We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 - 183 Airport

Save Saved
You added Super 8 - 183 Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 - 183 Airport
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   5606 East 51st Street, East 51 Street & Highway 183, Austin, TX 78723   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #20 of 182 hotels in Austin
Namibia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel, although I think it was really overpriced at more than $100 a night (even considering it was SXSW)! Must compliment the hotel on the beds and rooms, they are really comfortable. Our room also had a safe (which is charged extra but was not mentioned on our booking), fridge and microwave. I would not say it's the best neighbourhood though. Saw a drunk guy throwing and shattering bottles on the pavement across the street. Also a 'non-guest' entered one morning and helped himself to some breakfast, he was spotted and removed by the staff. The hot breakfast was complimentary, but nothing special. Even though we went to breakfast an hour or more before it ends, the hot items (eggs, bacon, sausage) were always out and not topped up until you ask the staff to do so. Noisy at times as it's next to the highway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    81
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
121
105
35
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I had previously stayed at this hotel multiple times and felt that it was a good deal the rooms were really nice for the price. Usually between $60 to $90 a night. Nice spacious rooms with King size beds, flat screen televisions with DVD players. I had complained previously about the dirty carpet in the rooms as I travelled to Austin a couple of times a month and stayed here regularly and they never seem to clean or get rid of the dirty longhorn logo carpet. But this was the only issue I had which was never corrected no matter how many times I complained. I recently went there and was quoted an exorbitant price for the room as they are now well aware of the good reviews (including my own left previously) which are now printed out and taped to the front desk as justification for huge increase in price. I could easily pay $10 extra and stay at the Hilton. Not only that but there were four police cars blocking the parking lot as there was had been some incident that occurred that night, I was not extremely alarmed as this hotel is not in the best of neighborhoods. Either way this super 8 motel went from being a jewel in the dust to being an over priced motel believing its own hype and charging prices that luxury hotels charge. I left as I'd rather get a room at the Hilton Garden Inn using my HH Honors rewards points for about the same price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have always avoided staying at Super 8 motels, but this one is outstanding.The staff is very nice and accommodating, all area are very clean and well kept. The rooms are large and nicely decorated, breakfast has a large selection of items. Not really to near anything but easy to get to from the airport. The same management also owns other Super 8s in the area that might be more convenient to the area you are visiting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My company sent me to SXSW at the last minute and consequently, all of the hotels in Austin were booked. So, they made a reservation for me at the Super 8 which is quite a bit away from the action. Initially I was horrified. Although I'd never stayed at a Super 8 before, the two syllable + numeric name conjured up perceptions of the Motel 6. I was however comforted by reviews on TripAdvisor and upon arrival I breathed an official sigh of relief.

The hotel is clean with minimal wear and tear. The staff is nice, the beds are incredibly comfortable and the coffee is superb. There are lots of nice little touches from the "welcome" snacks in your room, to the free breakfast (I had a sausage biscuit, yogurt and coffee every morning).

The only real downside is that there is literally nothing around the hotel, so you'll either need to rent-a-car or befriend a cab driver. The hotel does have a little mini mart that has snacks and sodas/juice. There are also a few restaurants that deliver. And you have a mini-fridge and microwave if you want to do a little grocery shopping while you're there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

What is there to say about this Super 8 that hasn't already been said? All the positive reviews are right on the money. My husband and I just got back from an 8-night stay. Victor (the manager) was very nice and welcoming - he checked us in and immediately upgraded our room because we were staying so long. The suite was a good size with a flat screen TV, the bed was very comfortable and the pillow selection was unexpected but very nice. The room and the hotel itself were very clean, and the complimentary breakfast was really good (Texas shaped waffles, eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereals, etc.) and open until 10:00 am, which was nice for late risers like us. We took advantage of the B&B-type touches, which included lending of DVDs and books and the 6:00-9:00 pm dessert that was left in the lobby. The only negative is that there's really nothing right around the hotel, but it's close to a lot of roads and highways that can get you anywhere in Austin relatively quickly (I'd say a lot of options are in a 10-15 minute drive). For the price (we got a deal on the Super 8 website), you can't beat it.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the back of the hotel (away from 183).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here when we were in Austin for 2 nights because it was so highly rated on trip advisor. To give the management their due the service was faultless, to compensate for a mix up in our booking (their fault) they put us in the Longhorn suite for no extra cost (i have no idea if it should have cost extra or if the room rates are all the same!)
Beyond the courteous staff the hotel has very little to offer. The corridor outside our room smelt horribly of very strong food. The inside of the room was musty and didn't seem particularly clean, especially the longhorn memorabilia.
Of course this is a cheap motel and as such can't provide luxury, but we wouldn't stay here again no matter how good a deal it was.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Overall this hotel was a great value. Of the 12 or so Super 8's Ive stayed at in the last year, this one was the best by far.

Things I liked:
Very clean
Very up-to-date
Entire hotel was smoke free
Great beds
Good shower heads
Complimentary (free) snack
The pillow "library" with different types to choose from
Room had DVD player, fridge, microwave, and safe
Can borrow DVDs to watch
Can borrow books to read
TV in the elevator
Great breakfast choices

Things I didnt like:
No restaurants within walking distance

Again, overall this was a great experience and I would not hesitate in the slightest at recommending this Super 8 to anybody. Had the comfort and cleanliness of a "nice" hotel but wont break the bank.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 - 183 Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - 183 Airport

Address: 5606 East 51st Street, East 51 Street & Highway 183, Austin, TX 78723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#13 Family Hotel in Austin
#26 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 - 183 Airport 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 - 183 Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 - 183 Airport Hotel Austin
Super 8 Hotel Austin
Super 8 Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super Eight
Austin Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 - 183 Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.