We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you would expect from HIE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1119 East Tyler Street, Athens, TX 75751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just what you would expect from HIE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The room was clean and roomy and updated. My husband and I were passing through for one evening. Althought the hotel is located practically in a shopping center, it was quiet. I would not want to spend a lot of time here but for a place for the night, it was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your response. We really appreciate any and all feedback from our guests so that we may improve upon our service. We love our guests and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    19
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
15
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have been staying here for the pass 2 months. The swimming pool and gym hasn't work since i got here. The employees that this hotel have are great Veronica, Danielle, Desteny and Rick. I think that this is a really bad problem because there is nothing else to do here at Athens.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We always try to better ourselves and our service to our guests. We are currently in the middle of renovating/updating several areas of the hotel. As always we are committed to providing the best possible guest service and hope you have a great stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

After a day of shopping at Canton FIRST MONDAY MARKET DAYS, we were happy to spend a night here.
Large room. Very quite on a Sunday night of Labor Day weekend.
The in-wall AC unit was very LOUD, loud enough to distrub our sleep and the ice machine on the third floor was not producing any ice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I apologize for your recent accomodation at our hotel. We are always committed to providing the best guest service and providing a warm and comfortable stay for everyone. We have taken steps to ensure that you enjoy your next stay with us even more than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lott, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed there in July as part of a large group of people. We were there participating in the 12U state baseball tournament. The manager was very accomidating and the breakfast every morning was good. Our rooms were roomy and tidy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Athens, and look forward to seeing you all again next year. We always appreciate your feedback. It's how we learn to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I made reservations for 2 nights, back to back, one paid one on points, 2 queen beds. Arrived at 3pm, "no queen beds, sold out, upgraded to king suite. Not what I wanted since I was traveling with a friend but accepted it. Went into room on 3rd floor, fan sitting on floor, hotter than H--- and no air conditioning. Explained this is not acceptable and needed a new room. Moved us to first floor, 2 queen beds! Great! Left the following morning, came back to hotel, keys won't work. Went to front desk and was told they don't work because someone else had reservations for that room and they had clear out our "stuff." Well.......to put it Mildly, I was furious and wanted to know where my "stuff" was? "We have it here in the office, I will assign you a new room." They moved us from the first floor, 2 queen beds to the 2nd floor, 2 queen beds! Senseless!! When we went to get our "stuff" (as they kept referring to) it was all thrown in the dirty linen cart!
Our belongings were mixed up, liquids left open, and in complete disarray! Food from the refrigerator had to be thrown away because it was left out most of the day and dumped in our cooler with no ice! I demanded the to talk to the manager immediately. By phone he said "this is unacceptable and he will deal with those who did this on Monday." I explained to him this is not the end of this and contacted coporate office. The manager has been suppose to call me for a week now, no phone call! My only option is to put into dispute with credit card! I have and I will not pay this bill! There were 4 groups of us there. Each group had issues with this hotel, not like mine, but issues with being told late check out was available and then not given. Keys not working, reservations for one kind of room and not getting it, etc! All I can say is run as fast as you can before staying at the Holiday Inn Express, Athen, Texas.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Kay F,

Thank you for being a Priority Club member and bringing this to our attention. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

this is the worst holiday inn express i have stayed at we had a reservations when we arrived they had given our room away, they advertize cable tv we could only get abc, cbs, an nbc called front dest they never fixed it after they said they would . went to check out the pool an the front desk clerk (she hide from us) and a guy that said he worked for the hotel was smoking in the room where the indoor pool was it was a non smoking hotel and the pool and hot tud water was green , could not be used while takinf\g a bath i noticed a bath cloth stuffed behind the kleenx container it had dried blood on it i would not recommend the place ever!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear juanita m,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I'm sorry to see you received service that was less than satisfactory. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Breakfast was fine & the room was large & clean. We would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites

Address: 1119 East Tyler Street, Athens, TX 75751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at our hotel and see what East Texas hospitality is all about. It is our goal to provide you with comfortable, welcoming surroundings and exemplary service to ensure a stress-free stay. Visitors appreciate our convenient location on TX-31 in Athens's newest business district, which is just one mile from downtown. With Lake Athens, Cedar Creek Lake just a short drive away, our property provides easy access to a wealth of outdoor activities. (Currently our pool is under renovation. In order to provide a better experience for our guests we are updating several areas of the hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience, and will have the pool area available as soon as possible.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Athens
Holiday Inn Express - Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.