We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go out of our way for this place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish

Flying Fish
300 E. Abrams street, Arlington, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 704 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Will go out of our way for this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Growing up in Arkansas I got addicted to catfish. Living in Alaska and Kansas put some challenge on getting really good fried catfish. Whenever I visit family in Arkansas I always visit the Hidden Valley catfish house in Conway. However, this Flying Fish restaurant is now on our list to always hit in Arlington. Filets that are flakey and not greasy, hush puppies with just the right flavor, mounds of fries, and a Billy Bass trophy wall.....what's not to like? Not fancy, fun decor, and plenty of beer and tea.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My Favorite Seafood Restaurant in Arlington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I've eaten at Flying Fish a dozen times this year (just opened last year). The seafood and fish are excellent! I've had grilled Tilapia, grilled Catfish, and a their salads as well. Also, oysters on the half shell are served here. Not a fancy setting at all (you get in line and order at the cash register, then wait for your food. Tables available both indoors and outside. Best fish meals I've had in Arlington, not too pricey, and a family friendly establishment. I've also ordered take out since I live about a mile or so from the restaurant. I highly recommend Flying Fish for either grilled or fried food!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“VERY GOOD FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I wanted a good experience on my vacation in arlington, and after eating at this restaurant, I was very satisfied. Honestly some of the best seafood I have ever tasted. The atmosphere made you feel very at home. The menu was very broad and even though it was busy when I went, everyone was happy and having a good time. I would strongly suggest eating here. You will get your moneysworth, get full, and have leftovers

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice change of pace!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This picture is not the one in Arlington that I went to. It a new pace that opened up a little over a year ago and it has great seafood for this area. My favorite is the Grilled Grouper with beans and rice with their grilled zucchini and squash....very good for you dinner! Fried shrimp is Awesome!!! Laid back ambience and casual dress..nothing fancy! Enjoy!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great fish and frog legs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My wife and I ate here because she had a craving for frog legs, and I am always up for some Cajun seafood. My grilled red snapper with beans and rice were excellent. My Siner Bock on tap was in a frosted mug and ice cold. In fact, our meals were so good, we ate at the Flying Fish in Memphis, TN the very next night as we passed through that town! BTW, that location was also very good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish also viewed

 

Been to Flying Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.