We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Area! Friendly Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3713 Tudor Boulevard, Austin, TX 78759 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #78 of 182 hotels in Austin
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Area! Friendly Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff is friendly and accomodating. They are eager to know you and assist in anyway possible. The rooms are average, not as upgraded as I had expected but doable. The breakfast and managers reception could use a little TLC. Breakfast is the same every morning and the managers reception could use a salad bar. Otherwise, the area is great not far from anything. I have decided to stay for a while.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIAustinArboretum, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear GilysGirl,

Thank you kindly for the review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share with other customers about your experience! We are very glad that you recognized that our staff is friendly and accommodating as that is what we strive to ensure that every guest receives this service! We hope to welcome you back to Austin with in the near future!

Best,
David Bohac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
8
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Comfortable hotel, full kitchen, separate living area from bedroom. I found it convenient to all major roads that can get you anywhere in the Austin area. Includes breakfast and Internet. Pretty good deal. Only complaint is the shampoo and conditioner bottles look the same, and apparently confuses the service staff. I hate getting in the shower only to find out you have 2 conditioners and no shampoo. So check it when you get to the room

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIAustinArboretum, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear RickBeaulieu,

Thank you so much for the review!!! We certainly appreciate the feedback and today we used your compliant about the shampoo and conditioner as a training piece for our housekeeping staff. You did mention that we include breakfast, which is a full hot complimentary breakfast buffet, perfect for families that want to enjoy their time together and for travelers on the go, and we also have complimentary wireless internet, both of which are included in the rate. In addition to those amenities, we offer complimentary full dinner and beer/wine/soft drinks Monday through Thursday, which is a huge hit for our travelers that have families or for those that get back to the hotel and are so tired to grab a bite to eat, they can just come down to our gatehouse! We thank you again and wish you a wonderful day!!

Warm Regards,
David Bohac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Recently stayed here during a business trip. The staff was very nice. They make you feel at home and welcome everytime they see you. I had a small problem that was resolved immediately and some yummy chocolate chip cookies as a bonus once the issue was resolved. I mentioned it was my birthday during my stay and to my surprise I got a card signed by the staff. That was very thoughtful and really helped to make my birthday a memorable one even being on the road. The beds were very comfortable and the room more than met my needs. The location is great and you have access to 2 major highways (183 and MoPac) and the 35 is pretty close as well. Lots of Restaurants around as well. They do need to add more laundry facilities but most long term stay places are like that. I did not get a chance to use the gym or pool but they look adequate and you can also use the Courtyard pool which is literally right next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIAustinArboretum, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Stephen W,

Wow! What a great review on our hotel! We sincerely appreciate you not only taking the time out of your busy day to review our hotel, but also to let other customers know about your stay. We are so glad to hear that you thought our staff was nice and you thought we made you feel at home and welcome as that is what we strive for with each and every guest!! We look to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and if I can be of assistance in anyway, please consider me at your service.

Best,
David Bohac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

One among the best hotels in terms of quality and service.., price is bit more and changing but cool to stay., you have malls and gateway theatre near by.. not more away from down town / 6th street.., please to chill

Room Tip: Please try to book well in advance or negotiate the cost per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIAustinArboretum, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear PradeepAngadi,

Thank you so much for your review!! We are so glad that you think our hotel is one of the best in terms of quality and service as that is what we strive for!! We are located with in walking distance to a ton of shops, restaurants, a movie theater and of course a couple of grocery stores! We are also just about 10-15 minutes from downtown Austin and a lot of our guests just love how quick and easy their drive is! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and if we can ever assist with accommodations, please consider us at your service.

Best,
David Bohac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed one night for a business trip and found this to be a good option. Complimentary happy hour was just okay, but breakfast was much better. Rooms are clean and spacious and it's nice to have the kitchen and separate sitting area. Would definitely stay here again. Only drawback is that it's not easy to find. Call and get directions as mapquet and GPS don't work well for this location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIAustinArboretum, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Marcy54,

Thank you so much for your review and for taking the time out of your day to let other guests know about your experience with us at the Residence Inn Austin NW/Arboretum!! As you might have read in my previous responses, we certainly value your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to get better and improve for the next time you return! We were so happy to hear your nice comments and can’t thank you enough for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel into Austin!

Warm Regards,
David Bohac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The approach to the hotel is through a very nice, wooded, office park/commercial area; but once you get there, the reality sets in. The hotel faces the back of a shopping center, or something similar, & an expressway. That's what you get to look at, if you decide to use the pool area. The suite we had was roomy enough & very quiet, but there were some issues with the bathroom area: peeling wallpaper & mold on the ceiling that had been painted over but was reemerging (They should have gotten rid of it first, the last time they painted.). Saving graces for this hotel: (1) the staff -- all are great & very willing to help in any way; and (2) the breakfasts -- the cooks put a huge amount of effort into their work & it shows. On these two points, we were very pleased. The hotel is also very close to a number of major roads & front desk staff are always willing to help out with directions & a smile, especially Britteny (sp?), the Assistant General Manager.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the side facing the Marriott Courtyard. It will be nice and quiet as ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIAustinArboretum, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Abernathy15,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel!! We are very sorry to hear that we fell below the standards that we like to provide each and every guest and I would love a chance to speak with you in an effort to make this right. Please feel free to contact me via email(dbohac@whitelodging.com) or phone(512-502-8200).

On a side note, we are so glad that you thought our staff was great, including Brittany our AGM, and that our staff was very willing to help, as that is what we strive for!! Out of all Residence Inn’s in the world, we are rated in the top 12% in staff service this year and its clear that you noticed this while you stayed with us. We were also glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and dinner as our cooks do put a huge amount of effort in making sure your dining experience with us is GREAT, and we were happy to see that you noticed!! As mentioned in the response below, we are projected to have a renovation in 2013 to our lobby and our rooms will follow shortly after that. We would love to welcome you back to our hotel and should you ever need additional assistance when booking hotel accommodations, please consider me at your service. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
David Bohac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel has seen better days. I was in Austin in business and choosing this hotel was not wise. I had to change rooms several times before I could find one that one might describe as 'adequate.' The first smelled like mold and mildew. Another smelled strongly like smoke. The 3rd was OK. Staff seems helpful and breakfast was OK. But the hotel is old and in need of renovation and repair. I will not choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Find a newer and cleaner hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIAustinArboretum, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Fayaya,

First and foremost, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We take great pride in our guest’s experience and it is very important to us that you leave 100% satisfied. It’s very clear that we fell below the standards that we like to provide each and every guest and we are very sorry for this. The fact that you had to switch rooms so many times is just not like us and I can assure you that we have done everything we can to ensure these issues do not happen again. In fact, we have already started to renovate our property this year, by updating our bathrooms floors with new tile and granite counter tops. Next year we plan on renovating our entire lobby and our suites will follow shortly after.

When you get a moment, could I ask you to contact me via email(dbohac@whitelodging.com ) or via phone(512-502-8200). I just would love the opportunity to make this right.

I look forward to hearing from you and hope that you can give us another chance once we get a renovation.

Warm Regards,
David Bohac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum

Address: 3713 Tudor Boulevard, Austin, TX 78759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Austin
#78 Spa Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum features an ideal location just off the Mopac Expressway and apartment style-suites that are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms. This great location offers guests easy access to Austin’s top destinations including 6th Street, Lake Travis, and the Domain. The pet-friendly suites are highlighted by separate living area and sleeping areas, a fully-equipped kitchen, and modern amenities including HD TVs and free WiFI. Start your day off in the brand new lobby with a free breakfast buffet offering a selection of healthy yogurts, scrambled eggs, and freshly made Belgian waffles, and unwind in the evenings with complimentary drinks and appetizers at the weekday social hour. Get in a workout in the 24-hour fitness center, maintain your active lifestyle with a game of basketball or tennis on the outdoor SportCourt, and soak in the sun in the afternoons with a relaxing swim in the outdoor pool. With a prime location and renovated amenities, the Residence Austin Northwest/Arboretum is among the best Arboretum hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.