We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went above and beyond!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Cypress Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Cypress Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Cypress Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 South Watson Road, Arlington, TX 76010   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Arlington
Jasper, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Went above and beyond!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Cypress April 6, 2013 for our daughters birthday party. We planned a trip to Six Flags and were happy with how close the hotel was to everything. We were very impressed with the look of the place and our rooms were clean. One of my daughters guests thought she threw her retainer away. The staff was nice enough to help us dig through the trash. They called us the next day to say they had found it in the room and would be mailing it to us. We were very thankful that they kept looking for it!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hshall, Manager at Blue Cypress Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Our staff is an asset to us. Like you said, they go above and beyond to meet our guests' needs. We take pride in our customer service. Thanks for acknowledging them. It means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    54
    21
    14
    16
See reviews for
70
36
9
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laredo, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were given the courtesy of a distress fare for a hotel night by American Airlines.
Traveling with the family, we were warmly welcomed at the reception; very serviceble and kind people.

The size of the pool and gym caught our attention. It looked like it was a sports club!
The bar, even though lonely - it was a Wednesday -, is well placed and has a club like look.

Everything went well until midnight when the symphony started. From about 12:00 AM to 7:00 PM trains, trains and more trains travel at a short distance (less than 150 yards away,) making it difficult sleeping. This will be the only negative critic for the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hshall, Manager at Blue Cypress Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We understand the pain of being stranded in the middle of the trip, and how just a minimum sound can be disturbing. We are saddened to hear your less than perfect stay at the Blue Cypress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We choose the hotel based on the lovely photos and very reasonable prices along with reviews, but still skeptical since I mostly stay in 'named' hotels. These days it seems you never know even with a 'chain' hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised. Absolutely loved the decoration style. We didn't use the indoor pool or gym, but the area was huge and seemed to be well maintained. The room was lovely. Included refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and hairdryer. Most hotels we stay at in a slightly higher price range only provide the coffee pot and hair dryer standard and you pay extra for the other appliances. Rooms were clean, bed firm but soft and inviting, everything in good repair. He only concern I might have with the room was you have to step up into the tub which could be hard for an older person.

Seemed to have a very small staff, but did an excellent job. Noticed minor spills in common areas were handled quickly by front desk staff. I could see if they were much busier they would need more staff, but everything handled well.

Breakfast was the usual for this price range of hotel: cereal, waffles, boiled eggs, pastries, bagels etc. Normal for the price: free, included in hotel price which if you compare was $30-50 less per night that other hotels near the convention center.

Staff: pleasant and helpful, very responsive to any questions.

We will definitely stay here again if we travel back to Dallas for business again.

Room Tip: Only wish we'd stay in the Jacuzzi Suite....would have been nice after a long day of business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hshall, Manager at Blue Cypress Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We always love to hear what people liked about our hotel. Your review tells a lot about our place and we really appreciate it. We hope you will join us again by staying in our Jacuzzi suite. We assure you, it will be an exceptional experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed there Feb 6,2013. The lobby & bar area was real nice & clean. Breakfast area was clean as well. Our room was nice & clean. Great place for the price. Close to alot of attractions. They are remodeling and so far doing a good job. Will stay there again when in Arlington. Checked out the weight room & pool looked good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hshall, Manager at Blue Cypress Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for the kind note. We are glad to know you found us accommodating. Thanks for staying with us. You come back see us when back in Arlington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is located in the perfect location in Arlington near Cowboys stadium, six flags, and the rangers stadium. We stayed near this location for the cowboys game and had the best experience. Highly recommend for anyone the hotel is renovated and is gorgeous!!! They also have a Huge gym for a quick good workout.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hshall, Manager at Blue Cypress Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for the kind note. It always gives us joy to know that we could cater your needs during your stay at the Blue Cypress. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place isn't terrible, but I would urge you to check elsewhere.

The location is terrible as it's not in a safe part of town and isn't next to any other hotel or restaurant. The place smells. Smells like raw sewage in some areas and smoke in other common areas. I'm not sure why the place smells as it seemed that the place was clean.
Limited options for TV channels.

I actually thought the staff was fine when I needed something. The fact is there are numerous hotels nearby that are better quality at about the same rate. Check into those places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hshall, Manager at Blue Cypress Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Your review really surprised us since our hotel has been used by hundreds of schools around the US for their lodging needs when in Arlington. We are preferred vendors for many hospitals around the area for their Doctors' and Nurses' accommodation needs. We also host many UTA, Government and State employees throughout the year. Our guests love our location and an easy access to the highway. We are sorry we couldn't make you feel the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was nice and all, but it wasn't worth putting up with the awfully rude and snide staff. Those people should not be in customer service. We made our reservation with Expedia, and paid the pet fee through them. When we arrived their the staff gave us evil looks and curt attitudes without even asking us who we made the reservations with. They were extremely rude to my whole family even though we made sure they had all I the payments. Never staying here again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hshall, Manager at Blue Cypress Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are sorry you felt that way. We want to make sure that the guests bringing pets with them are placed in the right room, and therefore we expect that the staff is notified about the pet upon arrival.Expedia does not collect the Pet Fee, it's due upon check in. Sorry for all the confusion. By no means staff was trying to be rude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Cypress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Cypress Hotel

Address: 117 South Watson Road, Arlington, TX 76010
Location: United States > Texas > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Cypress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new sense of chic at Blue Cypress Hotel - an eclectic and thoroughly unique Arlington boutique hotel. Comfortable discreet yet light and playful too with a smidge of seduction. This elegant modern hotel exudes a cozy, relaxing vibe. Soak in our indoor heated pool or outside in our Mediterranean style pool (Opening Spring 2013). The perfect mood to go out and explore or stay in and enjoy a night at the Ultra sleek Zuri Restaurant & Lounge . Intimate and uniquely elegant, our Executive Boutique provides a place for you to get away or for a Corporate convention in Beautiful Texas. Newly Remodeled in 2009! Under new ownership. The Blue Cypress Hotel located at the intersection of Hwy 360 & Abrams, the Blue Cypress Hotel is near Six Flags, Hurricane Harbor, Rangers and Cowboys stadium. Amenities include an in-room refrigerator & microwave, wet bars, free high-speed wireless internet access, indoor and outdoor pools, Fitness center, and game room. We offer large Family Suites and Jacuzzi suites, Banquet facilities to hold up to 500 We would love to have you stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Cypress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Cypress Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.