We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreat Concept and Very Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Habitat Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Habitat Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Habitat Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 East Highland Mall Blvd., Austin, TX 78752   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dreat Concept and Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you are looking for big, fancy, upscale this is not for you. But if you are looking for sustainable, reasonable price, comfortable, friendly and a great breakfast then you should check it out! We had a great two night stay here and it served as a great base for our activities. Very clean, although dated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    128
    46
    30
    19
See reviews for
115
130
13
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was a little worried, since I did not know anything about this property, but it was a pleasant surprise. Not the best location, but convenient and hotel grounds are very nice! Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, very clean and well maintained. Full kitchen and a nice little living room with fireplace. Staff was very nice and engaging. Only downside were dated TV, but that was not important to me. Perhaps the best, included breakfast buffet I have seen an quite awhile, good variety, food was hot, and presented nicely. Would recommend this property to anyone traveling to Austin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I used to live in Austin and I've been traveling to and from there for years. This is the best place I've stayed in this price range. I am very big on staying someplace clean while this hotel was dated, it was spotless. There's a full kitchen, living area, plates, cups, dishwasher, etc.
The bed is firm and comfortable and they even have quiet hours so you can actually get some sleep. I never sleep when I travel and I actually slept like a rock both nights we stayed here.

They're very big on sustainability so there are solar panels on the buildings, barrels collecting rain water, and many other things to help save the planet. The breakfast was also great- it was a full breakfast with eggs, fruit, pancakes, sausage, veggie sausage, oatmeal, bagels, juices, yogurt which is something you don't find in this price range in Austin.

All the staff I encountered were super friendly and helpful. It didn't feel like I was staying at a hotel.

Yeah, it's dated, but you're not buying the place. If you want to stay someplace that cares about the environment, and cares about their guests this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

we have been coming here for 15 years, as it is near a relative's house. We really like the emphasis on ecology and sustainability. Office staff are competent and friendly. The suite kitchen is well equipped. The breakfast is fine, with organic yogurt, oatmeal, as well as eggs and the like. the Happy Hour is very welcome, although the food choices are not as extensive as it once was. Very relaxing to have a beer and snacks at the end of the day.

I do agree that the furniture is not comfortable, although the beds were fine and had nice warm covers and plenty of pillows. It all seemed clean. The sofa and TV are tiny. It was a challenge to find outlets to plug in all our electronic equipment for charging and use. The buildings are aging, but the price is quite good, especially on football weekends, when all hotels are charging a premium.

they do need to have rooms with 2 beds, as all rooms have king beds only, which meant the whole family couldn't stay here.

Room Tip: the two bedroom suites are all up stairs, so not suitable for anyone with trouble doing steps, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked this hotel sight unseen through a Hotwire Hot Deal so didn't even know what hotel it was until after we had paid. Let me tell you, we got a STEAL! The suites were spacious, well equipped, and really appealed to the 'green' in me. Sustainable, edible landscape made for fun harvesting in the mornings and live plants in each room, along with delicious fair trade coffee and charitable toiletries, really add to the experience. The breakfast each morning was a nice change from hotel norm and offered a variety of new and local foods to try. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was exactly as it should be. The staff was very helpful and we didn't have one issue or complaint. We enjoyed coming "home" to our little nook in the jungle each night we were there. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The linens as well as the furniture are uncomfortable and gross. the wallpaper is mismatched and peeling. It has been reattached by caulking only to try and hide the gross wall behind it. It looks smells and feels like the while room was decorated and stocked from a second hand store. The rooms are big but then again it's Texas, everything is bigger down here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
136 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a unique, if not odd, hotel. It appears to be a former apartment complex. It is clean, but mostly out of date. It is in a slightly difficult to find location and not a very friendly location to anything but a mall that is slowly going out of business. The hotel itself is fine, although it feels a bit like you are staying with your grandmother or weird aunt. The televisions, refrigerator, and fixtures all seem to be from the 80s. The hotel describes itself as "green", but with old appliances sucking down electricity, that theme is hardly visible. When I arrived the first night, the front desk and office were completely shut down: doors locked, lights out. I had to call from a courtesy phone to have someone come down to check me in. I felt weird about that, so I would recommend checking in during daylight hours. The rooms are very inexpensive when available. The breakfast is the shining star here and is more of a restaurant breakfast included with the stay. There likely isn't any other free breakfast that would compare. But whether or not that is worth staying in a dated room in an out of the way location is up to you.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#83 of 191 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum
Crowne Plaza Austin
#31 of 191 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitat Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat Suites Hotel

Address: 500 East Highland Mall Blvd., Austin, TX 78752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#26 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#36 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitat Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Habitat Suites is a relaxed green oasis in North Central Austin. We are a locally-owned independent hotel with a focus on spacious suites, organic edible gardens and an unrelenting dedication to guest comfort and green energy practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Habitat Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habitat Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.