We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not even let my dog stay there!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Aransas Pass

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Aransas Pass to your Saves list
Travelodge Aransas Pass
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   545 N. Commercial, Aransas Pass, TX 78336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Aransas Pass
Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would not even let my dog stay there!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

We were very disappointed by the Travelodge in Aransas Pass. We drove about 18 hours and when we got to the hotel the outside from far down the road didn't look bad, but when you get closer it is a complete [--]. I wouldn't even let my dog stay there. In the pictures it looks alright, but even when you walk in the office to check in it's a dump! The lady checking us in was kind of a spook and no shoes with dirty feet. When we went to the room that she gave us the first thing I wanted to do when I opened the door was cry because we had booked ahead with Expedia a month in advance. The room smelled horrible like old smoke and must from all the mold, and spray where they obviously tried to cover it up. The fridge reaked and was covered by mold under the bottom, the walls and the bathroom and also the baseboards all had mold all over it. The carpet looked like someone took a crap all over it and then walked in grease and walked all over the carpet. There were bugs hanging out on the walls including a roach. The bathroom looked like it had never been cleaned especially the tub! I wouldn't dare get in without shoes because there was definately the potential for some funk in there. I was absolutely grossed out!! We contacted Expedia right away and they were very helpful. They contacted the hotel while I was on hold, and spoke with the manager. Then she decided to charge us $25.00 penalty for canceling. Expedia promptly refunded us our money and are sending us a voucher for the $25.00 penalty. Thank god we didn't have to stay in that craphole! Not to mention that after the supervisor from Expedia talked to the manager and while my husband was still on the phone with them the spooky office lady kept trying to get into our room. When she came in she said,"Oh you're still here bring the keys by the office when your done here." I felt a sense of relief after returning the keys and driving off knowing I didn't have to spend the night there and I got my money back.

  • Liked — Nothing it was gross!!!!!
  • Disliked — Everything!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    2
    15
See reviews for
7
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

I booked this hotel and then noticed the reviews. I was so scared and thought about cancelling, but decided to go ahead since it was just one night. I also realized the reviews are old. Well this place was great for the price. It was Memorial Day Weekend, and we stayed for a great price. The beds were comfortable and it served its purpose. I didn't see any bugs or roaches and the staff was friendly. The pool did have strong chlorine smell and towels were ragged. However, I took my own and had a great stay!

  • Liked — price and close to the beach
  • Disliked — raggedy towels
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

We should have read the tripadvisor reviews, but didn't. We booked there because it was a trusted national chain, but this place is a dump. The only reason we stayed was because it was 2:30 a.m. when we arrived. There were cockroaches in the room, there were no washcloths, the carpet was filthy, the bathtub drain was clogged. The coffeepot was so dirty that we didn't even make coffee. The whole room was rundown and the repairs that had been made were made very badly. We will NEVER stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the room was terrible
Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeen texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

This hotel was hard to find. The pool was green and swampy looking. There were five of us booked in this hotel and they would only give us two towels. When we asked for more they were upset. there were cockroaches in the room. The masquitos were very bad inside the room. You could only take a shower no way to plug the bath and we had our three young boys with us.. most of the lamps did not work. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.. There were also a lot of stray cats all over the place.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

There were cockroaches in the hallways, and mesquitos in the rooms and biting us during our stay. The room never got cooled down, the doors didn't shut all the way without closure with our body weight. The lamps didn't work but one. The fridge smelled gross and never got cool, and was not clean. It was a very horrible stay and I would not recommend to anyone!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2007

This motel is a dank, depressing, run-down dive. The smell of mold in the room was overpowering; this was most likely due to the dripping air conditioner soaking the carpet. We booked two nights, but left after one. It was intolerable. It ruined our trip. I'd camp in my car before I'd stay here again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid at all costs
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

I reserved a handicapped room. None available when we got there. I had to walk upstairs, took 5 minutes each way. I booked no smoking room. The smoking symbol, on the door was taped over. It stunk. The door had a 1/2 gap all around and the room was damp. It had a queen bed and there was no room to walk. The walkway in front of the room was littered with cigarette butts. A flea ridden cat followed us and tried to get into the room. The bath towel was the size of a good hand towel.

The motel advertised continental breakfast. They had 6 danishes, about the size of a small donut, the coffee was not made. I asked the clerk about it and she turned away and did not answer me. I then checked out and said goodby, she looked at me with pure hate. I don't remember saying anything or doing anything.

It was very inexpensive, but that should have been the tip off. You get what you pay for. I paid little and got less.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away from this place. It has serious problems.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Aransas Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Aransas Pass

Address: 545 N. Commercial, Aransas Pass, TX 78336
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Aransas Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Aransas Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Aransas Pass 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Aransas Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Aransas Pass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.