the lap blanket for relaxing mid day as well as the option of firm and soft pillows.

Unfortunately we were in town for a convention downtown and the traffic was quite heavy. Although, that is not a slight against the hotel in anyway.

Another reviewer mentioned that they sold their irons. They also have them just for use in the rooms. The catalog of their merchandise in the bathroom is more a deterrent for people walking off with their towels and appliances. It lists what you will be automatically charged, as they are assuming you enjoyed it so much you couldn't wait to order it. =P

The complimentary breakfast is one of the best I've seen with many hot and cold options including really decent coffee! Also, a nice touch was that you could come down in the evening and fix yourself a hot cup of tea or grab a piece of fruit. I liked it.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central

Address: 8500 IH 35 N, Austin, TX 78753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the North Austin area is the beautiful Holiday Inn Express Hotel conveniently located off of the IH 35 and Hwy 183. This gorgeous hotel with 101 over sized guest rooms is within 10 minutes of downtown Austin where guests can enjoy the famed 6th Street, the Texas State Capitol, the Austin Convention Center, and the UT campus. The Holiday Inn Express is 20 minutes from Austin-Bergstrom Airport. In addition, we are less than 15 miles from Lake Travis, the Bob Bullock Museum/IMAX Theater, the Austin Children s Museum, and the Frank Erwin Center. Finally, there are several shopping malls within a ten mile radius. A few of the many companies located near us include MCI, Dell Computers, Applied Materials, Apple Computers, and Samsung. The Holiday Inn Express in North Austin is perfect for the business traveler. We offer complimentary high-speed Internet (both wired and wireless) access in all of the guest rooms. All of our guest rooms have spacious working desks with ergonomic chairs, and desk phones with speaker capabilities, data port, and voice mail. Each morning guests can enjoy our complimentary Express Start Breakfast, which includes fresh, warm cinnamon rolls, Smart Roast Coffee, and many more items that will more than satisfy any guest's hunger. Above all, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel s professional staff awaits the opportunity to attend to your every need. Visit Austin, TX and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.