We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service & hot water smelled like sewage” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum to your Saves list
Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3713 Tudor Boulevard, Austin, TX 78759 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #72 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Poor service & hot water smelled like sewage”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Nobody was operating the front desk when we came in at 7pm, so we waited around about 10 minutes for someone to check us in. Then we were assigned a room on the first floor near the elevator, when we had originally requested a room on the upper floor away from the elevator (we were told that no other rooms were available). As expected, the thumping noise from above (due to the thin uninsulated floors) was very annoying. The A/C was noisy as well. Requested a 2pm late checkout so we could take a shower after the Austin Marathon, but our request was denied. The hot water had a sulfur smell like raw sewage, making for less-than-enjoyable showers anyway.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    38
    14
    10
    4
See reviews for
32
13
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

I had a chance to spend three nights at this hotel in August. It is a beautiful property that is well maintained and very clean. The huge atrium with the glass elevators is a very warm and welcoming place with a nice little deli right inside. The rooms are outstanding. I had a "Conference Room Suite" which was a very large room about the size of 2.5 rooms with a large conference table, bar area, sitting areas and a Murphy bed, which was surprisingly comfortable.

The bathroom was spotless and the linens and towels we like new. These are the things that I notice as you have a little more intimate contact with these items.

I also took advantage of the virtual concierge which sent me an email prior to my arrival asking me if I wanted anything special in the room (i opted for the portable exercise system.)

The pool, jacuzzi and sauna area was wonderfully done and very clean, as was the well equipped fitness room.

All in all, this was a great stay. The ONLY thing I didn't care for was the large number of crickets in and around the hotel. This was not the fault of the hotel...they were everywhere because of the lack of rain. However, they did a really good job of keeping them out.

  • Liked — Great location near great restaurants within walking distance.
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

There were a lot of things wrong with this hotel - starting with the bedbugs (I started scratching the very frist night) along with the noise from people on the floor above just walking! Food offering is the usual somewhat passable fare - except for what is offered at night; truly awful. For the price - I could not recommend this place. There are many better alternatives where you could probably get better service for the expense.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

We stayed here with our two young kids and it suited us well. Our reservation was for a studio and they moved us to a one-bedroom once we asked. That was immensly helpful with young kids who go to sleep early!

We were on the second floor and could hear people walking above us at times. The bed was a queen-size and not the most comfortable. Parking is free as is daily newspapers and a selection of magazines in the lobby. The hotel offered a really nice breakfast (the waffle iron makes Texas-shaped waffles!) with hot options and plenty of cold ones (yogurt, cereal, etc.) We were quite pleased that they also offered an evening meal. Food was average but it really adds to the value. They served spaghetti and meatballs one night and hamburgers and hot dogs the next along with side dishes, cold soft drinks and beer plus wine.

We used the laundry facilities as well (75 cents per machine) which is great with kids or those staying several nights. We went to the hot tub with the kids and the outdoor pool is not heated. The manager came out and said we could go to the Marriott Courtyard next door and use their indoor pool. Nice to know. They also let us have a late check-out, which was very helpful.

Overall, this is a great option for those wanting a more apartment-like setting close to shopping options but not feeling like you're sleeping on top of a freeway. The helpful staff also sets it apart.

  • Liked — The two meal options in the morning and evening
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

Posted originally on Renaissance Hotel site--my mistake

but there are 2 Residence Inns in this same section of Austin--
my review is for the one on Tudor Blvd....

rented 2 bd 2 bath suite because we were traveling with female friend who did not want separate hotel room.
The Residence Inn was great for our purposes...although some people might consider it to be pricey for the cost.--- Upscale business/personal travel--not lux like Four Seasons -- but very nice
it was very clean -- carpet/bathrooms/kitchen area
got the upper floor which is on my HiltonHonors info--faced the side of bldg--private and no close bldgs looking into rooms--not noisy although this one on Tudor is right off a freeway and busy city street and just across from a big shopping center...

Had a seating area w/a gas fireplace which was a nice touch and helped warm that part of the room. Recliner type chair with a sleeper sofa(double bed size) so you could have slept even more than 4 people there...fairly good light from window
Desk has lamp and lamp had plug in for computer cord...there was supposed to be internet access but we did not use it...tv had cable channels but remote was little confusing to use and we did not find the channel chart until the second day actually...Kitchen was at the front with full size refrig, microwave, coffemaker with the usualy scanty supply of sugar/sweetners...there were paper towels and dish cloths to use--and a dishwasher w/soap...The refrigerator was cold and
there was ice in the ice maker basket which sometimes does not happen because the house maids raise the arm and turn it off...

We went by Whole Foods in the shopping center across from the hotel and bought some sandwich makings for supper cause my DH had driven down from DFW area that morning and we had been driving around Lake Travis looking at the rental house and a couple of retaurants that afternoon...he was tired...so it was nice to have the kitchen to fix the sandwiches--the hotel has a dinner offering during the week maybe but we were there on weekend

Bedrooms had ceiling fans which is nice although we did not use them...linens were ok--kind of harsh..There was a small strip of comforter along the foot of each bed (since I think people are complaining about not getting clean comforters and they are so expensive to dry clean)- there was one extra blanket in the room our friend used (which might have been for the sofa bed)--which means you have to turn the heat up if you get cold in middle of night....I did not like that---I like to feel weight from comforter or spread...the walls of room are not that soundproof--and we could hear the few people that walked past our room fairly clearly so it was nice that there was not that much traffic on weekend and that we were away from the elevatior somewhat...

Sink was outside the bathroom proper--our room choice had little counter space but the one our friend used had long counter top with plenty of room for setting out dopp kits and makeup...plenty of towels but they were not that soft...about 5 pillows per king bed--but they were pretty squishy
and soft for me...the mattress unfortunately was not the same...it had no pillow top---more than firm..

.the second night my husband woke up about 3 am and could not take it any more--he went to lie down on the couch in living area...our friend was not bothered as much as we were however...but the mattresses felt cheap--hard but no real support--something that is a real negative to me...

Breakfast itself was ok--coffe was good I thought --some boxed cereal,
granola, oatmeal--had scrambled eggs both days (were kind of watery at the bottom of the pan so I scooped mine from the top) and pan sausage Friday.
waffles both days you could make youself (and I added pecans to mine) and Satureday there was French toast..
toaster and bagels or English muffins--lots of carbs like most of these serve-yourself breakfasts...
drink machine for OJ and apple juice--styrofoam cups for to-go as well as china plates and cups instead of paper goods like some places have...

there was a woman replenishing the food and clearing the room ..she hurried to get the waffle mix set out when she saw I wanted to make one on Saturday...We ate early both days--before 8 AM--Friday was more busy than Saturday needless to say

Our stay was not inexpensive but to get something comprable in that area we would have paid probably as much or more for two rooms...The other hotels that have 2-bedroom suites share a bathroom...there was not that much difference between the regular rooms at the Residence Inn and the double/double suite----having the second bath just ensures everyone's privacy when it is needed and helps speed up getting ready in the morning as well...

If I needed the same type of arrangement again would definitely book this Residence Inn---and will add it to the list of area hotels on the wedding info sheet sent to guests...this is good place for family with older kids since there are never enough baths

  • Liked — having second bathroom--was reason we chose it--cleanliness of bath-fireplace
  • Disliked — hard mattress--walls not that soundproof
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

This is not a child-friendly hotel but it seems to be a very "animal" friendly hotel. Our first few hours, my children (ages 2 yrs and 9mos) ended up with black feet and knees from crawling on the floor. Yuck! So we were moved to a new room with cleaner carpet.

The TV won't stay on a channel and keeps switching to menu. They tried to fix it, but it still doesnt work.

There were no sheets for the pull-out. The sofa smells like dog breath. There are dogs everywhere in this place!! It's more like a kennel than a hotel! And for the price at $190 (including the tax) - it's insane how crappy this place is!

The stove didn't work so someone had to come fix it. The first time we reported it, the maintenance man, did not believe me and didn't do anything other than adjust the burners. The second time, he realized I was right and had to replace the entire stove-top because the large burner was not getting hot! Would have been nice if he would have checked it out completely the first time through.

The pool is tiny and unheated so even in September in Texas, it was too cold to swim.

The maid service keeps forgetting to leave linens and coffee... very simple things to remember.

The front desk however have been exceptional!! They are the only good thing about this dirty, kennell-esque, over-priced hotel.

And kid-friendly like one reviewer stated? Not at all. They don't have cribs like they advertise, they have PLAYPENS. Which are uncomfortable for babies in an extended sleeping situation.

Also, the reviewer who stated they had a 2-bedroom suite must have been reviewing the wrong hotel because this one only HAS 1 bedrooms - call them and ask. I would have switched us to a 2 bedroom in a heartbeat if we could have avoided having my 2 yr old sleeping on the stinky pull out sofa.

And as far as suites in the area... this is the only one that has had any availability. Now I know why. Even with Candlewood and Staybridge being more expensive, they are booked solid which is why we have NO CHOICE but to tough out our stay here in this crappy, overpriced, stinky, constantly something wrong hotel.

I am definitely not happy, and yet... I'm actually a very easy going person. I definitely give this a "terrible"rating. As I sit here, smelling the dog stink from this room.

  • Liked — The front desk staff have tried their best, it's not their fault this place is dirty.
  • Disliked — The smell
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid this place unless you have animals and then by all means, feel at home because it's nothing more than a kennell that accepts people.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

The Residence Inn at 3713 Tudor in Austin, TX is not only a great place to stay but the surrounding area is hillly, tree lined and just filled with upscale shops and restaurants. The staff, from the front desk folks to the housekeeping staff, is as friendly and helpful as you could possibly want them to be. Our room was immaculate and the bedding and mattress appeared to be very new as was the kitchen faux wood floor. We had a one-bedroom suite with full kitchen on the top floor. The carpeting felt clean and/or new also. Even though we were on the third floor the water pressure in the shower was excellent. Although there were many families with young children staying the weekend we were there our bedroom seemed to be insulated from the noisy chatter. We found a marvelous restaurant to have dinner at on Saturday night because the hotel had an extensive book of menus for local dining venues in their entry way.

The only drawback I feel about this hotel is that they only have High Speed Wireless internet downstairs in the breakfast/manager's reception room. So many really cheap hotels off this service in all their rooms that I really have to wonder why a nice place like this doesn't provide the service throughout. Hmmmmm. Otherwise, this a a good place to stay and rates are reasonable for the nice suite a guest has to stay in while visiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum

Address: 3713 Tudor Boulevard, Austin, TX 78759
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Austin
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated! The Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum features an ideal location just off the Mopac Expressway and redesigned, apartment-style suites that are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms. This great location offers guests easy access to Austin's top destinations including 6th Street, Lake Travis, and the Domain. The pet-friendly suites are highlighted by separate living area and sleeping areas, a fully-equipped kitchen, and modern amenities including HD TVs and free WiFI. Start your day off in the brand new lobby with a free breakfast buffet offering a selection of healthy yogurts, scrambled eggs, and freshly made Belgian waffles, and unwind in the evenings with complimentary drinks and appetizers at the weekday social hour. Get in a workout in the 24-hour fitness center, maintain your active lifestyle with a game of basketball or tennis on the outdoor SportCourt, and soak in the sun in the afternoons with a relaxing swim in the outdoor pool. With a prime location and renovated amenities, the Residence Austin Northwest/Arboretum is among the best Arboretum hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.