We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, Delicious and Affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Railway Cafe

Railway Cafe
210 N Palestine St, Athens, TX 75751-2006
903-264-7245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 56 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Kaufman, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fresh, Delicious and Affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Recommended by a friend I loved this place and intend to make a trip back very soon. The pan seared Brussel sprouts, daily soup of pinto beans and cheese with an exquisite roasted turkey sandwich with bread that melted in your mouth. Lots of locals drop by for a quick bite. Waited 10 minutes for a table but time went really fast. Only opened for lunch and closed on Monday and Tuesday. Don't forget dessert...creme Brule was the best I have ever tasted. You won't be dissappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aubrey, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unexpected treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

You won't find many eateries in smaller towns that will surprise, as the Railway Cafe did us. The menu was a bit sparse, but appealing, and the food lived up to the billing. Excellent wait staff!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Breath of Fresh Air in a Sea of Mediocrity...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Athens is not blessed with fine dining. We are fortunate to have chef/owner Justin Boswell at the helm of Railway Café. He is a classically trained chef and is a native Athenian. He prefers locally sourced ingredients whenever possible and has an amazing palate. Although sadly, Railway Café is only open for lunch on weekdays, they serve some very fresh and creative soups, sandwiches, burgers and desserts.

For our latest visit, my wife & I had the burger with brie cheese, caramelized onions and bacon, prepared medium rare. Outstanding! I had some fresh, in season, fruit and berries and she had their fresh cut sweet potato fries with what appeared to be a nice aioli sauce. Lunch was finished up with a refreshing raspberry sorbet garnished with a kind of mint and some thin red pepper slivers. It was delicious and unlike anything you would find anywhere else in East Texas.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Delicious food and excellent service. Only open for lunch. Not open on the weekend. Family owned and operated.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food Not Worthy of the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Enjoyed the decor and our waitress, Colleen, was adorable. All of the wait staff seemed friendly and accommodating. The food was good but $9.00 is a little steep for a hamburger. It was another $9.00 for a cheese and beef quesadilla - no jalapeños, salsa, avocado, sour cream, etc. all of that said, I probably will go back again if I'm in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Railway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railway Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.