We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time staying here wasn't disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9505 Stonelake Boulevard, Austin, TX 78759 (Northwest Austin)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop Arboretum Package
Ranked #21 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Draper, Utah
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“1st time staying here wasn't disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This hotel is located near the junction of a couple of main expressways and near some very nice places to eat. The cook to order breakfasts are very nice in the morning and quite a change from the other hotels who just serve up the "take it or leave it" breakfasts. The afternoon happy hour snacks could be better, but then they are there to take the edge off before going out for dinner. The room was clean and nice but the next time I will make sure "in advance" to ask for a non-handicap room, the show was hard to use due to making it "user" friendly. The only issue I really had was the fire alarm with the green LED's being so bright, I used some foil from one of my dinners to cover it up so I could sleep easier. The elevators did have some issues, but that was mainly from children mashing the buttons so they stuck in and caused the doors to constantly open and close on one floor. Over all this hotel made sure the rooms were clean and any issues where addressed promptly.
The Good: Cooked to order breakfast by a competent chef and a nice variety of breakfast foods.
The Bad: Bored children playing on the elevators
The Ugly: not the hotels fault but over use of aftershave and perfume on people lingering for hours in the elevators.
On the Scuba bubble scale I give this place 7 out of 10 bubbles

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the top floors away from the elevator and the Ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
must_need_h2o
Thank you very much for your nice review. I am glad you overall enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the complimentary cooked to order breakfast as well as finding your suite to be clean. I am sorry that you were disapointed in the snacks at evening reception and for the troubles you encountered with children and the elevators. I hope the next time you stay with us we are able to earn 10 out of 10 bubbles on the bubble scuba scale!
Thank you
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    113
    30
    15
    12
See reviews for
127
64
21
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leakey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Came in the night before meeting thinking this was going to be a boring night! Wrong went down to bar for happy hour....Wow! Bar tender was a real hoot, people in the area were so friendly and the snacks were great and plentiful. The made to order omelet the next morning was terrific. The rooms are like home, with a living room and then a separate bed room and bath. Quit and homey!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Jackie T,
Thank you for such a nice review! I am glad that our team and complimentary evening reception kept you from being bored! We look forward to your next visit to Austin.
Thank you
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our room was super clean. The breakfast is a plus when travelling with children or in terms of convenience. The food was good too with lots of choices, they even had skim milk and eggs to order. The rooms were average size, but you get 2 so lots of space. Our bed was a king, and it was smaller than a true king. It also had a dip in the middle into which I rolled all night long. The room was noisy from both sides - loby on one side, restaurant band on the other, but nothing so loud that I could not sleep. Besides, Baby A's next door turned out to be a fun place to eat with in walking distance. The swans in the lobby made me uncomfortable. The space for them didn't seem big enough for such large birds.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, bring ear muffs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Susan h,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary cooked to order breakfast and that you found your suite super clean. I am sorry about the condion of your bed and the noise you encountered. I am glad it did not interrupt your sleep. I can understand your concern regarding Butch and Sundance and can assure you that the space is comfortable for them. We hope to see you the next time you visist Austin.
Thank you
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Hotel is clean and in nice area. Needs better internet in rooms. Had below average front desk reception and experience. Am sure most are friendly people. Noise level between rooms was another issue. Could hear next room talks/TV (slightest level) from bedroom

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Tadesse F,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am sorry that we disapointed you in regards to the internet, noise and Front Desk reception. We are working with our Internet Provider to ensure consistent, good internet service. I have also forwarded your comments to our Front Desk leadership team to address. We pride ourselves on our friendliness and will work to do better. I do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Thank you
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I am delighted with the front desk.
Prompt, courteous, friendly service. A great little managers reception.
My room was fresh and very comfortable.

This hotel had two Royal Swans named Butch and Sundance. They are brothers and very beautiful.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
MissionTexasSharon,
I am delighted that you are delighted by our Front Desk! Thank you for such a wondeful review. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the staff, your room and the evening reception. I hope you had an opportunity to try our great complimentary made to order breakfast? Butch, Sundance and the rest of our team look forward to your next visit!
Thank you
Paul Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for one night on Saturday, 8/9/14. We were checked in by the manager on duty, Sharon. She was wonderful and so friendly! We were extremely impressed by the cleanliness of our room and the entire hotel. This hotel is beautiful, the staff is so accommodating and friendly and the room was large, inviting and comfortable. This will be our new go to hotel in Austin. From the evening happy hour with alcoholic beverages, snacks and popcorn to the delicious cooked to order breakfast, you won't find a better property that offers these extras. I was originally very concerned about the resident swans, Butch and Sundance. I was worried that they wouldn't have the amount of space needed to thrive and live happy lives. I however, did some research and found a forum that caters to swan questions and answers. A swan specialist told me that these animals are indeed in a safe environment where they are taken care of properly and well cared for. He also said that swans prefer to stay in smaller areas even when they have large areas to swim in. Please know that this property takes wonderful care of these beautiful animals. They treat them like family and they love them. Sharon, the manager on duty during our stay, was always looking out for them while we were there. Anytime a few people started to crowd around the swans pool areas she was immediately there to make sure that they were safe and that nobody was getting too close. She was so friendly that she gave my son some food and allowed him to feed them. We loved this hotel, the staff was wonderful and we will definitely be back. This hotel is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
luv2snorkel0524,
Thank you for such a wondeful review! We are very blessed to have leaders and associates such as Sharon who are truly invested in ensuring our guests have a great experience. I am also very appreciative of your comments regarding Butch and Sundance. They are members of our family and the hotel team and I take their care and well being very seriously. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Austin.
Thank you
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a high quality hotel. We stayed for two nights with our family or four. The suite with pull out bed enabled each child to have their own bed. Rooms are spacious. We found the staff to be VERY friendly and helpful. Check-in was fast and efficient. The breakfast include a wide range of items from fruit and yogurt to cereal and muffins to a made to order omelet or egg bar. At night the snacks are free during happy hour including a wide variety of drinks. Location is pretty convenient to most of the things we wanted to see during our visit such as LBJ library and iFly indoor skydiving. There are two graceful swans swimming around in the koi pond inside the hotel lobby. Great city. Great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Jebo S,
Thank you for such a great review! I appreciate your recognizing our wonderful staff and I am glad that our 2 room suites provided your family with plenty of space and you were able to enjoy our evening reception and cooked to order breakfast. Butch, Sundance and the rest of our team look forward to your families next visit to Austin!
Thank you
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum

Address: 9505 Stonelake Boulevard, Austin, TX 78759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#12 Business Hotel in Austin
#14 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Austin – Arboretum, is only minutes away from downtown Austin and within walking distance of the Austin Arboretum’s shops and restaurants. Located 20 minutes from the Austin-Bergstrom International Airport, our Austin Arboretum hotel is close to dining, the business district and the Austin technology hub near Charles Schwab, IBM and Microsoft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Austin
Embassy Suites Austin
Arboretum Austin Embassy Suites
Austin Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Austin - Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.