We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North to your Saves list
Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9121 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 186 Hotels in Austin
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Satisfactory for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at Orangewood Inn only for 2 nights, on my weekend get-away to Austin. Since I decided very late to go to Austin, this was one of the few options left, probably because of the Memorial Day extended weekend.
The price was ok ($130 for 2 nights, single room) and well... what can you expect in US at that price...
For a short stay it's ok, the room is clean and you have the necessary ammenities. A good thing is that breakfast is free, the regular American breakfast. Parking is also free. Even if it's on the highway, it's very close to the entertainment area and downtown Austin.

What I didn't like was that the hotel is kinda noisy, not only because it's on I-35, but I could also hear everything in the rooms next to me and the noise in the outside parking (I stayed on first floor). There was also a strange smell on the corridors, but that was because they were renovating. Like I said, the place was pretty clean.

They have free wi-fi, but it's veeeery slow and it drops all the time. I could not get a good connection on my tablet so if you need to work on something, be prepared, you won't be able to do much online.

Overall, it was more than enough for 2 nights, I wasn't there most of the time, the bed is comfortable, but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the lobby, as the wi-fi signal is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangewoodHotels, Public Relations Manager at Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review . We apologize for any issues you faced during your stay . We would like to inform you we have upgraded our internet infrastructure to 50 Mega Speed .Hope to see you again .
Kind Regards,
Orangewood Hotels Austin TX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    13
    10
    21
See reviews for
13
16
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Outside looks like an hourly motel, and the main halls are under construction, but the room is so Art Deco that you forgot that the outside looks like crap. Also the hot breakfast and waffles helped. Very quite and good property security guard. Just 5 min from UT and food. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangewoodHotels, Public Relations Manager at Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thanks for your review . We are glad you had good experience while stay at our hotel . We hope to see you again .
Kind Regards,
Orangewood Hotels Austin Tx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was a Ramada Limited and had stayed here before. Same as before omfortable beds as well as clean and organized. In a great location and is recommended for all families. What I can say is the service of this new company Orangewood inn has a much better customer service and are very friendly. Best service in town hand down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangewoodHotels, Public Relations Manager at Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thanks for your review . We are glad you had good experience while stay at our hotel . We hope to see you again .
Kind Regards,
Orangewood Hotels Austin Tx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

There was so much dust and there were black stains on the floor and the halls were extra musty. Scary place to stay. the only good thing is they were glad to not charge us for the rest of the stay since I had booked 3 nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangewoodHotels, Public Relations Manager at Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review expressing the problems you encountered during your stay at the Hotel.
At Orangewood Inn & Suites,we take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness. Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards. We have addressed these issues and have completed major renovation including hallways. Thank you for providing us with the feedback needed to serve you better. My hope is that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you.
Kind Regards,
Orangewood Hotels Austin TX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We've just stayed at the orangewood inn (same logo, different place) in austin. Dont confuse it with the reviews on here (otherwise you'll be expecting a dishwasher and patio!) the inn option was clean although generally smelt of smoke in the corridors.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southeast Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel has changed from Ramada Limited Austin North to Orangewood Inn and Suites, Austin North.

We've stayed here several times before and this used to be a quality hotel, although an older one. The people operating it provided a quality stay at reasonable prices with excellent customer service. Since the change they've really gone downhill. They have spent a lot of money painting and replacing floor coverings in the Public Areas and are cutting back literally everywhere else.

The breakfast was minimal, the breakfast room is small and cramped for this size of hotel and there is unused space available for a remodel.

They’ve obviously studied long and hard on how to cut back but they had better hire someone to improve the customer service and satisfaction or they will be facing some more big changes in the future!

Room Tip: Look Elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North

Address: 9121 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 186 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North 2*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Austin North Hotel Austin
Ramada Austin
Austin Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.