We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at Double Tree” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1617 IH-35 North, Austin, TX 78702 (East Austin)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The HHonors Weekend
Ranked #84 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Georgetown, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good stay at Double Tree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Double Tree, The hotel was up to the quality I have come to appreciate with Hilton Hotels. The rooms were larger than expected and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and prompt to assist. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    187
    104
    61
    28
See reviews for
117
103
42
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I was very happy with the service provided to me. Ant thing that I needed was right there. The employees were very helpful.They help me find the locations of the place I needed to be. And when I had a rough ,hot day they even gave me somemore cookies to help me feel better, that little thing made me feel good for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was initially disappointed that my original Hilton destination was completely booked but my stay at the Double Tree was very nice. Great spacious room on the Honors floor, extremely quiet and overall well appointed. The staff was what really made the difference. Everyone I came in contact with from my check in on Sunday afternoon until I left Tuesday morning was absolutely gracious, accommodating and efficient. While the breakfast buffet was basic the morning restaurant staff were great. The man behind the bar Sunday and Monday paid attention and provided great service. The front desk staff for my entire stay were friendly and extremely helpful, including turning me on to Parkside restaurant on 6th Street. When I go back to Austin in a couple of months I will check availability of this Doubletree.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

select a hotel that is lesser of a name and you will get more for you money. Ohter chains are not that far away and not as expensive. It was way to expensive and not convenient for me as the University was the only place I did not go. When making reservations I was told this was close to my activities. I did not rent a car, cabs were pricey, so I walked and boy did I do alot of walking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Comfy beds, and lots of soft pillows. Got a free cookie when checking in, and they provided fresh flavored water in the lobby. Lots of space in the double room. The staff at the front desk were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is centrally located in Austin and provides good value ....not 4 star but good. Getting the attention of the front desk associates is not easy but after a longer than usual wait, while they talk on the phone, you will be given an warm cookie and issued keys to your room while they look puzzled as to why YOU were so impatient (KIDS!).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have visited this property on several different occasions. Being part of their reward program, we were greeted with warm cookies (always a plus), and friendly staff. The menu at the hotel's restaurant was outstanding, and their attention to quality was great.

Room Tip: This room is close to downtown. Make sure to go to the Congress Ave Bridge and see the 1.2 million...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area

Address: 1617 IH-35 North, Austin, TX 78702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin – University Area provides a homelike warmth, just a mile from downtown Austin. Our hotel is just across the street from the University of Texas and the Frank Erwin Center. The most centrally located hotel in Austin, we're only four blocks from the Texas State Capitol and within easy reach of many Austin attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree University Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.