We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cookie Castle"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 W 15th St, Austin, TX 78701-1692   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on WiFi!
Ranked #27 of 187 Hotels in Austin
United States
1 review
“"Cookie Castle"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a great stay at the downtown Doubletree over Christmas holiday. Good staff, food, amenities, service, and spacious rooms………….and amazing cookies!! Love the suite concept and the location was perfect for all our needs. Would definitely stay there again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halie H, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Barbara G,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your time while visiting our hotel. Our hotel has wonderful amenities to take advantage of and we are so happy that we could accommodate all of your needs. We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel, and we would be delighted to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Halie Hatch
Halie.hatch@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    128
    52
    16
    6
See reviews for
107
53
11
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived to the hotel earlier than the check in time & we thought we'd have to hang out somewhere for awhile. Not the case. We were checked in immediately by very friendly staff & given a warm chocolate chip cookie! We had a long day of travel so we just ate down in the hotel restaurant. The food was very good, but somewhat pricey. I guess that's to be expected in most nicer hotel restaurants. The view from our room was of the State Capitol-which is lit up beautifully in the night time.
We were here for a John Mayer concert held at Frank Irwin Center & couldn't have asked for a more convenient hotel. Very close to the university & State Capitol. We would've walked had there not been an exceptional cold snap...A little too cold for my So Cal liking.
Anyway, the hotel & staff are awesome. If there's anything you need, they are there to help. I highly recommend a stay at this hotel.
My one complaint is their coffee pots & coffee selection-pot doesn't work well & coffee is very week.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halie H, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Rosebud65!
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and descriptive review. We are absolutely delighted that your travel plans brought you to Austin- All the way from Southern California! It is great to know that our team members were attentive to your needs and were very helpful to you. I’m glad that you were able to enjoy the amenities that our hotel has to offer. Our convenient location and views from the hotel are always a nice addition. I will be sure to pass along your gracious comments to all of our team members. We hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Halie Hatch
Halie.hatch@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. This would be a great hotel to stay several days as it has a kitchenette and separate living area. The location was excellent, too. We were able to use the shuttle to take us to the wedding ceremony we were in town. Excellent spot if you are looking to stay near campus, the Capitol or downtown!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halie H, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hi Emily H!

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments about your recent stay. I believe our hotel is in a great location for easy access to all that downtown Austin has to offer. Our complimentary shuttle service that runs in a two mile radius of the hotel is a great plus, especially when your destination is just out of walking distance. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your time at our hotel, and that you were able to take advantage of some of the amenities we have to offer. If your travels bring you to Austin again, we would love to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Halie Hatch
Halie.hatch@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and features updated rooms. It is in walking distance to the Texas state capital and the many restaurants. It has valet parking or self-parking under the hotel. The food is average.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halie H, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hi willypep,

Thank you for taking a few moments to share your experience on your recent stay here at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Austin. Our recent hotel renovations have served to be pleasing to the eye as well as comfortable for all of our guests. Our location is conveniently located within walking distance of many attractions. Our hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle service within a two mile radius of the hotel, which is perfect for some of the longer distances. I hope you come back and see us again!

Sincerely,

Halie Hatch
Halie.hatch@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Me and my roommate decided to go on a vacation at the end of the fall semester to get away from the snow filled below zero temperatures of northern Minnesota. We decided on Austin, TX because we are fans of the Longhorns. Since i work in the Hilton Family i decided to stay at this property due to its location. It turns out that this property was everything i could of asked for and more. Working at a hotel i hold other hotels especially those in the Hilton Family to a higher standard than most and this hotel met every expectation. From the room, to the food everything was great! What really stood out to me was how friendly and helpful every team member i met was. Kudos to this hotel as they select and train employees in the true nature of the hospitality industry. I do not know when i will be traveling to Austin, TX again or if i ever will but if i do i can guarantee you i this property now has a loyal customer!

Room Tip: Order the made to order breakfast over the buffet. The DT Chocolate Chip Pancakes are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halie H, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hi Gari5974!

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay! I am overjoyed that your impromptu travel plans directed you to Austin, and that we were your choice hotel! I am happy we were able to show you some of our southern hospitality and exceed your expectations! Your gracious comments about our hotel and staff are heartwarming and appreciated. From one Hilton family to the other, thank you for staying with us and we truly hope we can welcome you back to Austin!

Sincerely,
Halie Hatch
halie.hatch@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I like the Doubletree because they have two bedroom, two bath suites which suit my husband and Me perfectly. The location of this one is great as it is within walking distance of the LBJ Library, the Capitol Building and the University of Texas. I'm a walker so I found it easy to walk the mile into town but the hotel also provides a shuttle for a 2 mile radius. This hotel has some outstanding help...notably one of the shuttle drivers. Tom functioned as driver, city guide and concerned hotel representative. Once when I told him that housekeeping forgot to clean our room and did not vacuum very well, he vowed to make things right...and in his own way, did just that. He understands service as did Leah in the restaurant who remembered our quirks from breakfast to breakfast. The biggest drawback of this hotel is the inconsistent housekeeping. They can do better and some do...but the ones that don't bring down the rest. So thank you all...especially Tom who I hope will continue in hotel management. And to housekeeping...get your act together!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halie H, Sales Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear LeahPhiladelphia_PA,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with the TripAdvisor community. We sincerely appreciate all guest feedback, positive and negative. I would like to offer my sincere apology that some aspects of your stay fell short of exceeding your expectations. We will take your feedback and use it constructively to grow as a hotel to ensure that we can provide excellent service to all of our guests. I am happy to hear that Tom and Leah were able to show you the hospitality that is standard at our hotel and that they were attentive to your needs. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we may have an opportunity to exceed your expectations. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Halie Hatch
halie.hatch@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Spent one night at Doubletree. 2 bedroom suite was perfect size for a family of six. Rooms, sitting area and kitchen were clean, comfortable and spacious. Valet guys and front desk gave good service. Good location near the State Capital and restaurants. Love the cookies!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halie H, Sale Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Lisa C,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel and staff. We strive to create a wonderful experience for all of our guests from the time they arrive to the time they depart. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Halie Hatch
Halie.hatch@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin

Address: 303 W 15th St, Austin, TX 78701-1692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Austin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Austin. Enjoy a warm greeting with a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie at this comfortable hotel. Among Austin, Texas hotels, this DoubleTree hotel places you in the downtown business district and within minutes of all that the city has to offer. Walk to the University of Texas and the Texas State Capitol from our Austin, Texas hotel, which is 11 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. Visit the Sixth Street Entertainment District, Barton Springs Pool, or explore the area around this Austin hotel with our complimentary shuttle service. Corporate guests are in easy reach of many regional and national companies, the Austin Convention Center and favorite local restaurants and nightlife. Retreat to a spacious suite at the DoubleTree Suites Hotel Austin. All of our suites offer separate kitchens, living areas and private bedrooms in sophisticated surroundings. Upgrade to a two-bedroom suite, Penthouse or Executive suite for a wrap-around rooftop balcony with breathtaking city views. Host a meeting or event in this downtown Austin hotel's 5,000 sq. ft. function space, including the beautiful Rose Garden Terrace. Let our professional staff assist you from planning to execution. Stay fit in our fitness center, or relax in our heated, outdoor pool and patio deck. Savor delicious American or Southwestern cuisine in our 15th Street Cafe, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and then retire to our popular 15th Street Lounge. Book your stay at our Austin, Texas hotel and experience true Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.