We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick overnight with our whole family” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4143 Governor's Row, Austin, TX 78744 (South Austin)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #66 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Mission, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good for a quick overnight with our whole family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our son does triathlons and when we all go to watch him we need a lot of room (bike comes into room) and an early breakfast. This hotel provided all of that. It's not fancy, but it was clean and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and congratulations to your son on completing the triatholon! Glad to hear you were able to take full advantage of the spacious suites and our free breakfast. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    61
    27
    18
    8
See reviews for
70
26
9
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great experience. I would recommend staying at this location whenever in the Austin area. The breakfast and dinner provided were always hot and well-prepared along with an excellent staff. It was convenient to have the amenities available during my staff as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for the outstanding review on Trip Advisor. It is our staff's goal to go above and beyond for every guest. We look forward to your next visit.

Happy Travels,
Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I travel quite a bit and usually stay at Holiday Inns, Homewood Suites, and others. This one was awful! AWFUL! It was like staying at a rundown motel 6. I would NEVER stay here again and will warn others to find a better place to stay. Waste of money. Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent~~all the Way!!! Suite was clean & comfortable. Mattress awesome!! Staff above average!! Excellent service and not far from center of town. Helpful advice about places to see, & breakfast was great!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Glad to hear the staff made a difference in your stay! See you next trip.

Happy Travels,
Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel on the south side of town that would accommodate 4 of us needing 3 beds. Found this one. Was pleased with the choice. Booked online with Hilton Honor points. Reserved 1 room for 2 nights. My profile is non smoking. Went to check in and they had us in a smoking room. Not going to happen. Took some time and a few different people looking and they found us a room. Room was clean although the sheets for pull out sofa were stained. Convenient location for what we had planned to do. Nice welcome home snacks during the week. Nice touch. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to hear the accommodations met your needs and also happy that the staff was able to accommodate your request. Remember to make sure that the room reserved is for non-smoking. It is often difficult to make changes for requests on busy weekends, although we do our best to monitor profile requests.

Kind Regards,
Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a nice property at a convenient location next to I35. Hotel was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is pretty basic and not the same as Embassy Suites but it still serves its purpose. Did not use the pool but the pool grounds were kept up nicely and I noticed 3-4 grills for use. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay wtih us. We look forward to having you with us again. I recommend taking advantage of the free grocery shopping service and hosting a bbq!

Happy Travels,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went to Austin for the first time during the Good Friday weekend. We got a suite with a bedroom and a pull-out bed in the living area. The stay was decent though nothing was great.

The whole room in general was dated and the bathroom tub was quite small. The curtain was even smaller and water came out while taking a shower - happened for all 4 of us and this was the first time any of us faced this issue. Had to wipe clean the floor every time lest someone slip and fall.

The sofa-bed was fine for two small kids but not super comfortable. The kitchen area was small and we didn't use it at all. The buffet breakfast was very ordinary though they had some hot items but they didn't taste good at all. Lower-end frozen foods that were warmed up before serving. They did have the sweetened cup yogurts and some fresh fruit along with juice, cereal, milk, tea, coffee and a waffle machine. Service was ordinary with no smile. No big deal though.

The location was not super convenient. We drove so it wasn't bad but it wasn't within walking distance to anything that we wanted to do. The place was relatively quiet though there are a few major freeways nearby.

We will probably look for other options if we ever go back to Austin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your review. I regret that we were not able to exceed your expectations on this trip. For future travels, the Homewood Suites by Hilton's do have two bedroom suites, which may be a larger option to consider.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South

Address: 4143 Governor's Row, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Austin
#58 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of a 2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-South/Airport is a an upscale, residential-style, all-suite hotel located in Austin, Texas, that provides corporate housing, temporary housing and luxurious accommodations for anyone traveling to Austin for business or for pleasure. We are conveniently situated at the southeast corner of IH-35 and Highway 71/Ben White Boulevard, five miles from downtown Austin and six miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. All guests can enjoy free internet WiFi, the daily complimentary Suite Start Hot Breakfast and the Welcome Home evening reception, featuring a complimentary light meal and beverages Monday through Thursday evenings (subject to state and local laws). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Austin South / Airport Hotel Austin
Hilton Austin
Homewood Austin
Homewood Suites Austin South
Austin Hilton
Austin Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.