We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired of the usual food? Try Cuban ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Habana SoCo

Habana SoCo
2728 South Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704
+1 512-443-4253
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #516 of 3,158 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Where Austin meets the Islands. Delicious Cuban & Caribbean food & drinks!
Austin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tired of the usual food? Try Cuban ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Habana is my favorite place to take my out-of-town / out-of-country visitors. Taking non-Texans for steaks, barbecue or mexican gets "old" after a while. This Cuban food restaurant though offers a wide and delicious selection for those food-open-minded. A great opportunity to try fried platain bananas, yucca or similar 'exotics' (even if just as a side-dish or appertizer). My favorite main dish is "ropa vieja", which I would describe as "pulled beef of mouth-watering flavors". The portions are humongous, I always leave with a "doggie bag" of lunch for the next day. Sitting outside on a small patio is very pleasent. The place can get sometime a bit busy/noisy, but ultimatelly it is a place I like returning to.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fresh cocktails, fresh food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

It wasn't a busy day, but it seemed our cocktails took a little longer than it should've. The drinks were the best cocktails I've had. Coconut mojitos! My sandwich bread was made from plantains. A healthier, & delightful option. A cool patio area, like you're chilling in a cabana. You literally can chill in a cabana. I will definitely be back. Yay to great Cuban everything. Not expensive either.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved my meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I had a shrimp creole that was yummy. And the mojitos were pretty darn good as well (mine was coconut).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Most delicious Cuban sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The cuban sandwich blew me away! It was fantastic! It could easily move into the slot of "best sandwich I ever ate" and I love sandwiches (think Joey from Friends kind of love). The bread is really great and the pork, ham, swiss, pickle, mustard combo is just exquisite. It would be a weekly habit if I lived in Austin. Unfortunately, I had to return to my crap town with no variety. My hubby had the pork platter with rice, yucca and beans--all yummy! And we had a tamale for an appetizer (just one huge tamale) and it came with a delicious sauce. It was very very good. I had a mojito on the happy hour $5 special. It was ok. I have never had a true mojito so it was probably perfect. I wished it was sweeter. It was super minty. I'm not much of a drinker in all fairness. The waiter was awesome! Overall, the experience was phenomenal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
“Sooo so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This neat little restaurant had very friendly servers and a cool ambiance that gave us that welcoming feeling. I had their signature sandwich and added avocado. It was to die for! My bf had the special with the slow cooked pork, white rice, black beans, and I think plantain. I had a sample of his and oh my gosh the pork just melted in my mouth. The drinks were also very good. We used the groupon which made the date even better. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habana SoCo also viewed

 

Been to Habana SoCo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habana SoCo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.