We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jalisco Taqueria Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jalisco Taqueria Restaurant
506 W. Corsicana St, Athens, TX 75751
903 677 6162
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 56 restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Restaurant details
Athens, Texas
1 review
“Great Food & Cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great tasting meals. Generous portions for the price. I've eaten here at least 10 times and the service is always quick & very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    2
    3
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have eaten at Jalisco's other restaurant in Tyler and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was a bit disappointed with my chili relleno this time, but that's likely because my tastes are more accustomed to an Anaheim chili and they used (I believe) a Serrano. A subtle but important difference. Other than that, everything else was super.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Real" Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The food is made by "real" Mexicans, the "real" Mexican way. I now know that I am a Tex-Mex junkie. Serving size is good, give it a try

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food tasty, salsa wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My friend and I were quite please with our choice of restaurants. I had spinach enchiladas and they were very good, in fact, better than the ones I have at my favorite local restaurant. The salsa was lively and just what I would have hoped for.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Since owners have changed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011 via mobile

Loud, horrible service, food mediocre, not clean, no soap in bathroom (employees wash hands where?)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalisco Taqueria Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jalisco Taqueria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalisco Taqueria Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.