We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great part of Austin but good property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8500 IH 35 N, Austin, TX 78753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #99 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not a great part of Austin but good property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I booked this property due to being close to my meeting off of 51st street from UT. It is about 10 minutes to campus. Very nice property, clean outside, well lighted parking, spacious lobby and easy check in. Our king bed was comfy, room very clean. We had a new kind of coffee maker (can't remember the brand! ) that I really liked AND loved having microwave and fridge. About bedtime, the fire alarm made a LOUD BEEP ( scary!!!!) due to a battery failure. Hubby ran down to lobby to see what was going on and passed the word to worried families up and down the hall that were milling around to see if we needed to evacuate. All ok and back to bed... Breakfast was the standard HIE fare but the biscuits were SUPER this time! Most of the time, they are hard rocks! Cheers to the biscuit lady!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We would like to thank you for your feedback your reviews are valuable to us. We strive not to be average but elite hotel. Our goal is to create a hotel guest love.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
20
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Since my arrival at the hotel, Lesley Easley and her staff have been nothing short of magnificent and very hospitable. The staff makes you feel like a part of their family. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. I appreciate all the staffs promtness and courtesy in each request made to them, from the front desk all the down to the maintanence crew. Thank you for making my stay at this hotel feel like I never left my home.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I would like to thank you for your feedback. It is our pleasure to have you stay at our hotel we vaule your business and hope to see you for many more years. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The staff at this Holiday Inn is very aware of the area restaurants in the area. The breakfast area clean and room. We booked to visit Austin,Texas and surrounding areas, Prefect location to get on or off Interstate 35 North or South. We would recommend this place for the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I would like to thank you for your feedback it is very important to us. We are glad your stay was great. We are here to treat our guest like family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I booked two rooms. One double from Aug 22-26 and a king from Aug 25-26. First time I stayed in Austin longer than a night. It was my mini vacation since my wife is going to the Criss Cole Rehabilitation Center. Well the experience was very welcoming and there were just a couple minor things to clean up before this hotel can be elite, but it was great none-the-less.

My check-in was done by James, who was very professional and caring about his position. My second check-in was done by a trainee who was being trained by a very down to earth front desk clerk Alvin. Its the little details that are welcoming, like the cookies and lemonade they have as your walk in. The breakfast has more options to choose from than your regular standard hot breakfast. Chocolate milk isn't even a requirement standard but they had it, which was pretty neat. Breakfast hostess will refill your drink for you. The beds were amazingly comfortable like I expect all Holiday Inns to be. The best reason for staying here is location, its close to I-35 and its on the Lamar side of the freeway. It was easy for me locate the hotel and go to the center when I needed to.

Now everything wasn't perfect. 1.Breakfast area is very small. When its busy, its busy! A small dining area requires one to wait for a table. Most tables are for 2 people. 2. There are no views, so don't expect a skyline. 3.Noise can be an issue if you wake easily 4.The sidewalk to get to the swimming pool is obstructed by a wooden boxed in fence. Was not handicap friendly since my wife is legally blind and needs a cane to move about. A wheelchair would have to go into the grass to be able to access it. 5. The decor of the guest rooms are horrible. Colors are out to date and the furniture had a bunch of scratches on them. Guacamole colored crown trim molding! uh no... Also the elevator had graffiti scrapped on the metal door and wallpaper in the hallways had scuff marks that can be easily taken care of.

The hotel isn't perfect but as long as its staff can smile and be attentive to their guests, it makes for a pleasant stay. Those other little details can be easily be fixed. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose room away from IH35 if you hate noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we take all feedback and use them as a training tool to help create a hotel that guest love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after getting home from our deployments hoping to find somewhere decent to be close to downtown. On our second day we had close to two thousand dollars stolen and management has avoided the issue despite being contacted multiple times by myself, the hotel group and the police. Our sheets were dirty and the service was terrible. Don't waste your money because its going to get stolen anyway

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are sorry for the inconvience we have answered and called several times and corporate to discuss with you our fndings of the issue. I myself call ed 3 times and to anyfail nwas unable to reach you or get a call back. Spoke with the semior case manager at copropatre they also were unable to reach you or get a call back. We are so sorry for any misunderstandings and there was a unfororunte misshap. We hope you will continue to stay at ant of our wonderful hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had a great time at this location. It is very family friendly with a relaxing pool. The general manager, Leslie, was there and was very friendly. She made sure our stay was comfortable. The cookies in the lobby were always fresh and soft. This is certainly the place I stay when I am in town and always promote this property to collegues..Keep up the great work!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We would like to thank you for your feedback we try to create a hotel that guest love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

On July 6, 2013 my parents stayed at your hotel Holiday Inn Express--North Central . They had been traveling from Mexico and had been on the road for a very long time. I contacted them to see how they were doing and that’s when I realized my father was too tired to continue driving home ( Dallas). I asked them to please find a hotel for them to spend the night in and that i would pay for it. They chose your hotel, at the front desk was a gentleman by the name of Alvin. He was great with my parents and I talked to him asking if there was a way that I could pay for the room over the phone. He asked if I had access to a fax and I didn’t so he suggested that I go online and book it thru Hotels.com or a company similar to one like that. As my wife was on the other phone with Hotels.com Alvin had said that Lesley ( General Manager) would make the exception to take the payment over the phone. I spoke to Lesley to thank her and she said she made the exception because she saw how tired my parents looked. I couldn’t thank her enough for what she did and that exception really made my parents very happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
IWe would like to thank you for your feedback. Our rule here is to make.our guest like family and create a hotel that guest love,

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central

Address: 8500 IH 35 N, Austin, TX 78753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the North Austin area is the beautiful Holiday Inn Express Hotel conveniently located off of the IH 35 and Hwy 183. This gorgeous hotel with 101 over sized guest rooms is within 10 minutes of downtown Austin where guests can enjoy the famed 6th Street, the Texas State Capitol, the Austin Convention Center, and the UT campus. The Holiday Inn Express is 20 minutes from Austin-Bergstrom Airport. In addition, we are less than 15 miles from Lake Travis, the Bob Bullock Museum/IMAX Theater, the Austin Children s Museum, and the Frank Erwin Center. Finally, there are several shopping malls within a ten mile radius. A few of the many companies located near us include MCI, Dell Computers, Applied Materials, Apple Computers, and Samsung. The Holiday Inn Express in North Austin is perfect for the business traveler. We offer complimentary high-speed Internet (both wired and wireless) access in all of the guest rooms. All of our guest rooms have spacious working desks with ergonomic chairs, and desk phones with speaker capabilities, data port, and voice mail. Each morning guests can enjoy our complimentary Express Start Breakfast, which includes fresh, warm cinnamon rolls, Smart Roast Coffee, and many more items that will more than satisfy any guest's hunger. Above all, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel s professional staff awaits the opportunity to attend to your every need. Visit Austin, TX and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.