We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flagship store!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whole Foods Market

Whole Foods Market
525 N Lamar, Austin, TX 78703 (Downtown)
512-476-1206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,939 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Flagship store!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We love Whole Foods and have been to many, both large and small. This one (because corporate headquarters are upstairs?) was the largest and most entertaining that we'd ever seen. All sorts of place to eat, great variety of offerings. Worth seeing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    70
    16
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Healthy Alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Tried the BBQ topped baked potato and was surprised at how good the BBQ was. It was huge and I could not finish it. Tried the breakfast on another day and it was equally as good with some spicy potatoes and scrambled eggs which didn't make you think of powdered eggs like those buffet meals usually do. Ate outside another time under the shade trees, so I guess I liked it more than I remembered.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Whole Foods on Lamar is not only their Corporate Headquarters, but also their Flagship store, there is no better place to drop into for a snack and some people watching.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great grocer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I love to go to the North Lamar store. All the food stations are wonderful that we do not have to go to a reataurant.







Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Central Coast
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
“The OG of Whole Foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Can you belive that Whole Foods started in Austin? I didn't think it did, and I lost a bet because of it. I thought it was a California thing, but I was wrong, because Whole Foods bought out Mrs. Gooches and Wild Oats.
This is the first one, so of you are a long time shopper of Whole Foods you have to visit the one that started it all. It is kind of like Woodstock...NOT

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whole Foods Market also viewed

 

Been to Whole Foods Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whole Foods Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.