We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly sure what all the fuss is about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whole Foods Market

Whole Foods Market
525 N Lamar, Austin, TX 78703 (Downtown)
512-476-1206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,938 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not exactly sure what all the fuss is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Yes, this is a huge Whole Foods. Yes, they have a large variety of buffet food options and made to order food options from different counters. I enjoyed the Indian cuisine I had from the buffet. But the place was extremely crowded, it took awhile to park and find a place to sit to eat, and the food was pricey. So I'm not exactly sure what all the fuss is about.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    70
    16
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Grocery Store / Tourist Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This is easily a world class standard all other grocery stores should strive to emulate. The only grocery store I have ever seen that has become a tourist attraction in itself for an amazon ing variety and freshness of available food and amenities to include multiple first class eateries integrated into the design of the store.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A huge establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First time I had been to a Whole Foods, and this place is fabulous! It is very, very big, had to wait for a parking space, even on a Thursday night. An excellent array of food, drink, organic foods. Kinda pricey, but had excellent homemade pizza.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Flagship store!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We love Whole Foods and have been to many, both large and small. This one (because corporate headquarters are upstairs?) was the largest and most entertaining that we'd ever seen. All sorts of place to eat, great variety of offerings. Worth seeing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Healthy Alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Tried the BBQ topped baked potato and was surprised at how good the BBQ was. It was huge and I could not finish it. Tried the breakfast on another day and it was equally as good with some spicy potatoes and scrambled eggs which didn't make you think of powdered eggs like those buffet meals usually do. Ate outside another time under the shade trees, so I guess I liked it more than I remembered.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whole Foods Market also viewed

 

Been to Whole Foods Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whole Foods Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.