We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 W 15th St, Austin, TX 78701-1692   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on WiFi!
Ranked #30 of 184 hotels in Austin
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“4th of July Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Fast check-in and check-out. Price of parking lot was not expected. Cookie was a nice touch after a long drive. Next day there was fresh and cool water, nice detail too. Great view from my room to the Texas Capitol.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    102
    41
    15
    6
See reviews for
89
46
9
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I loved the suites ! They were large with a kitchen, sitting/dining area, large bedroom, large bathroom and even 2 balconies with a lovely view of downtown Austin!! And they were beautifully decorated - modern and sophisticated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The DoubleTree near the Capitol is really the BEST hotel in Austin. Ralph Watson and the Bell staff here are simply the BEST around! All of the staff are truly outstanding. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are large - if you need to host a meeting at the hotel the table can accomodate a "working" meeting!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

excellent accommodations, good location, great service. The overall staff was very interested in making us enjoy our stay...I would definitely go back. The hotel was clean and comfortable and good location...It was very nice to know we could use the shuttle service to and from downtown 5th and rainy street. Very clean city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel for the price was overrated! I stay in Hilton properties every week but this was terrible. Rooms smelled of old cigarette smoke, breakfast was the worst I've ever had in any hotel...and I've stayed in many. There is another DT not far from this that I will have to try next time

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny C, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Community,

We have reached out to this guest privately to respond to their specific concerns and hopefully achieve a mutually beneficial resolution. Our hotel does our very best to ensure all of our guests are well taken care of however it seems in this instance, we fell well short of our goal. As we recently completed a $7million renovation, our hotel is among the best in the city. If there are any questions or hesitancies about coming to be our guest, I invite you to contact me directly for assistance.

Most Sincerely,
Danny Craven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This all suite hotel is centrally located adjacent to the State Capital and within walking distance of 6th street but far enough that you do not hear all the late-night partying of downtown. The only negative that keeps this property from having 5 stars is the underground self-parking which if you have anything bigger than a Prius, you will not feel comfortable self-parking. But even with that, the staff was accomodating and valet parked my X5 and stil only charged me the self-parking rate. My party of 4 checked into a double suite that had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a living room and kitchen and it was awesome !
Front desk, valet and bellman staff were all very, very friendly and courteous and the hot chocoloate chip cookies at check-in sealed the deal ! Hotel updated recently and looks and feels clean.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south, west and east all have incredible views. Balcony's afford 180 degree views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Austin. The capital is minutes away and there is a 7-11 within walking distance.
The rooms are spacious and very clean with a modern look. Loved the kitchen area, and not to mention the warm cookie that was given to us at check in.

The staff was very accommodating especially Jennifer and Chelsea at guest services. I wouldn't recommend Austin land and cattle restaurant for a family of 5 though as it would've cost us $200 just to dine there. Maybe somewhere a little more kid friendly :)

Our overall experience was excellent and we enjoyed having a balcony. Thank you so much for treating our family like your own!
Oh yes, the bellhops were awesome! See you very soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin

Address: 303 W 15th St, Austin, TX 78701-1692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#21 Family Hotel in Austin
#24 Business Hotel in Austin
#30 Spa Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Austin. Enjoy a warm greeting with a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie at this comfortable hotel. Among Austin, Texas hotels, this DoubleTree hotel places you in the downtown business district and within minutes of all that the city has to offer. Walk to the University of Texas and the Texas State Capitol from our Austin, Texas hotel, which is 11 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. Visit the Sixth Street Entertainment District, Barton Springs Pool, or explore the area around this Austin hotel with our complimentary shuttle service. Corporate guests are in easy reach of many regional and national companies, the Austin Convention Center and favorite local restaurants and nightlife. Retreat to a spacious suite at the DoubleTree Suites Hotel Austin. All of our suites offer separate kitchens, living areas and private bedrooms in sophisticated surroundings. Upgrade to a two-bedroom suite, Penthouse or Executive suite for a wrap-around rooftop balcony with breathtaking city views. Host a meeting or event in this downtown Austin hotel's 5,000 sq. ft. function space, including the beautiful Rose Garden Terrace. Let our professional staff assist you from planning to execution. Stay fit in our fitness center, or relax in our heated, outdoor pool and patio deck. Savor delicious American or Southwestern cuisine in our 15th Street Cafe, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and then retire to our popular 15th Street Lounge. Book your stay at our Austin, Texas hotel and experience true Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.