We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, the nicest Super 8 ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 - 183 Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 - 183 Airport to your Saves list
Super 8 - 183 Airport
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   5606 East 51st Street, East 51 Street & Highway 183, Austin, TX 78723   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #28 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
580 reviews 580 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Wow, the nicest Super 8 ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Wow, I can't believe this is a Super 8! I'm used to a more bare-bones experience at Super 8s, but not here. From the second I drove in the parking lot I knew it was a different level of Super 8 than most others. The landscaping and exterior appearance was top notch.

The gentleman at the front desk was great and the lobby was as nice as hotels costing twice this much. My room was outstanding; whisper quiet, and I mean whisper quiet. NO sounds from adjacent rooms or the hallway! Those who may have read my other reviews know that my absolute top complaint about hotels is the constant door-slamming noise from the hallway. There was literally not a sound once I got inside my room. Being on the bed was like floating and there were great pillows and a laptop tray like those found in Hampton Inns and other much higher priced hotels. The bathroom was super high-end with a furniture-like vanity with a granite top, and the other materials were great. The towels were thicker than ours at home are and there was even a scale! I've never seen a scale in a hotel before. One slight maintenance issue with my room (308) was that the shower head was a bit loose and that caused most of the water to drop straight down instead of shooting out of the nozzle. I held it tight and then it worked, but other than that (and, I could have / should have mentioned it) it was a great bathroom. The huge flatscreen TV had every channel I would ever want and the reception and picture and remote all were great. The wireless internet was super fast and flawless. There was a great looking little swimming pool in the back but I didn't use it.

The breakfast was also outstanding, with a hot "main course" like eggs or biscuits and gravy, waffles, packets of oatmeal and grits, GREAT Starbucks, fresh-ground coffee! What other hotel has a machine that grinds fresh beans for every cup?! I can't even think of another time that I've seen such a thing in a hotel. One thing I wish they would have had would be hard boiled eggs, I much prefer those to egg patties or something else that I don't know what the ingredients are. And, maybe plain packets of oatmeal instead of all flavored (i.e., sugared) oatmeal. But, if that's my only minor glitch with this super breakfast that's barely even worth mentioning.

I couldn't possibly recommend this hotel any higher than I do. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to Donald Trump. Super 8, you've outdone yourself here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    103
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
147
119
44
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my family, and we all thought this hotel is superb! Located right off Highway 183, it is easy and convenient to travel to other Austin area hot spots just a few miles down the road. I love that there is a welcome gift for guests in the room. There is also a robe hanging up in the closet! I love robes. The beds are very comfortable, and the hotel itself is extremely clean. The breakfast is from 6am - 9am. It has a variety of foods: waffles, sausage biscuits, bacon, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice. The pool area is perfect for families with young children. My girls are 5 and 2 years old, and they had a blast in the kiddie section of the pool. I will certainly stay here every time I visit Austin, and recommend all my friends and family to stay here, too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I know most people think of Super 8 as an economy hotel and not a luxury but this one breaks the mold. I work for a Holiday Inn that charges WAY more than this place but has half the features...sorry but it does. I was delighted with the pricing especially for a weekend and there were several events going on. I was delighted to find a hotel robe and a free snack basket in my room. It was very clean and quiet. I woke up surprisingly refreshed! I will DEFINITELY direct friends and family this way if they come to Austin. It is a short drive to the center of downtown and all the staff were friendly with a pleasant attitude. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

Room Tip: 203 is special if you like to use the stairs instead of being lazy and using elevator. It is right a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Drove by and needed a place to stay! Leery of Super 8 economy type hotels but due to local activities most hotels were sold out. I HAVE NEVER seen a Super 8 like this. Starbucks coffee maker, 16 different special pillows, the BEST beds with excellent sheets. They have DVD players in all rooms and have DVDs for guests to use as well as a bookcase of books. The WIFI was secure and FAST perfect for the business traveler. They have a business center as well. Everything was spotlessly clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and we even decided to upgrade to a jacuzzi suite with a temper pedic style bed. I WOULD Definitely return and recommend this location 100%. We stay all over the U.S. on business year round. This place makes a HAMPTON look like garbage in comparison.

Room Tip: No restaurant or room service.. Jack in the Box and Wendy's are walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Though the hotel is clean, there is a lack of urgency on the staff. Room was left open after maid service. Luck I did not lost computer and photography gear.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Breakfast menue could be enhanced. I do not like my gravey pumped out of a container....very watery.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 - 183 Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - 183 Airport

Address: 5606 East 51st Street, East 51 Street & Highway 183, Austin, TX 78723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Austin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#23 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 - 183 Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 - 183 Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 - 183 Airport Hotel Austin
Super 8 Hotel Austin
Super 8 Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super Eight
Austin Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 - 183 Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.