We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place to relax and do nothing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vintage Villas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vintage Villas Hotel to your Saves list
Vintage Villas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   4209 Eck Lane, Austin, TX 78734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quiet place to relax and do nothing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here last month after purchasing a groupon for one night stay. The hotel is tucked away overlooking the lake. It is off of a very busy street but far enough where you don't hear the street noise at all. You definitely have to be prepared for your stay as there is no restaurant or bar on site. They do offer a breakfast buffet, but we didn't get up early enough to enjoy it. The front desk staff was very helpful in recommending places to eat in the area. There are plenty of options, just make sure you have a map or gps. We stayed in a king room with a large balcony overlooking the lake. The room was large with a wet bar and small fridge. The bathroom was very roomy with a jacuzzi tub and separate large shower. Overall, it was clean and comfortable but could use some TLC. There is no pool on site. We had a very quiet, relaxing evening and would consider going back, if I could get the same reduced rate. There were some buildings next door that appeared to be under construction a long time ago with no recent activity. Not sure what that was about...

Room Tip: Ask for a king suite on the end. The balcony is private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas-GM, Owner at Vintage Villas Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Marcinik,

Thank you for choosing Vintage Villas Hotel & Events and for spending your valuable time writing this review. I truly appreciate your comments and I am glad you were able to have a relaxing vacation with us.

Kindest regards,

Thomas Porter
Owner & General Manager
GM@VintageVillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    52
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
30
88
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My son bought my husband and I a Groupon for this hotel. Do to work constraints, my husband had to forgo the trip, so I took my 15 and 13 yr olds. They had us booked in a king, but seeing there were 3 of us, changed our reservation to 2 doubles with no problem. The room was nice with rustic decorations and a patio that overlooked Lake Travis. We had planned on playing board games on the patio and needed an extra chair. We had one delivered within 10 minutes of our request. All of the staff were very friendly and accomodating. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast very good. It is very peaceful since it is away from everything. But there is plenty to do nearby within a short drive.

Only complaint is that the air was off in the room when we checked in. With the heat outside, it took hours for the room to cool down. So that was a little uncomfortable. However, since our room was changed at the last minute, I'm assuming it was off because no one was planned to use that room.

Overall, it was a nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas-GM, Owner at Vintage Villas Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi Burly94,


Thank you very much for choosing Vintage Villas Hotel & Events, purchasing a Groupon and taking the time to write a review. Your comments about your accommodations and service are very much appreciated. We will be offering another Groupon in December and we look forward to your return.

Best wishes,

Thomas Porter
Owner & General Manager
GM@VintageVillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a very delightful stay at Vintage Villas. We were so impressed with everything- the staff, the quiet and very nice room, the view, the breakfast, etc. It was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in. We must have been the only visitors in our building as we heard absolutely no noise at all. The bed was very comfortable, the bedroom was large as was the bathroom. The towels were even top notch- very plush and fluffy . I wish we could have stayed there more days as it was so restful, quiet and peaceful. I imagine things might have been different if there had been a wedding going on. We'll certainly be back and have already recommmended the place to our friends. Thanks for an excellent ambiance!!
Cheryl B

The Blochs

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas-GM, Owner at Vintage Villas Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you, Cheryl.
I really appreciate you choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write this review of your stay.

Thomas Porter
Owner & General Manager
GM@VintageVillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We bought a groupon for this establishment to try it out....it was so/so. First the pros-location overlooking Lake Travis is picturesque, wedding facility is attractive from what we saw walking by, their staff is friendly, and their breakfast is awesome. They obviously use fresh eggs for their scrambles, not the dehydrated stuff you find at some hotels. They also set out a lovely fruit bowl and yummy banana flavored pancakes and blueberry with cream cheese French toast! Good coffee, juice, milk and toast/bagels were available, too. They do provide a decent size frig and microwave in the room, too. However, there are several things about the rooms that they could improve- need luggage racks to get your suitcases off the floor, could use a chest of drawers for storeage of your belongings, esp. since there is very little counter space in the bath and really need ceiling fans with light fixtures. There was no overhead lighting and made rooms dim. The carpet in our room needed replacing and had several stains. The tiling in hallways and baths was a bit dingy looking, not certain if it was truely unclean or just the color of grouting/tile. There were some cobwebs on lamp in our room, need to be more careful about cleaning routines and need more then the one small wastebasket we had in our room. We did have an issue with waterflow in the shower the first night, but we mentioned it and maintenance came to change out the showerhead the next day. They could really use a pool as well. It appears they have room for one. Really nothing to do on property, if not there for a wedding, and not much to do/see for 5-10 miles around it. Overall, the feeling of the place is of a bed and breakfast situation, very rustic decor. Would be okay for one night, but not much more and certainly not meant to cater to families, more a one night couples retreat.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas-GM, General Manager at Vintage Villas Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Linda D,

Thank you very much for writing this review of your stay at Vintage Villas Hotel & Events and for also purchasing and using a Groupon. I truly appreciate your comments concerning the areas we can focus on that need improving as well as the positive review about friendly staff and awesome breakfast.

Thomas Porter
Owner & General Manager
GM@VintageVillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We utilized Vintage Villas as our wedding venue. Our wedding planner was Lauren, and she was great throughout the whole process. I highly recommend paying extra for the Gazebo Gardens and wedding center (and eat in the Colorado room) versus the Arbor and the Travis Room as they are more private.

We also stayed in the hotel at the East Texas building in the suite and so did much of our family (over 60 guests). Everyone loved the views, and the rooms were great.

The food at the wedding was excellent, and the overall coordination was excellent. Vintage Villas went above and beyond by allowing us to check out an hour later and allowed us to use one of their on-site rooms at no charge to put together flower arrangements. We are very happy to have had our wedding there and would definitely consider staying there in the future.

Minor quibbles:
- The bed headboard in the suite squeaked and made noise at the slightest movement.
- Some rooms had patios whereas others didn't, and there were no pricing differences between them.
- Property has no on-site pool for kids, but maybe this is a good thing as far as preserving the tranquility.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if you will have a patio if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas-GM, Owner at Vintage Villas Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
aggieryan,

Thank you very much for 5 star evaluation and for choosing Vintage Villas Hotel & Events for this very special event.

All the best for a successful future together,

Thomas Porter
Owner & General Manager
GM@VintageVillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I was so looking forward to the part of my birthday get-away with my wife. Had big plans for the other days in the Austin area but this was our one night to connect, sit on the porch, watch the sunset and have a glass of wine. We did get to see the room for a quick few minutes (nice simple Texas decor - charm but not over the top) once we arrived before heading out to grab a bite to eat. Got back from dinner around 8:30pm and the thunderstorm started to move in. No big deal....right, it's Texas we get thunderstorms all the time? So figured we change pace and watch the lightening storm instead of sunset and still just enjoy our time together. We'll it was raining pretty hard so the deck idea was shot. Then....blink, flicker, flicker and darkness. So the room goes pitch black with no emergency back lights and no power at all. No candles or other light sources in the room and now rain is pouring in like a waterfall through both french doors in the bedroom and living room area (between the wall and door frame...odd) all over the wood floors and carpet. So we use a couple of the bath towels hoping the flooring doesn't get totally ruined trying to be good stewards to no avail. They are drenched. My patience is now gone 2-1/2 hours later. No checking up on the guest...just sitting around in the dark as the power in phones are now gone. Needless to say not the romanatic night I was hoping for and by now the room is getting very warm and being on the first floor we sure can't open the patio doors without some animal or somebody just cruising on in. Somewhere around 4am the power finally pops on and it has moved from warm to waking up in a sweat. :-( After a couple hours sleep once the room started to cool off we got up @ 8am to have breakfast. Now I will say the breakfast was very good especially the fresh salsa. Mentioned to a lady at the front desk how miserable our night was there and disappointed we were. Got back a little oh, sorry smirk and back to work with the head down. Obviously they can't control the weather (Austin really needed the rain) and maybe checking in on guest in the seperate buildings could be just an oversight but they can control having some type of back-up power as well as some semi friendly Texan customer service....Hospitality business and any type of almost geniune effort or concern could of gone a long way to appease us.

Room Tip: Choose something off the first floor if you want any privacy, check the weather and bring your own f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas-GM, Owner at Vintage Villas Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Volney_lll

Thank you very much for sharing your story. I am very sorry that your special evening was interrupted by a severe thunderstorm and I apologize for the lack of appropriate response from the staff. We lost a few trees that night, had some room property damage of course the power outage of which you are aware. Although we are not in control of these types of freak storms we are in control of how we react to them. I regret that the actions we took were not more helpful and considerate. I appreciate your positive comments about our good and fresh breakfast.

I wish that we could have you back for a return stay with us. If you would consider a follow up visit to Vintage Villas Hotel & Events, please contact me directly and I will personally ensure that your stay is flawless.

Thank you again for your,

Thomas Porter
Owner & General Manager
GM@VintageVillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We can't say enough good things about our stay at this hotel but thank you, thank you, thank you.

We are three girlfriends that try to have a "get-away" a couple of times a year. We used a Groupon for the first night and got a nice discount on the second night. After check-in and reaching the 3rd floor, we discovered that the owner had helped carry our luggage. The three of us planned to stay 2 nights in the same room with a king bed so we brought an air mattress for the extra person (the room couch was a loveseat size so too short for sleeping). The owner asked us about our plans and graciously gave us an additional queen room along with breakfast at no extra charge (he had excused himself apparantly to check the availability of the room next to ours and came back with the unexpected news and key). Obviously, we were surprised at their generosity. The hotel served a variety of breakfast selections at their buffet (included with the room). The first day there was a wonderful fruit salad and GREAT migas along with juices, coffee, etc. We felt that there was something for all tastes.

The rooms were very clean and well maintained and the beds were quite comfortable. If we had to come up with a slight problem, it would be our neglecting to ask about low water pressure in the shower (we never tried to use the jacuzzi tub). Having a refrigerator and microwave in the room allowed us to prepare our own food for an evening meal and enjoy the great weather out on our balcony. The view overlooked Lake Travis and was amazing. There was a table and two chairs but after our call, a third chair was promptly delivered. Not only did we enjoy the lake but also the beautiful grounds at this hotel itself; lots of lush, green foliage, roses, etc. We decided that we would go home and dump our husbands; find new, younger men so that we could come back for our weddings and receptions at this Vintage Villa.

Owners and staff went above and beyond to make our stay all that it could be. They were ALL so friendly and accommodating. As one can see, we thoroughly enjoyed our time here and will definitely return. THANKS from Janie, Joy, and Carla

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is definitely the way to go if you enjoy sitting outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas-GM, Owner at Vintage Villas Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hello again Janie, Joy and Carla,

Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you here at Vintage Villas Hotel & Events and you were a pleasure to serve. I sincerely hope that you choose us for your next girlfriends “get-away”. Send me an email and let me know when your ready for your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Thomas Porter
Owner & General Manager
GM@VintageVillas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vintage Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Villas Hotel

Address: 4209 Eck Lane, Austin, TX 78734
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Villas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage Villas Hotel & Events is a unique boutique style hotel overlooking Lake Travis in Austin Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Vintage Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintage Villas Hotel And Events

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintage Villas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.