We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy

Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy
1041 West I-20, Arlington, TX 76017
(817) 468-2622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 721 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Real Mexican food is a feast for the senses. From colorful peppers to the sounds of sizzling fajitas all the way to that incredible flavor. Each mouthful is just as much a result of the freshest ingredients as it is a result of the chef's expertise. Abuelo's offers diners the opportunity to experience real Mexican food, combining authentic, made from scratch classic dishes with the rich, subtle flavors of coastal and interior Mexican cuisine. Our executive Chef Luis Sanchez has spent decades perfecting our menu, and we boast a wide selection of wood-grilled fajitas, enchiladas, tacos, chile rellenos or Abuelo's unique House Specialties (depending on your location). To compliment your meal, our expert bartenders are masters at crafting signature favorites, including a wide variety of margaritas and swirls. Catering is also an option, our staff are adept at delivering a professional, hassle-free and delicious meal. Whatever the occasion, we'll stop at nothing to make your time at Abuelo's a memorable dining experience.
Houston
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Consistently good Mexican restaurant.

Plentiful plates, great taste, consistent good quality anywhere you go with this chain.

I always stop there when I want good quality Mexican food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“My favorite Tex Mex Chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Everything made from scratch and I love the Tilapia Veracruz and the Fideo con Camaron. Extensive menu and the atmosphere is excellent. The service was great as well.

Yummy!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious & Plenty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lunch was delcious and more than could be eat. A large variety on lunch menu. Service was fast, servers were friendly and attentive. Price was reasonable.
Inside the restaurant was beautiful and plenty of seating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This place is Awesome! My husband and I would definetly go there again :) I love the different choices on the menu that never expected to see at an mexican resturant. Most go again in the future.. :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Looking for an alternative for Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Friday at 5 pm we could not even find room at Chuy's bar which is one of our favorite places. So we headed out to find an alternative since we really wanted Mexican food. We had not been to Abuelo's in several years so we thought we would give it a try again. There was plenty of room in the bar with no waiting. We ordered several different types of appetizers and were not disappointed. I recommend the Mexican shrimp cocktail which is large enough to share and very refreshing on a hot day. The service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy also viewed

 

Been to Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.