We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Astin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Habitat Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Habitat Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Habitat Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 East Highland Mall Blvd., Austin, TX 78752   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 182 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Oasis in Astin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Habitat Suites is an oasis of hospitality, convenience and charm in Austin, Texas. This is a former apartment building now a comfortable suite hotel with wonderful (as well as edible) landscaping. Don't let the now-empty mall across the way deter you from this location. Our suite (king-bed) consisted of living area, kitchenette, separate bedroom/bath and was very clean. The bed was just a bit hard but our room was very quiet. The breakfast buffet was very complete and tasty. The complimentary happy hour was a great alternative to supper if you prefer to have your main meal earlier in the day. This hotel has all the amenities of the larger chain suite-type hotels without the cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    86
    29
    21
    12
See reviews for
68
89
10
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Made a two day weekend trip to Austin, Texas. The location was excellent: easy to get to from the interstate, a short walk from the Metro Line: easy way to get to downtown and Sixth Street. The landscaping is beautiful. The rooms were very clean. The front desk was staffed by friendly and helpful employees.The Happy Hour and complimentary breakfast were excellent. The pool area is lush with landscaping, including a lime tree. I would stay here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azle tx
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My daughter has attended UT for 4 years and we have stayed in about 12 different hotels in Austin. Yes this place is a little hard to find even though it is 2 blocks off 35.. yes the kitchenettes are dated, yes the beds are a little hard....but the negatives stop there. The place is like a jungle oasis. There are lime trees, fig trees, blackberry bushes, a tree shaded pool/patio area and so many flowering plants. When we checked in I misread the breakfast times and showed up at 9:10 and breakfast was gone (sniff)..but Maudie and her sons took care of my husband and I, by bringing the eggs, sausage and biscuits back out so we didn't have to go out for breakfast- now that is IMPRESSIVE service! The next morning we made it to breakfast on time and had our choice of organic fruits and organic yogurt, vegetarian sausage, turkey sausage, organic eggs, filtered water and lots of other choices. There is also an afternoon happy hour with hummus, dolmas, crackers and cheese, wine and beer. The place adhered to quiet, non smoking non pets- which is great for allergy sufferers. There were even real ivy plants in the room. We will overlook the hard beds and stay there again, because it truly is an oasis in the big city!

Room Tip: It is a 3 story complex with exterior room entrances so if you don't want to climb the stairs wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Driving up is a little confusing. You go off the high behind an abandoned mall to find this weird little oasis. Checking in was great. The gentleman was well dressed, super friendly and helpful. He informed us of our complimentary breakfast, which was all locally sourced and delicious. They also have complimentary happy hour but we weren't able to attend. It's only like 10 mins from downtown so not too bad. Every room was a suite and we were able to chose a downstairs room, which was quite clean and spacious. It's all very ecofriendly and environmentally conscious, which was appreciated. Helpful staff, comfy rooms and breakfast not to be missed. Not to mention the rate was super inexpensive. Great find and good people.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Habitat Suites was perfect - the staff was extremely helpful. When we arrived, the lock on our door malfunctioned, so we were immediately given an upgraded room which included two bedrooms and two baths. The full kitchen was stocked with everything you could need. Instead of a parking lot outside my window, I woke up to waving palm branches. The pool was surrounded by a beautiful variety of trees and plants. Breakfast was generous, wonderful, and cheerfully served with many ingredients local and organic. We liked it so much we decided to stay a third day (hitting on the weekend) and they were kind enough to give us our same upgraded room at the same price so we wouldn't have to move. Also nice that it was only 10 minutes from downtown attractions and activities.

Green Features: This is specifically advertised as a green hotel, locally owned, and not a chain. Breakfast featured some organic and locally sourced foods. The plants and trees were impressive and created a wonderful atmosphere.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place was a little dated but was overall very satisfactory. It's away from the popular touristy areas but they are easily accessible. The complimentary buffet breakfast and happy hour were very good and the service was outstanding, there seemed to always be available seating for both. The eco friendly atmosphere was truly impressive. The hotel grounds contains plants you were allowed to pick and consume and has some really nice flowering plants for great visual appeal.

Room Tip: Has various room types, all with full kitchens which included a dishwasher
See more room tips
Green Features: They go to great lengths to be environmentally friendly which is refreshing, eco soaps and toilet paper.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here while in town for a wedding. Every member of the staff I encountered was awesome (with a special hat tip to Iris, Maudie, and Robert Jr.) The room, while perhaps a BIT dated in spots, was clean. The pool was great for the kids.

The climate control was outstanding. The kitchen, while we did not use it, seemed great. A refrigerator was provided, and bathroom space was ample. They replaced everything used on a daily basis. There are literally trees on the grounds from which you are permitted to take fruit, and maps provided so you know you're not breaking any rules.

Further, breakfast was wonderful, and the happy hour a real gem - 3 drinks per guest, on the house, and great appetizers. Parking is ample, they give you free use of a PC to print documents like boarding passes, etc.

Really just perfect from start to finish - I would definitely stay there again.

Green Features: Habitat makes an effort to not be wasteful without being preachy or impractical. I've been to places where I felt like the practices were plain unsanitary. That is not the case here - they "walk the walk."
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Habitat Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Suites Hotel

Address: 500 East Highland Mall Blvd., Austin, TX 78752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#5 Green Hotel in Austin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#54 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitat Suites Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Suites is a relaxed green oasis in North Central Austin. We are a locally-owned independent hotel with a focus on spacious suites, organic edible gardens and an unrelenting dedication to guest comfort and green energy practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Habitat Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habitat Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.