We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service and good nights sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Athens to your Saves list
Super 8 Athens
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   205 US Hwy 175 West, Athens, TX 75751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Athens
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great customer service and good nights sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our room was exceptionally clean and the bed was very comfortable. Chris, who checked us in has a great personality and was very helpful with directions and suggestions. There were several activities going on in the area and the hotel was full but it was still nice and quiet and we had a good nights sleep and a good stay. Breakfast was a step above the usual Super 8 and the Texas shaped waffles were delicious, the eating area was roomy and very clean. This friendly Texas town has lots of civic pride and the downtown courthouse is great. It was beautifully decorated for Christmas when we were there Dec. 2011. We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S8ATHENS, General Manager at Super 8 Athens, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Super 8 in Athens, Texas. We hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    46
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
44
28
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Our room was very clean. We had a small problem with a water leak in the bathroom. The employee that checked us in was very apologetic and found us another room. Since we had already taken our suitcases in, he found the closest room available so we wouldn't have any problem moving our belongings. He was very helpful. We will definately stay there again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S8ATHENS, General Manager at Super 8 Athens, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Super 8 in Athens, Texas. We are glad that you had a great stay, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed for one night with a friend to do some shopping in the area. Everything, and I mean everything, was great! From super friendly and helpful check-in staff, to the clean room (nothing freaks me out more than seeing hair left from previous guests in the bathroom! I was grateful to see it was clean), to the free continental breakfast with Texas-shaped waffle maker and friendly and helpful attendant--this location put the Super in Super 8! Obviously, don't expect luxury accommodations with plush Turkish cotton towels and 6000-count Egyptian cotton sheets--if that's what you're looking for, I don't think you'd be looking at Super 8, anyway. But, if you're looking for a good value; clean, comfortable, spacious room; and superior customer service, then Super 8 in Athens is the place to stay. Most people know about the Canton First Monday Trade Days, but I also recommend a visit to the Collin Street Bakery in Corsicana, about 30 miles west on Highway 31. Fruitcake is their specialty, but their cheesecakes are scrumptious, too. A little pricey, but a delicious treat. All in all, the Athens Super 8 was a great place to stay, and this will be my choice for future visits!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S8ATHENS, General Manager at Super 8 Athens, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that our Hotel, Staff, and Service were satisfactory during your stay. We hope you had a great time in Canton, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Another great weekend stay. Clean rooms, super breakfast--a Texas shaped waffle! and plenty of coffee.
I appreciate the wonderful room where I could relax after a great day of diving! All of the staff are friendly and made sure I had everything I needed. They have spoiled me.
Thanks, Super 8!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S8ATHENS, General Manager at Super 8 Athens, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you went diving at the Athens Scuba Park. We know you have other choices, and are pleased that you decided to stay with us, and also that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Rooms were nice and clean. Breakfast was great and the attendant made sure that everything was re-stocked after guests left. Customer service was superior. The front desk went out of their way to help us and answer any questions that we had. We will definitely stay there again. Great value for the money!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S8ATHENS, General Manager at Super 8 Athens, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you also had a great time diving at the Athens Scuba Park. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Clean and friendly hotel in Athens. Great location and close to Canton, shopping and a great golf course. Air conditioner worked perfectly in 100 degree plus weather.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S8ATHENS, General Manager at Super 8 Athens, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Super 8 Athens. Keeping our rooms Cool for our guests is one of our top priorities in this heat. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were saved! We had stayed the previous night in a local hotel that was priced the same as the Super 8 where we stayed. This hotel was dirty and the staff was unprofessional to say the least! I called Super 8 and they not only had the room to accomdate us but let us check in early as we were desperate to leave. The room was cool and comfortable, the pool clean and relaxing and the staff knowledgable and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S8ATHENS, General Manager at Super 8 Athens, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and decided to stay with us at the Super 8 Athens. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Athens

Address: 205 US Hwy 175 West, Athens, TX 75751
Location: United States > Texas > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.