We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel, poor response to complaints” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest at Mopac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest at Mopac to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest at Mopac
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4424 South Mopac Expwy, Austin, TX 78735   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel, poor response to complaints”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We had a group of rooms and almost all our rooms were missing soap and shampoo. Their didn't seem to be anyone in charge willing to respond to the complaint and when we called the next day to speak to the manager, there was no one on duty! It seems they are more interested in selling rooms than servicing existing customers.

The complaint email we sent after the fact also got a reply that seemed more concerned about a poor review than addressing the problem.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    52
    37
    14
    13
See reviews for
75
21
16
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hugo, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Stayed here after a horrible experience at another hotel and the staff were great! They let us see a room before booking it...necessary after the last hotel! The gentleman who checked us in was very helpful in making sure we were happy, told us where to find restaurants nearby, suggested things to do and was just nice...hard to find these days! Beds were comfortable, didn't wake up early enough to try the breakfast, pool area is beautiful (private and clean) and the overall experience was great!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Austin! I have already booked my next stay for March 2011.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past, but couldn't believe how it has declined. It is a very good location, but what has happened to the management of this hotel? The staff wasn't friendly - front desk or otherwise. Matter of fact, "sour" would describe it better. The room was okay but somehow it didn't feel clean. Perhaps because everything else around the hotel seemed dirty and unkept. When we got up on Sunday morning, every trash can on the property was full and overflowing and when we left at 10:30am, it was still in the same condition. The tables in the courtyard were dirty and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in months. Trash was everywhere. If you don't like the smell of smoke, don't stay on the first floor and don't walk out into the courtyard. It reeked of smoke.

As for the breakfast, don't bother. It was the worst that I have every seen at any hotel. Nothing looked fresh and the selection was very limited. The only two pluses were the waffles and pretty good coffee. There was no place to be seated inside and we tried outside, but encountered the dirty tables, no chairs, old beer bottles and trash.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

We were in town for my brother-in-law's funeral. We had made reservations at Extended Stay. After one night at Extended Stay, we had to get out of there and find other accommodations. We came upon La Quinta and the front desk couldn't have been more accommodating and nice. We were given two rooms across the hall from each other, and they let us have them at 9:30 a.m. (normal check-in is 3 p.m.) They also gave us a free breakfast that day, although technically we weren't owed the free breakfast until the following day. Boy, we needed it as we were late getting to my sister's home as it was.

The facility was immaculate, and quite luxurious compared to Extended Stay. Our rooms on the 4th floor were very clean and nicely decorated. The beds were comfortable, and they provided feather pillows instead of those hard foam pillows. The room was a nice size and quiet. Seems to be mostly business persons that stay here.

There was a hand-written sign at the front lobby, explaining to customers how they are doing everything in their power to make sure your stay is pleasant. It seems bad reviews of their hotel has gotten management to do more for customer satisfaction.

If you are ever in this part of Austin, I highly recommend you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

The hotel is in a great location, handy to downtown via the MoPac (10 minutes) and the airport via Ben White Blvd (15 minutes). The staff were friendly and check-in was a snap. As far as La Quinta Inns are concerned, the cleanliness of public areas was average. The continental breakfast was below average, with not much in the way of offerings. The rooms were nice, but I was expecting queen sized beds and ended up with double beds, which are definitely smaller. This place felt overpriced at $125 per night, although the Austin City Limits Festival was probably driving up the prices.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

I have never bothered writing a review before but this information i would have appreciated having before I booked at this hotel.
*staff reserved me for 2 nts instead of 3 as discussed. I returned at night from conference and when my key didn't work was told all my possessions could be in lost and found. Front desk staff appeared bothered by asking if my key had been reset.
*poor water pressure
*wifi was not working in room and front desk didnt have a clue
*ppv movies in room worked 50% of time
*mild/moldew in shower on tile and on shower curtain
*nightstands and surfaces had not been wiped clean. Nightstands had residue from previous glasses, etc.
*elevator really slow

I stayed 3 nts on business and would not stay there again. I doubt I will trust tripadvisor reviews again. I had depended on reviews when booking this stay. Seriously my experience was so divergent from the previous reviews (5 stars!!) those people could not have possibly stayed in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelock, TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

We stayed at this property for the weekend while we were in town for a wedding. This was an above-average La Quinta. The rooms were clean, the staff was helpful, and most of all, the location was very convenient for everything we were doing that weekend. We like that this hotel is pet-
friendly, as we travel often with our little dogs. Close to the drag and downtown, we would stay here again if we needed a centrally located, inexpensive room.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest at Mopac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest at Mopac

Address: 4424 South Mopac Expwy, Austin, TX 78735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest at Mopac 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest at Mopac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Austin Southwest At Mopac
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest At Mopac Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest at Mopac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.