We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4143 Governor's Row, Austin, TX 78744 (South Austin)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #66 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel on the south side of town that would accommodate 4 of us needing 3 beds. Found this one. Was pleased with the choice. Booked online with Hilton Honor points. Reserved 1 room for 2 nights. My profile is non smoking. Went to check in and they had us in a smoking room. Not going to happen. Took some time and a few different people looking and they found us a room. Room was clean although the sheets for pull out sofa were stained. Convenient location for what we had planned to do. Nice welcome home snacks during the week. Nice touch. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to hear the accommodations met your needs and also happy that the staff was able to accommodate your request. Remember to make sure that the room reserved is for non-smoking. It is often difficult to make changes for requests on busy weekends, although we do our best to monitor profile requests.

Kind Regards,
Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    59
    24
    17
    8
See reviews for
65
24
9
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a nice property at a convenient location next to I35. Hotel was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is pretty basic and not the same as Embassy Suites but it still serves its purpose. Did not use the pool but the pool grounds were kept up nicely and I noticed 3-4 grills for use. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay wtih us. We look forward to having you with us again. I recommend taking advantage of the free grocery shopping service and hosting a bbq!

Happy Travels,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went to Austin for the first time during the Good Friday weekend. We got a suite with a bedroom and a pull-out bed in the living area. The stay was decent though nothing was great.

The whole room in general was dated and the bathroom tub was quite small. The curtain was even smaller and water came out while taking a shower - happened for all 4 of us and this was the first time any of us faced this issue. Had to wipe clean the floor every time lest someone slip and fall.

The sofa-bed was fine for two small kids but not super comfortable. The kitchen area was small and we didn't use it at all. The buffet breakfast was very ordinary though they had some hot items but they didn't taste good at all. Lower-end frozen foods that were warmed up before serving. They did have the sweetened cup yogurts and some fresh fruit along with juice, cereal, milk, tea, coffee and a waffle machine. Service was ordinary with no smile. No big deal though.

The location was not super convenient. We drove so it wasn't bad but it wasn't within walking distance to anything that we wanted to do. The place was relatively quiet though there are a few major freeways nearby.

We will probably look for other options if we ever go back to Austin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your review. I regret that we were not able to exceed your expectations on this trip. For future travels, the Homewood Suites by Hilton's do have two bedroom suites, which may be a larger option to consider.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was a good place to stay for us. I had my wife and 2 year old and they had a pack and play waiting for us. It was nice to be able to put her to bed in the bedroom and watch TV out in the living room without disturbing her. I would definitely stay here again the next time we are in Austin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for reviewing Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South. We would be happy to host you for a longer visit next time. Our suites are an excellent layout for travelling families. Travel safe!

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The accommodations where right in line with Hilton standards, but that was not what impressed me. It was the staff that made the difference. Specifically, Angelique is an incredible front desk agent! I was looking for a bit of a different Austin experience, and she went out of her way to help me achieve that! Josh, and the other maintenance man where great as well.

I would like to give special kudos to Maria, our wonderful housekeeper. She was so courteous and prompt. It was fantastic!

I also ran into the General manager a few times and got to speak with her. Elizabeth Jackson is great. Her hotel is wonderfully staffed. Everyone is upbeat and ready to assist! A clean hotel is expected always, and they achieve this flawlessly. However, they have the total package. A true embodiment of honest hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Wow! Thank you very much for your review and most of all for recognizing the staff. It was a pleasure having you with us and we love getting to know our guests! See you on your next trip!

Happy Travels,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Excellent facilities, clean, and very comfortable. The best suite I've ever stayed in. Full kitchen, two full baths, china and cooking utensils. One bedroom had double beds and the other a full size king bed. Living room was great with three large screen high definition tvs. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Our two bedroom suites are popular with travelling families. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again soon...

Happy Travels,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitsburg, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Perfect for my partner and I and her Mom for a quick overnight stay in Austin on our way to Houston. Friendly, helpful staff, a nice but not fancy room, and a nice breakfast to get us on our way in the morning. Nicely done.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejackson00, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We wish you could have stayed longer, but glad to hear the accommodations were what you were looking for.

Happy Travels,

Elizabeth Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South

Address: 4143 Governor's Row, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Austin
#66 Spa Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of a 2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-South/Airport is a an upscale, residential-style, all-suite hotel located in Austin, Texas, that provides corporate housing, temporary housing and luxurious accommodations for anyone traveling to Austin for business or for pleasure. We are conveniently situated at the southeast corner of IH-35 and Highway 71/Ben White Boulevard, five miles from downtown Austin and six miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. All guests can enjoy free internet WiFi, the daily complimentary Suite Start Hot Breakfast and the Welcome Home evening reception, featuring a complimentary light meal and beverages Monday through Thursday evenings (subject to state and local laws). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Austin South / Airport Hotel Austin
Homewood Austin
Hilton Austin
Homewood Suites Austin South
Austin Hilton
Austin Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.