We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location depending on your purpose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4141 Governors Row, Austin, TX 78744 (South Austin)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park, Stay & Go
Ranked #56 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good location depending on your purpose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Nice hotel located in a business park (comfy rooms and pretty lobby area). Staying here really depends on your purpose.

My purpose was an early flight, in which case, was not the best choice. There is a Hampton Inn closer to the airport, that has its own shuttle. The shuttle for this hotel is a service that stops at other hotels in the area, so its not the most direct route.

On the bright side, if the airport is not your reason, consider this hotel. Its not too far (driving distance) from the trendy areas of Austin, and obviously close to the businesses in the industrial park.

A little more home work will help you pick the best hotel for your needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dddaustinmgr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review on Trip Advisor. We were glad to know you liked our new lobby renovation and that you found our location a good fit for seeing all Austin has to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    91
    31
    15
    9
See reviews for
40
58
27
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nothing you have to say has ANYTHING to do with the hotel. If the cab service was late, that's the cab service. If you didn't pay attention to WHERE the hotel you booked was located, that's on YOU. There's a thing called the internet where you can EASILY look things like this up.Apart from that, EVERY time I've stayed here, they have been SURE to let me know that it is recommended to book a shuttle AT LEAST 2 hours before your flight, this is standard procedure. YOU choose to be careless, unorganized, and lackadaisical about your trip, and the fault for these things all falls on you, not the hotel you stayed at. Get a grip on life, and learn how to make plans like a grown up, instead of expecting to be babied. You probably wanted Rebecca to cut up your breakfast for you too, hmmmm?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dddaustinmgr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. You write from lots of travel experience and we thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirbyville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great hotel in close proximity (5 minute drive) to downtown Austin and the Convention Center. It is located at the intersection of I-35 and Hwy 71, so it is very easy to travel to any part of the city and outlying areas. Very helpful and friendly hotel staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dddaustinmgr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We thank you for sharing your experience. Our staff appreciates your recognition. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient to all that Austin has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galveston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had a great time here. I got there before check in and they got me right up to my room early. Then she even called up to make sure everything was to my liking and if I needed anything. I had a great relaxing night and was ready to go take a very important national registry test the next day. I would love to stay again for pleasure next time. I will recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dddaustinmgr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your sharing your experience, great comments and your recommendation. We hope you will come back and stay with us for R&R sometime very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Because we had an early morning (6:30 a.m.) flight out of the Austin, TX airport (AUS) on Sunday, June 9th, for the sake of convenience, my husband and I opted to spend the night before the flight at an "airport hotel." We were not looking for luxury accommodations - we just wanted a decent, comfortable place to spend one night close to the airport and a shuttle to get us there on time early the next morning. Although I normally do a thorough search of reviews on hotels before booking, all I had was my iPhone, so I went straight to Expedia and found a vacancy at the Hampton Inn Austin/Airport for $113. on Expedia. Instead of booking through Expedia, I decided to call the hotel directly to confirm that they provided shuttle service. Rebecca answered my call and assured me that shuttle service to the airport was available at the hotel. When our cab arrived Saturday night to take us to the Hampton Inn Airport at the address on Governor's Row, the driver said, "That's not at the airport. It's about 15 minutes from the airport." Of course we were concerned, but because it was so late (10 p.m.) when we discovered the hotel was not in close proximity to the airport, we opted to keep the reservation and arrange an earlier shuttle for the next morning. Upon arrival at the hotel, we asked Rebecca why this hotel was being promoted as an "airport hotel" and we were told that it used to be one of the closest hotels to the airport, but now other hotels are much closer, including another Hampton Inn. Before we left the front desk, we arranged with Rebecca for an airport shuttle for 5:15 a.m., which we assumed would allow adequate time on a Sunday morning for our 15 minute ride to the airport for our 6:35 a.m. flight. The next morning we arrived at the front desk at 5:10 a.m. and waited for our shuttle. When it didn't arrive on time, we asked the person at the front desk where the driver was. That's when we learned that there was no Hampton Inn shuttle service (at least not at that time of day) and the arrangement was "airport shuttle by Yellow Cab" which they hotel pays for by voucher. The person at the front desk followed up with Yellow Cab in our behalf, and eventually cab arrived - 20 minutes late! At that point, we were concerned that we would miss our flight, but the stress intensified when we arrived at the SWA curb check-in and discovered a very, very long line of people attempting to be served by one agent. We ran inside and discovered another huge line, wrapping in on itself many times. At this point we were trying to determine what our options were and if we could still get out of AUS that same day without having to incur a huge price increase for a same day ticket purchase. When we finally got to the front of the line and were able to speak to an agent, we were told that our flight had been delayed by a few minutes, and if we checked our bags and ran, we might be able to make it. We asked if there were other flights available later in the day and were told that all flights that day were totally booked. Of course, we could remain at the airport and attempt to go stand-by. So we checked our luggage (which was too big to carry on) made it through security and ran to our gate with our carry-on luggage. Miraculously, we made it to the plane and made it home, although half of our luggage did not. That necessitated a return trip to the airport to pick up our missing luggage, which arrived two hours later. In conclusion, I would strongly recommend against staying at this hotel in order to simplify catching a flight at AUS - unless you arrange shuttle transportation at least two hours prior to your scheduled departure, or unless you have your own transportation and intend to "park and ride" at the airport. My rating for service at this hotel was "Poor" based upon the stress we experienced around transportation to the airport. The people at the front desk were polite and trying to do their job. We were never told where the system broke down - whether it was with the hotel or Yellow Cab. Other than that, the hotel was as expected - a decent, clean place to spend the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dddaustinmgr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience returning to the airport after that very short night. We are sorry you were so rushed, but glad to learn you made your flight. We sincerely appreciate that you mentioned our hotel staff being polite and helpful and our rooms clean. Our actual full name is Hampton Inn Austin-South/ Airport Area. The later part is to intended to help locate our hotel, rather than to define a specific proximity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

AC started to spit out HOT air on a 90 degree day. Was told this was "normal" and that it would start to cool the room soon. In a different room, AC could not cool room to even 70 degrees. Internet was VERY SLOW, every evening. It was hard to get basic work related things done due to slowness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dddaustinmgr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience. We completely understand how these issues affected your stay and we have taken action. An e-mail was sent earlier today to let you know how we will make this stay up to you. We want you to know your comfort is our priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

the room was good, the bed was fairly comfortable, enjoyed refrigerator in room. The pillows left a lot to be desired. On check out day, the breakfast attendant was very rude. location to all places needed to visit in Austin was very convienent

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dddaustinmgr, General Manager at Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Your feed back is very valuable to us and we thank you for taking time to share your experience. We apologize for the pillow and know how important they are to a good night and you can be assured, it is being addressed. How our guests are treated is the most important item of all and I would like to speak with you personally concerning the breakfast staff. Would you be willing to call me and let me know the details? I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South

Address: 4141 Governors Row, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Austin
#48 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You may need more than one trip to experience the vast offerings of Austin, the capital city of Texas and the "Live Music Capital of the World™." The Hampton Inn® hotel in Austin-South/Airport Area is located in the Southpark Business Park, and about five minutes from Town Lake, the University of Texas, Sixth Street, and the Austin Convention Center. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 123 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South Hotel Austin
Austin Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.