We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older property that makes up with excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3713 Tudor Boulevard, Austin, TX 78759 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #75 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Older property that makes up with excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is an older property that hasn't been renovated in a while, that's the bad news. The good news is that the staff are exceptional, everyone from the front desk, housekeeping and breakfast area were extremely friendly, efficient and exceptional at their duties. I was especially taken by their friendliness, always smiling and greeting you as came and went. I travel every week and I notice things like this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIAustinArboretum, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear vossler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us! We strive to ensure that every guest that we come in contact with has a wonderful stay with us and we'll do whatever it takes to make certain that you leave 100% satisfied! While our hotel hasn't been renovated recently, we have made some additional upgrades to our hotel, such as our new High Definition(HD) TV Channel installation in all of the rooms, new granite bathroom vanities and brand new bathroom tiling in our rooms! We look forward to welcoming you back into Austin hopefully in the near future.

Thanks again for the review!

Warm Regards,
David Bohac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
9
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week whilst on vacation in Austin. The staff were polite and incredibly helpful when asking advice about where to visit in the city. The room was spacious and very clean. The bed was comfy than our own at home. We would definitely stay here again if we manage to visit Austin in the future!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIAustinArboretum, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear KirstyLeese,

Thank you for the review! We value all of our guest’s feedback and we are very happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us! We are always looking for ways to ensure our guests leave satisfied and we are glad that you found our staff polite and helpful as we make every effort for this to happen with every guest encounter! Thanks again!

At your service,
David Bohac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I had such a pleasant stay at the Residence inn northwest Austin.My room was clean the staff were friendly and polite, and even the tall gentleman behind the front desk made sure I had everyhting I needed. I travel for work quite a bit and must say this was one of the best stays I have had in quite some time. Everything was awesome and the location made it very easy to get around.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIAustinArboretum, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear DougMasterson,

Thank you so much for your review of our wonderful hotel! We truly love to here our guest's feedback and we certainly appreciate you taking the time to evaluate your experience. We are so glad to here that your room was clean and that the staff was friendly and polite, as we strive to ensure every guest that stays with us leaves 100% satisfied. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time you’re in Austin. Thanks again!

At your service,
David Bohac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Like most Residence Inns these days the hotel is in need of a facelift. The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The breakfast was nothing to write home about but did the trick to get us energized for our day of exploring.

Room Tip: Avoid the room adjacent to the elevator. Our friends had the misfortune of getting the room next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIAustinArboretum, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Kitsho,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! We take our guest's feedback very seriously as it gives us the opportunity to improve our service and our product. We are so glad to hear that our staff went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and we strive to ensure this happens with every guest! We have recently changed our breakfast to fall in line with the Residence Inn brand standard, which is to include healthier options as well as “grab & go” options for our guests that are on the run and don’t have time to enjoy a sit down breakfast with a complimentary USA today and waffle cooked to order. We are very sorry to hear about your friends being close to the elevator and I would love to speak with them in more detail about their experience in an effort to make this right. We look forward to welcoming you back to Austin in the near future. Thanks again!

At your service,
David Bohac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I recently returned home from Austin and stayed at Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum. Everyone at that hotel was so kind, so thoughtful, and so caring. The Operatons Manager, Natalee Ulrich, as well as other at the front desk, could not do enough to make your stay at their hotel convenient, enjoyable, as well as memorable. I have stayed at that hotel several times before and this year was definitely THE BEST!!! My grandson threw my cell phone in the pool. Heather, one of the girls at the front desk, got me some rice, removed my sim card, and put the phone into the rice. When that didn't work, se printed out directions to the nearest Verizon Store without me ever asking. The warmth and the friendliness of the staff was something I will long remember.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom/living room combination and it was wonderful. Each am we had breakfasat there an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIAustinArboretum, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear 85Michele,

WOW! Thank you so much for such a great review about our hotel and staff! We truly appreciate all of the nice things you said about our team and your experience and hope next time you are in Austin that we’ll welcome you back to the Residence Inn Austin NW/Arboretum! I am sorry to hear about your phone , but we are so glad that Heather was able to get you taken care of. We are always looking for opportunities to go above and beyond and we are so glad that we fixed the situation with your phone. Thank you again and we can’t wait to see you next time. As always, please consider us at your service.

Best Regards,
David Bohac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british rover
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Really friendly staff and perfectly adequate accommodation for the price. The breakfast is ample but super basic (usual cerals, bread, plus egg, some meat and potato discs, coffee/juice) however whenever i needed stuff for the room, extra milk etc - always provided with a smile and no charge.

Free wifi, tonnes of TV channels - full kitchen/bed suite idea. Location is poor if you havent driven (I am not american so not that weird!) but for what i needed it for the place was fine and clean.

You couldnt hear the freeway/motorway from the room...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRIAustinArboretum, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear parmantom,

Thank you so much for the review regarding your experience with us! We take our guest feedback very seriously as it is an opportunity for us to improve our service and our product. We are really glad to hear your comments regarding our staff, our free breakfast, our free wireless internet and of course our spacious suites (50% larger than your average hotel room) with fully equipped kitchens. We are located in the heart of the Arboretum, with in walking distance to restaurants, shopping and entertainment in Northwest Austin, with easy access to downtown. I am not a native of Austin, so I can agree that the roads can appear very confusing but we always have directions and maps available to assist with navigation around the city. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Residence Inn Austin NW/Arboretum and if there is anything that we can ever assist with, please do not hesitate ask one of our friendly associates.

At your service,
David Bohac
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The hotel was clean and the staff was tremendously helpful. I am traveling across the country for work and staying at Residence Inns; and this has been the only hotel to date that has CALLED me in advance to ask if they could do anything for me prior to my arrival; AND they had a packet of information waiting for me when I checked in. This packet included information for local attractions, restaurants, etc. SO very kind of them - and also extremely attentive.

Will definitely return to this hotel when I am in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor. After working very late both nights I stayed there, for some reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum

Address: 3713 Tudor Boulevard, Austin, TX 78759
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Austin
#74 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Austin Northwest/Arboretum features an ideal location just off the Mopac Expressway and apartment style-suites that are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms. This great location offers guests easy access to Austin’s top destinations including 6th Street, Lake Travis, and the Domain. The pet-friendly suites are highlighted by separate living area and sleeping areas, a fully-equipped kitchen, and modern amenities including HD TVs and free WiFI. Start your day off in the brand new lobby with a free breakfast buffet offering a selection of healthy yogurts, scrambled eggs, and freshly made Belgian waffles, and unwind in the evenings with complimentary drinks and appetizers at the weekday social hour. Get in a workout in the 24-hour fitness center, maintain your active lifestyle with a game of basketball or tennis on the outdoor SportCourt, and soak in the sun in the afternoons with a relaxing swim in the outdoor pool. With a prime location and renovated amenities, the Residence Austin Northwest/Arboretum is among the best Arboretum hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.