We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
4801 La Crosse Ave, Austin, TX 78739
512-232-0100
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #19 of 178 attractions in Austin
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Hiking, Group tours/walking tour, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center at the University of Texas at Austin is a 279-acre public garden dedicated to increasing the sustainable use and conservation of native wildflowers, plants and landscapes. Founded by Mrs. Johnson and Actress Helen Hayes in 1982, the Wildflower Center brings life to her hope to preserve the beauty and regional identify of natural landscapes. The Center features acres of Texas wildflower gardens, award-winning architecture, nature trails, a café and gift shop.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Great place to visit - don't forget to climb the tower! We saw several rabbits and tons of butterflies. The trails are well-maintained and the whole place is beautiful. My husband went kicking and screaming, but ended up enjoying himself – he really liked their rain water capturing system and it started his wheels turning on making one at home.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    79
    39
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I like flower photography especiallly when I leave my own region, so this was the obvoius place to go. Dear to the heart of Ladybird, it is attractive and informative. An ideal afternoon outside on a nice day.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking flowers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a beautiful place to visit, and especially in the Spring with all the wildflowers in bloom. The cafe' there serves wonderful food, can eat outside or inside.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT SPOT TO VISIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The wildflowers in the spring are amazing! But it's a great place to visit year-around. Always something going on--art exhibits, plant sales, butterfly house, beautiful store, neat cafe. What a treat!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Just past the prime bloom, but beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We were a week late for the peak bloom, but there was still lots of color and butterflies everywhere. Most of the visitors were old folks like us, and we were disappointed to see 100 grade schoolers arrive en masse. They were great.... better behaved and more interested than I was at that age! We have a home herb garden planted to support our cooking and provide habitat for caterpillars/butterflies. The center had several species that we do not and it was interesting to see them. The kids were curious too. Great weather and time well-spent!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center also viewed

 

Been to Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.