We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way to expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Capitol to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Capitol
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 E 11th Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Claude, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Way to expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Not nearly as clean as it should have been for the price which was excessive. Rooms were gloomy and dank smelling. The valet only parking just adds to the already high price. I waited 20 minutes on one night after returning to the motel after a night sight seeing just to get the valets to t ake my car keys because they were that backed up.All inall a very disappointing experience. Breakfast however was really good.

Room Tip: It is in a great location for business or sight seeing at the capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    83
    67
    54
    40
See reviews for
50
49
39
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We chose this hotel for its close proximity to UT Austin and the Capitol. We stayed 2 nights, and the $160 per night price we paid over UT's graduation weekend was the "best price" we could find for the area, booked many months prior. At that price we weren't expecting much more than the basics, but we were disappointed even in that. Our nonsmoking room smelled of cigarette smoke. The rooms we booked (2 double beds) felt old and dingy and in no way resembled the bright rooms shown in photos on the hotel website. We could see daylight through the top and bottom of the door when the door was closed. It was not possible in our room to keep the air conditioner fan on constantly using the high, low, or auto fan settings. When the fan clicked off, you heard everything going on outside of the room, including all the activity at the valet station and in adjoining rooms. As a result, we didn't get good sleep either night of our stay. We returned to the room at 4 pm during our first and only full day in the room and had to call the front desk to request housekeeping to clean our room and replace some towels. My in-laws, who were staying a few doors down from us, had to do the same. We did not use the valet parking, as one of the attendants in the valet area appeared stoned when we asked for directions. Maybe he was, maybe he wasn't, but we decided to follow our gut after taking in the general feel of this hotel.
On the pro side: The front desk staff seemed friendly. The beds were comfortable enough, and the shower strength was good. The breakfast foods and coffee served in the morning were just okay.
Anywhere else, I would expect to pay no more than $75 dollars per night or so for this quality of hotel. From my first step onto the property, I regretted my decision to stay here, and I'd wished I'd spent more to stay in a more pleasant place.

Room Tip: Choose a higher quality hotel in downtown Austin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The obviously doctored "pro" photos of this property property would lead you to believe it a colorful, bright place, with a bit of a southwestern flair. It is old, dark, cramped and gloomy. The room with 2 double beds is very small, with old carpeting barely above (or not) indoor-outdoor grade. Wifi did not work at all. Pillows are of the $2, lumpy, hard fiberfill variety. Parking is valet only at $13 per night. One night, after taxes and valet was nearly $200. The only advantage this hotel offers is proximity to the Capitol complex (in case you have business with the State) and downtown. Nothing else recommends it. Stay here ONLY if you have no other choice.

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding, although the location is fantastic and close to everything, the hotel is seriously outdated. Looking back on it, we wished we would have payed a little more to stay somewhere nicer. Some of my complaints were how noisy the hotel itself was, you could literally hear everything outside and the air conditioner unit didn't allow you to keep it on constantly, which was unpleasant, because it was literally the only thing that shut out all the noise from outside. The room itself was very dated and we had to call twice for anyone to come and clean our room and replenish the towels. I've stayed at La Quintas before and this is honestly the first time I've ever felt the need to complain about one of their locations. I feel like they have such a great location and they could do so much more with the hotel, but this is crap and the prices for what you get are crap. I don't think I will ever bother staying at another La Quinta again.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and stay somewhere else, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

- My AC was extremely loud. I called about it and they fixed it pretty quickly. so kudos for that.
-However, this left a big dirty mess on my bed. I called about it and they said there was nothing they could do because housekeeping was gone. Since they fixed my AC problem and the maintenance guy was diligent and nice, I was willing to forgive this.
-I was there on business, and needed to print out two pages. This was impossible. No business desk. Guy at front desk was polite, but completely unyielding about printing a couple pages out for me just as a favor, even after I went driving around Austin looking for a place to print but everything was closed. Incidentally, the nice people at the Sheraton next door did this favor for me even though I was not a guest there.
-Somewhere around 6 a.m., hotel staff knocked incessantly on the door, waking up my baby, and not even saying they were staff. When I asked who it was, they said they were looking for the guy with the plumbing problem. REALLY?! So you go around knocking on random doors to find this person?!
-Very narrow outdoor hallways make it difficult to get around if you have a lot of things. On two occasions housekeeping carts were blocking the hallways (one time I had a luggage cart and the second time, a stroller) and on both occasions I eventually had to go into the room they were cleaning to find housekeeper and get her to move it.
-As a business trip I had a third party paying for my stay. This party called in payment and faxed verification form. When I went to check out at the front desk, there was apparently no record of this and it all had to be done over again. Ugh!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Capitol

Address: 300 E 11th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol is located in the heart of downtown Austin near the Texas State Capitol Complex and the University of Texas Campus. With La Quinta as your home base, you have easy access to all popular area attractions: Sixth Street Dining and Entertainment...see more District, West End Shops and restaurants, a local brewery, the Convention Center, and Texas State History Museum. Tour the area in a "Duck", a six-wheel drive military power vehicle. View a massive population of bats at the "Bat Bridge". Ride the Austin Steam Train. Visit LBJ Wildflower Center, Austin Children's Museum, Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, LBJ Library, or cheer on your favorite University of Texas sports team. You can do it all from here! Start each day at the La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol with a Free Bright Side Breakfast� arranged by our friendly staff. Enjoy free wireless high-speed Internet access in the lobby. We have a 24-hour fitness center to get you going and a refreshing swimming pool to cool you down. Capitol Metro Buses stop across from our driveway. The hotel is easily accessible, just 3 blocks west of I-35, and within walking distance of all major area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, LaQuinta, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.