We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the wildflowers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
4801 La Crosse Ave, Austin, TX 78739
512-232-0100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 143 Attractions in Austin
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Group tours/walking tour, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center at the University of Texas at Austin is a 279-acre public garden dedicated to increasing the sustainable use and conservation of native wildflowers, plants and landscapes. Founded by Mrs. Johnson and Actress Helen Hayes in 1982, the Wildflower Center brings life to her hope to preserve the beauty and regional identify of natural landscapes. The Center features acres of Texas wildflower gardens, award-winning architecture, nature trails, a café and gift shop.
Giddings, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Love the wildflowers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Lady Bird was such a wonderful person who left a legacy that will always stand - beautiful wildflowers along the roads. This center showcases them. You can also buy native flowers there to take home.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    100
    43
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It's one of those places you want to visit and see all the wonderful things Lady Bird Johnson worked most of her life trying to beautify Texas. You will see why we are so animate about our wildflower crops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wildflower paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

During wildflower season you may have to brave some crowds, but it's well worth it to visit this gem. Also a great place for weddings, meetings, and retreats. We take out of town guests here frequently and they fall in love!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx. USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A rose by any other name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very pretty but there was no one around and we had some questions and just needed answers. It was very peaceful and a great place to mediatate

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not a big fan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Visited this place twice, but was pretty disappointed the first time - not a lot of live plants to see. On our second visit during Christmas holidays we enjoyed illuminations, but once again, we expected more lights throughout the garden, more animations.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.