We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bakery Cafe

Bakery Cafe
434 S Commercial St, Aransas Pass, TX 78336-1808
361-758-3511
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Aransas Pass
Price range: $0 - $8
Restaurant details
Tilden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

If you love home style cooking, this is the place to come. It is a short drive from Port Aransas and well worth the trip as there are very few restaurants in Port Aransas that serve breakfast. Do not come to Bakery Cafe if you are in a hurry, inpatient, and want immediate service. The place was packed and it was 10 AM on a Sunday morning. You will have lots of time to visit with your companion(s) and people watch. The cafe has been in business since 1929 and still has the look and feel of an "old timey" restaurant. The servers were polite but very busy. I think that they have only one cook. It took about 45 minutes to receive our food but it was delicious. The biscuits were big and fluffy, the eggs cooked to perfection, hash browns were good, sausage gravy was yummy, and the pancakes tasted like they were from scratch. By the time we left, the lunch crowd was arriving and it looked like this place stays very busy. In these "fast food" times, this was a very nice, nostalgic experience. I'll go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the best Breakfasts I've ever had out.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place is a gem! Unfortunately, we went to this place on our last day in Port A, or I would have been there to try more than just breakfast! Just yummy! Don't let the name fool you, it really isn't a bakery in the truest sense of the word. We went with a full table full of people for breakfast, and it was easily one of the best breakfasts' I've had in recent memory. Fresh baked biscuits, delicious iced tea, great eggs and bacon, and crunchy, tasty hash browns! Service was wonderful and charming, everything was clean, including the bathrooms. Great home cooking flavor! Don't miss this place while in Port A!! Also, wonderful value! We fed 6 people breakfast for under $50.00! You can't do that where I'm from!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Don't miss this bakery/cafe if you are in AP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The food is amazing and definitely "home" cooked. The staff was genuinely darling as well. They have daily soups, excellent sandwiches, and all of the homey foods as well. The desserts....ah, the desserts. You will have to check those out for yourself!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great country cooking for a reasonable price! We had trouble finding a parking space, but found additional head-in parking on the street around the corner. Their chicken fried steak and chicken fried steak are the real deal. Breakfast omelets were huge.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkadelphia, Arkansas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice to have coffee served at your table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Homestyle Breakfast and waitstaff that kept the coffee filled. Great breakfast choices and huge omlettes. Enjoy eating breakfast here & the locals seem to love it too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakery Cafe also viewed

Aransas Pass, Texas Gulf Coast
Aransas Pass, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Aransas Pass, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.